Gabriel Allon Books In Order

Publication Order of Gabriel Allon Books

The Kill Artist (2000) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The English Assassin (2002) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Confessor (2003) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Death in Vienna (2004) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Prince of Fire (2005) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Messenger (2006) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Secret Servant (2007) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Moscow Rules (2008) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Defector (2009) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Rembrandt Affair (2010) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Portrait of a Spy (2011) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Fallen Angel (2012) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The English Girl (2013) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Heist (2014) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The English Spy (2015) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Black Widow (2016) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
House of Spies (2017) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Other Woman (2018) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The New Girl (2019) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Order (2020) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Chronological Order of Gabriel Allon Books

The chronological order of Gabriel Allon books are the same as the publication order of Gabriel Allon books.

Gabriel Allon Biography:

Daniel Silva created the character, Gabriel Allon, who plays a leading role in his thriller and spy novels, focussing on Intelligence of Israel. The Kill Artists released in the year 2000 is the first book to feature Allon. The character was continued in the second of the series, The English Assassin, released in the year 2002 and then became a regular. The career of Gabriel Allon in Daniel Silva’s novel began in the year 1972. During this year, Ari Shamron plucked Allon and several others including Eli Lavon were pulled out from their civilian routine lives and asked to partake in the Operation titled Wrath of God. This operation was being carried out to avenge the killing of Israeli athletes in the Munich. It involved hunting down and getting rid of all those who were responsible for the deaths of athletes. This operation is mentioned in the books of Daniel Silva throughout the life of the character, Allon.

As per author Daniel Silva, Gabriel is the Sabra (a Jewish person who is born in Palestine). Raised as Jewish, his first language is German. Brought up in a secular home situated in Jezreel Valley, Allon was not at all acquainted with the Shabbat candles. He came to know about them when he became an adult. Throughout his series of novels based on Allon, the author has established that an Allon’s mother had survived the grim Holocaust. Allon’s mother never discussed her past with him. His mother’s reluctance to reveal her past with him attributes partly to Gabriel Allon being a remarkable spy and a governor of secrets. The books do not throw much light onto the character’s father. The readers just know that Allon’s father was born and brought up in Munich, survived the holocaust, just like Allon’s mother and that he died in a Six day war. According to Ari Shamron, the mentor (character) of Allon, his (Allon’s) name has a reason behind it. It was his mother who named him Gabriel. She believed that while Michael remains the highest angel, Gabriel is the mightiest. According to her, he defends Israel from the accusers and that he is the angel of the judgement.

Daniel Silva has described the character Gabriel Allon in detail. Several books within the series mention about Allon and his hold on different languages. The books confirm that he speaks English, German, Hebrew, Italian as well as French fluently. He can even speak Good Arabic along with Spanish. His grandfather happens to be the most popular German Expressionism painter based in Berlin, who passed on this talent of his two daughters and then to his grandson, Allon, before being killed in 1943 at Auschwitz. In the series, Allon served on Israel Defence Forces’ Special Force. He was even a student of Art in Jerusalem. It was during this time that Ari Shamron chose him for vengeance. Being the main assassin in this team, he was unable to paint due to the operation that lasted for three years. He decides to return to studies and thus starts restoring art in Italy. This role of his continues to become a major part of his life.

The series mention that in January in the year 1991, he was on an assignment in the city of Vienna. His vehicle was bombed, which resulted in serious consequences. While his son dies, his wife, Leah, is inflicted with serious injuries. His wife survives and starts living in the psychiatric hospital at Mount Herzl, which is very close to the place, Mount of Olives, where her son with Gabriel Allon is buried. Allon desired to propose Chiara for a wedding. But, his first preferred making peace with the ghost of his son, which frequents them often. Daniel Silva never explicitly mentioned the time and year of the setting of his books. However, at times they are references to the events of the real world like the change of the American presidency and other similar events, which gave a hint of the year. The team of Allon is known by a code, Barak, which serves as the name that stands for lightning in Hebrew. Most characters of his team are frequently in different books of the series.

Various members of the team of Gabriel Allon are present in the series. Of them, Ari Shamron is a Jew born in Poland, who survived the Holocaust. He plays the role of the mentor to Allon and is the same person who recruits him for the operation titled Wrath of God. Chiara Allon is one of the other members and later becomes his wife. He met her in the third book of the series. Uzi Navor, Eli Lavon, Shimon Pazner, Dina Sarid, Rimona Stern, Mikhail Abramov, Yaakov Rossman, Oded and Mordecai are the others who play the role of members of Allon’s team. The team members, trained in combat, help Allon during extremely physical and fatal aspects of the operation like hand to hand tussle, interrogations, kidnappings, executions, etc. The recurring characters in the series by Daniel Silva are Sarah Bancroft, the CIA officer, Graham Seymour, the deputy general of MI5, Adrian Carter, the CIA director (operations) and Julian Isherwood, Isherwood Fine Arts’ owner.

Daniel Silva released several books in the series featuring Gabriel Allon. The first one was The Kill Artist, which was released in the year 2000. Subsequently in the year 2002, The English Assassin was released. The Confessor was released in the year 2003. Others were released in the years 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and the last one, The English Girl, in the year 2013. Gabriel remains one of the very memorable spy characters. An agent for the Government of Israel, he works under cover. He is mentioned to be a ruthless person who is cold in appearance during work. He is shown to be doing work that is necessary. His wife and son meant the world to him. His son’s death and wife’s injury brought his world to an end. He passed through the grief struck period, towards the end of which he decided and did leave the secretive world. In order to make a living, he resorted to his previous love, art and design. Towards the end of the series, Allon is in his 50s, one of the best agents, committed to righteousness, and loyal to friends.


Book Series In Order » Characters » Gabriel Allon