Book Notification

Gae Polisner Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Pull of Gravity (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Summer of Letting Go (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Memory of Things (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
In Sight of Stars (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jack Kerouac is Dead to Me (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Seven Clues to Home (With: Nora Raleigh Baskin) (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Consider the Octopus (With: Nora Raleigh Baskin) (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Gae Polisner is a young adult author from Long Island New York. She works as an attorney during the day but has asserted that she has always been a writer by calling. As a child, she loved words and stories, and most of the time she could be found with her nose in a novel or writing some poem or verse. Her passion ran deep and was evident from when she was eight years old and got her teachers fawning over her work. When Polisner was a child and living in Vietnam, she showcased her activist bent through several verses she penned. As she got older, she started writing more angsty love poems and free verse with a lot of watercolors that she would later relive in “The Memory of Things.” While she was passionate about writing, she never once thought of becoming a professional author. She published her first novel “The Pull of Gravity” in 2011. Polisner currently lives in Long Island with her husband, two children, and Charlie her dog. When she is not writing or being an attorney, she is having fun on the open waters of Long Island, or in the pool.

In college, Gae Polisner’s interest in writing continued to grow and while she wrote verse, she also started attending Gotham Writers Workshops in New York City. During this time, she expanded from writing verse to short fiction though she never thought of writing professionally. In 1988, she went to law school, and in the years in college, writing took a backseat. After she graduated, she started practicing as a family mediator/attorney, which she still does to this day. Things moved pretty fast once she graduated as she got married and had her first child within a few years. Gae was soon missing her creative side and to reconnect with her passion, she made writing a discipline and priority. After working as a lawyer during the day, she settled into her home office and wrote until the early hours of the morning. Five years later, she had completed a fiction manuscript and began looking for agents to query. Back in the day, all she had was snail mail, and hence querying involved sending mail to two or three agents and waiting for several months before they got back to you. She got her fair share of rejections though most of the agents complimented her writing thought they did not want to sign her up.

Two years after Gae Polisner started querying, she got her first agent which she says was something of an out of body experience. But she never sold the manuscript despite promises of six-figure deals from the agent. But she was determined to make something of her writing and did not let this deter her. She kept writing and piling up the rejection letters even as she continued lawyering part-time and taking care of her children. By this time, her children were 10 and 8 and they would spend a lot of time reading together. While reading one of her evening stories for her kids, she thought that maybe she could write something for them. It is this idea that resulted in “The Pull of Gravity” her first young adult novel that she sold to an editor on the first try. “The Pull of Gravity” that she published in 2011 proved her biggest breakthrough as it was a critically acclaimed novel that gave her the confidence to keep writing. By 2020, she had six novels to her name with multiple printing and awards garnered over the years. Apart from young adult fiction, she has also published “Seven Clues to Home” that she cowrote with Nora Raleigh Baskin. With all her success, she still loves sharing the experience and context of rejection. Polisner believes young adults and students must learn that experiencing challenges should not discourage one from going for their goals.

Gae Polisner’s debut novel “The Pull of Gravity” is the story of a man named Nick Gardner. His life is a mess as his father walks away from the family to go find his destiny that he believes does not include the rest of his family. In the meantime, Nick’s best friend “The Scoot” is suffering from a chronic disease that may just take his life. Scooter has a bizarre last wish as he asks his friend to find his long-lost father. He also wants him to retrieve a first edition signed copy of “Of Mice and Men” that had been gifted to him by his father before his disappearance. Before Gardner knows what is happening, Jaycee who is a mutual friend to Scooter tags him along as they set off on a quest to find Scooter’s father. They are also looking to find themselves and grow up in the process. It is a great story of discovery, friendship, death, pain, and loss that will keep its audiences enthralled from the start right to the end.

“The Summer of Letting Go” by Gae Polisner is a story of love and hope when everything seems to be going wrong. The novel begins in the summer and everyone is heading to the beach except for Francesca Schnell. Four years ago, Simon her little brother had drowned and she had always carried a sense of guilt with her since the child had been left in her care. She is just about to turn sixteen but the guilt has refused to go away. In the meantime, Lisette her best friend has begun a romantic relationship with the boy Francesca has a crush on but cannot have. Hoping to find something interesting to do, she trails her father that she suspects of having an affair. She follows him to the local country club and it is there that she meets Frankie Sky a four-year-old child with a striking resemblance to her dead brother. It is not long before Francesca starts to wonder if the boy could be a reincarnated Simon. By spending time with the boy and coming to know him, she is slowly beginning to forgive herself and dares to go where before she could not. She even falls in love though she still has not resolved the riddle of why Frankie has such an uncanny resemblance to Simon.

Gae Polisner’s “The Memory of Things” is set in the aftermath of the September 11 attacks. On September 11, 2001, Kyle Donohue was a sixteen-year-old girl that had witnesses the first Twin Tower collapse. She had been at the Stuyvesant High School and from the window, she saw the horror of the huge tower coming down, knowing there were hundreds if not thousands of people inside it. Terrified of the events unfolding in front of her eyes, she gets out of the building and heads home where she believes she can find safety. On the way home across the Brooklyn Bridge, he finds a girl covered in ash, lurking in the shadows and wearing costume wings. Unable to communicate with her father, her mother, and younger sibling in California, A city detective heading towards disaster she decides that she has to take the child home. What follows is the story of the two told in their different perspectives as Donohue tries to resolve the mystery of the girl so that she can be reunited with her family. But what if she has amnesia and has forgotten everything? But even more worrisome is the fact that Kyle is getting to like spending time with her and does not look forward to letting her go back home.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Gae Polisner

Leave a Reply