Book Notification

Gail Connor and Anthony Quintana Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Gail Connor and Anthony Quintana Books

Suspicion of Innocence (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Suspicion of Guilt (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Suspicion of Deceit (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Suspicion of Betrayal (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Suspicion of Malice (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Suspicion of Vengeance (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Suspicion of Madness (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Suspicion of Rage (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon

The “Gail Connor and Anthony Quintana” series (also called the “Suspicion” series) by Barbara Parker. Two of the books from the series (“Suspicion of Deceit” and “Suspicion of Betrayal”) made it on the New York Times Best Seller list. The series began in the year 1994, with the release of “Suspicion of Innocence”. This novel was a finalist for an Edgar Award for best first mystery by an American.

The novel’s genesis came in her thesis that she wrote for her master’s degree, while at Florida International University. It was filmed by ABC Movie of the Week with the title of “Sisters and Other Strangers”.

The series stars Gail Connor and Anthony Quintana, who practice law in Miami. It is from the mystery and suspense genre; the series ended in the year 2005, with the release of “Suspicion of Rage”. Through the novels, you see the changing demographic environment in South Florida.

To the get the necessary material for each of her books, she spent time with rock groups, fashion models, ballet dancers, and police officers. She was also a lawyer herself, which provided her some research for her work all on its own.

“Suspicion of Innocence” is the first novel in the “Gail Connor and Anthony Quintana” series and was released in the year 1994. Gail Connor is both smart and successful, not to mention young; she is just about to make partner with a big law firm in the new Miami that is more Latin than Anglo. It has a dark side that goes right to the Everglades. Her success as an attorney is upset by failures in her home life. She has a daughter she does not really know, a past she would rather leave behind, and a marriage that is empty. Her sister, named Renee, is found with her wrists slashed.

Gail is the one left and has to figure out her complex feelings for her prettier and younger sister. She finds out some of what Renee was keeping secret. The police believe, much to Gail’s horror, that Renee was murdered, by Gail. The only hope that she has left, is the very best attorney that she knows, and her former adversary in court. Anthony Quintana is his name.

She is drawn to her handsome lawyer, which may be a possible mistake on her part. His past holds surprises too. She is caught between both the legal system’s closing jaws and her swirling emotions.

Readers were intrigued by this book and it made them want to read the rest of the novels in the series. Things sped up, especially right around the hundredth page. The book is hard to put down, for some, and just when you think that you have everything figured out, there is a twist that throws you for a loop. Fans of the novel found this to have an interesting presentation to it, and a ending that will shock those who read it.

“Suspicion of Guilt” is the second novel in the “Gail Connor and Anthony Quintana” series and was released in the year 1995. Gail Connor has just accepted what should prove to be the biggest case of her career. It will mean millions of dollars for her firm, not to mention a partnership for her, should she win it.

It starts as someone suspected of forging a wealthy woman’s will and turns into someone having masked a murder. Not to mention, what looked like some greedy family battling over a big inheritance turns out to be a complicated and largely bold scheme that includes all of the layers and parts of Miami’s diverse and multicultural landscape.

Some like the way that this author was able to improve as a writer since the first book in the series. This novel has an excellent mystery in it that pushes things and keeps you hooked on it. There is an expansion on the main characters while the mystery unfolds, something that is an important thing for a mystery novel to have. Fans of the novel were pulled in from the very first line of the book, and it never let them go for very long.

“Suspicion of Deceit” is the third novel in the “Gail Connor and Anthony Quintana” series and was released in the year 1998. Gail and Anthony have just become engaged. Some disturbing things from his past are exposed, making things, spin out of control for Gail.

When he was young, he went to Central America with another lover and came up with many lies to hide the violent tragedy and a big secret that someone would kill over. The secret is in the middle of Cuban’s expatriate community. Not just once, but many times.

Her investigation into things leads her to have more questions for him, and she realizes that she will either ruin or save the very man that she loves.

Through the books, it is interesting to see things develop with these characters as their relationship grows and evolves and secrets are shared with one another. Some love the couple and enjoy reading about their adventures. Some find that this is the best installment of the series, but the other ones are high up there for them. Fans of the novel are entertained by the series, even the second time they have read the book.

“Suspicion of Betrayal” is the fourth novel in the “Gail Connor and Anthony Quintana” series and was released in the year 2000. Gail and Anthony have just bought their dream home in Coral Gables, and Gail has the job of dreams, which is her own private law practice.

Karen, Gail’s eleven year old daughter, gets some hangup calls, photos in the mail, and some creepy messages from someone. Is it Gail’s ex Dave? Or a disgruntled client she represented at one time? Could it come from Anthony’s past?

Anthony and Dave struggle to agree on how to protect Karen through it all, the stalker moves in. Karen gets taken, and it wrecks Gail’s world. All that she had been building in her life is meaningless now that her daughter is gone. Her practice, wedding, success, and home; all of it, means nothing for her now. They look for who took Karen, they have to walk a fine line that divides caution and action; they must give justice and not fail and show no mercy.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Gail Connor and Anthony Quintana

Leave a Reply