Book Notification

G.J. Bellamy Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Brent Umber Books

Death among the Vines / Death Between The Vines (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death in a Restaurant (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death of a Detective (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death at Hill Hall (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death on the Slopes (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death of a Narcissist (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Sophie Burgoyne Mysteries Books

G.J. Bellamy
G. J. Bellamy enjoys creating atmospheric mysteries with intriguing plots and rich, strong characters.

GJ was raised and educated in Britain, and likes cats, dogs, pretty scenery, gardens, and good food, sometimes, a little too much of the latter.

“Death Among the Vines” is the first novel in the “Brent Umber” series and was released in 2021. Brent is a likable character with this passion to solve murders. His passion is born from a past that he wants to just forget and one incident that changed his entire life forever. As a private investigator, he finds that his career is going nowhere. After he finishes up a job for a client, the cops unexpectedly invite Brent to help out on this stalled murder case. Which he jumps at this chance.

Sheila Babbington, a vineyard owner, was liked and well respected. After she died, it left a hole in the lives of those that loved her and caused some puzzling questions to arise. Why was she killed? Who had the motive? Did anybody hate her and, if so, what was the reason? Why murder Sheila in broad daylight as people were touring her vineyard? The cops have no answers.

Brent, with very few clues available, has to use his talents of listening and talking to narrow down the field of suspects. Can his kindness, charm, and quick-wittedness reveal and locate a murderer?

“Death in a Restaurant” is the second novel in the “Brent Umber” series and was released in 2021. Brent Umber, a private investigator, was out on a dinner date and was present when all of it happened, thus starts his second case. However murder among the wealthy is not the only problem he faces, as his own life is getting complicated.

This second tale in the series finds Brent continuing to settle into his new suburban home, sort out his romantic life, and toss himself fully into his recent case. It can be read as a stand alone story or as part of the series which develops and matures with interesting and new characters entering Brent’s universe.

“Secret Agency” is the first novel in the “Sophie Burgoyne Mystery” series and was released in 2022. Before the 1920s roared, they growled menacingly.

Britain is currently in shambles, while recovering from the cataclysm of the Great War. Money is tight, unemployment is high, and society is changing forever. Even though the war’s over, it takes effort to preserve the peace against the hidden enemies that strive to undermine or even replace the government. There’s this desperate need for recruits to wage this invisible war.

Sophie Burgoyne is able to trace her lineage all the way back to the ancient French dukes and kings from twelve centuries ago. Her long pedigree does not help her too much when she just has a few pounds in the bank. Sophie realizes that she must take action, or she and her dad, the vicar of sleepy Havering-under-Lyme, is going to face the horrors of genteel impoverishment.

With an entree into the upper echelons of British society through her wealthy relations and a thorough knowledge of the world of domestic servants. Sophie is able to craft a plan for the future. She heads up to London in order to start a business, a rare event and a tough task for a young woman in 1920. Soon, her adventures start. She has to face numerous unexpected dangers and challenges while she steps foot into a world of mystery, murder, and subterfuge which reaches from London to country estates and beyond.

If there was ever a murder at Downton Abbey, they’d send for Burgoyne’s, and that is a fact. The rates for domestic servants are pretty competitive, and their service is second to none. So, solving a servant problem or investigate some sudden death, there’s no better choice than Burgoyne’s (Secret) Agency.

“Lady Holme” is the second novel in the “Sophie Burgoyne Mystery” series and was released in 2022. A fantastic story of high treason, homicide, and horses, which starts and ends with a bang. Lady Holme (an idyllic setting, a person, and place) is the home of Lady and Lord Hazlett. It’s also this nightmare haunt of dangerous secrets, both modern and ancient.

This is the autumn of 1920 in beautiful southern Hampshire, and the year’s fading. While leaves start falling over the landscape, one member of the Hazlett party is mercilessly also made to fall, and they drop like a leaf before its time. There is no doubt whatsoever that it’s murder; it couldn’t be anything else. But why? And where is such a tragedy going to lead?

As Sophie and her resilient Secret Agents serve the family, they keep their ears and eyes open and learn far more than they had ever expected. Much more.

“Dredemere Castle” is the third novel in the “Sophie Burgoyne Mystery” series and was released in 2023. Another baffling case that is shrouded in intrigue and mystery. This time around, Brent finds the suspects are unknown, the clues are few, and difficulties that he faces are like scaling a sheer rock face without any equipment.

They’re saying that a detective killed his brother officer, a man that he trained to work in the homicide department. If this is true, then it is an awful and callous crime as well as being devastating to friends, family, and the whole police department.

Brent Umber knows the accused well and is the only person that fights on his side. It is an uphill battle without any help. He quickly finds there’s a sinister force is at work here. Now, nobody is safe and Brent has to use his talents like never before in this race against the clock.

Brent, despite the tremendous pressure to succeed, conducts himself with his typical optimism and kind charm. As usual, he meets some incredibly interesting people along the way.

Believable and interesting characters. A new style of detection. An intriguing plot with a satisfying conclusion. It’s a series that manages to be realistic without any profanity or gore.

Book Series In Order » Authors » G.J. Bellamy

Leave a Reply