Book Notification

Gail Oust Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Bunco Babes Mysteries/Kate McCall Books

Whack 'N' Roll / Murder is Dicey (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
'Til Dice Do Us Part /Roll Over and Play Dead (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shake, Murder, and Roll / Death Rolls the Dice (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Twelve Dice of Christmas (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Spice Shop Mysteries Books

Rosemary and Crime (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Kill 'Em with Cayenne (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cinnamon Toasted (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Curried Away (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ginger Snapped (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Sweet Possession (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon
Forbidden Fires (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fortune's Captive (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
Midnight Rain (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Inside Paradise (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bayou Magic (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wild And Sweet (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rebel's Treasure (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Just Before Daybreak (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon

A writer of cozy mysteries with a gift for both suspense and intrigue, the American author Gail Oust is a true master of her craft who originally went under the pseudonym of Elizabeth Turner. Building characters and plots that are intertwined so neatly, she manages to create narratives that are able to evoke and build upon their somewhat deceptive premises. Writing from her home in South Carolina, she continues to build her audiences along with her work, something which she does to this very day.

Early and Personal Life

Starting out in nursing, Gail Oust was originally a worker in the medical profession, as she cared for patients, as well as being a mother. Later, when her kids were very small, she became a stay-at-home mother who took care of her children and this was when her imagination begun to flourish. Whilst doing the household chores and looking after her kids, she would let her mind wander as she thought of fantastical and exciting stories.

With a lifelong passion for reading and literature, writing for herself seemed like a natural progression for her. Starting to write her own stories, she quickly discovered a love for the written word, as it all came out on the page and her fans fast reacted to this. Caring for her family and writing simultaneously she fast became a favorite for her many readers who clamored for more.

Not having had an education for literature and creative writing in the traditional sense, she soon found that her self-taught approach was highly beneficial. With a sense of what’s grounded and what worked for her, she managed to carve herself a niche within the industry. Her previous experience also helped to establish a lot of her style, positively influencing both her approach and content.

With a focus on the mystery novel, Oust’s love of Nancy Drew novels was drawn upon as a major source of inspiration too. Fast gaining recognition for her work and contributions to the genre, she quickly became respected by her many peers and contemporaries. As she carries on writing from her home in South Carolina, this is something that’s set to continue on into the foreseeable future.

Writing Career

Writing and getting her first book published in 2009, she introduced herself to the world with Whack ‘N’ Roll, which was the first in the Bunco Babes series. This helped establish her presence, as well as starting off this original franchise that would allow readers to discover her for the first time. That was when she started to write getting a taste for it fast, as a number of books subsequently followed on from this.

Her three most popular series, Bunco Babes followed by Spice Shop Mysteries and Kate McCall Mysteries, proved to be highly successful. Largely set around the mystery novel premise, they’ve each come into their own as the series have progressed throughout each one. Featuring regular characters and protagonists, Oust has managed to draw her readers in giving them a sense of familiarity, as they develop a fondness for them.

Gaining critical acclaim as well as commercial success, Oust has managed to carve herself a highly lucrative and successful niche within the industry, as she gains more and more readers both far and wide. Planning to expand upon her series as well, she has been able to gain both national and international readers on a global scale, as word of mouth begins to spread. With more books in the pipeline too it appears she isn’t stopping anytime soon, as her writing career and legacy grows from strength-to-strength as plenty more is planned on the horizon.

Whack ‘N’ Roll

The first novel from Gail Oust and the first novel to introduce the Bunco Babes series to the world, as it was initially published in 2009 on the 4th of August. Setting up the overall premise of the franchise, along with establishing the lead characters as well, it introduces Kate McCall for the first time too, who would soon become a firm fan favorite. Creating the tone and atmosphere for the series too, it provides the group with their first mystery to solve, thus leading the reader straight into the action letting them know what it’s all going to be about and driving it forwards.

A group of women known as the ‘Bunco Babes’ like nothing better to do than playing golf, bunco and keeping themselves active in their sixty-ish set. Residing within the Serenity Coves Estates in South Carolina life is good for them, giving them the peace and tranquility they’re looking for, or so they think. Their quiet is soon disturbed after a dismembered arm is discovered upon the golf course and it’s up to them to uncover what’s really been going on around the estates. Will they be able to find the killer before it’s too late? Can things ever return back to the way things were? What will become of them as they discover what it takes to whack ‘n’ roll?

Roll Over and Play Dead

This charts the second adventure and mystery for the now eponymous Kate McCall as the lead protagonist from this new franchise going under her name. Originally published on the 22nd of September, 2015, this was a very recent book to hit the literary scene, but, if her previous entries into this popular line of books are anything to go by, it should be a success. Seeing the character of Kate McCall come up once again it shows how she is able to solve the mystery and save the day using both her wits and her intelligence, giving the audience more of what they have now come to appreciate about her.

Back in Serenity Cove once again, this book that was originally titled ‘Till Dice Do Us Part’, sees Claudia Connors returning home from Vegas with the actor Lance Ledeaux in tow. It soon transpires that he might be after only one thing; her money, and that is when the foul play takes place as his life is taken from him after a play using a gun has real bullets instead of blanks. Claudia is then the chief suspect as he apparently intended to take her nest egg, but there’s more to this case than meets the eye and the ‘Bunco Babes’ intend to find out. Will they catch the real killer? Can Claudia manage to clear her name? What will become of him as he goes to roll over and play dead?

Book Series In Order » Authors » Gail Oust

One Response to “Gail Oust”

  1. Janenne Wellman: 2 years ago

    Dear Gail, I just had to let you know I really enjoyed your Spice Shop mystery series! I loved the unique characters you created, as well as the murder mysteries. Please say you are thinking of adding more volumes to this series! I’d love to see Piper and Wyatt’s romance flourish!


Leave a Reply