Book Notification

Gallagher Girls Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Gallagher Girls Books

I'd Tell You I Love You, But Then I'd Have to Kill You (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Don't Judge a Girl by Her Cover (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Only the Good Spy Young (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Out of Sight, Out of Time (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
United We Spy (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Spies That Bind (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Chronological Order of Gallagher Girls Books

The Spies That Bind(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
I'd Tell You I Love You, But Then I'd Have to Kill You(2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy(2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Don't Judge a Girl by Her Cover(2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Only the Good Spy Young(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Out of Sight, Out of Time(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
United We Spy(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Gallagher Girls is a series of Young adult Fiction novels written by Ally Carter and revolving around the Exceptional Young Women of Gallagher Academy.

+The Story

The Gallagher Girls series of novels follows Cammie Morgan. Morgan is a student at a prestigious all-girls school for gifted students. On the surface, Gallagher academy is just like any other institute, promising to turn talented students into exceptional individuals.

Beneath the surface, though, Gallagher Academy is actually a training institution for future spies. The academy locates and enrolls the brightest girls, teaching them to pick pockets, use weapons and utilize the various forms of espionage.

Cammie was born into the Spy business. Her late father was a spy, and her retired CIA operative of a mother is presently the headmistress of Gallagher Academy.

An only child, Cammie’s life revolves around her best friends and schoolmates, the likes of Liz, Bex and Anna making her extraordinary life all the more interesting.

Gallagher Girls is a very fast paced series of novels. You are not meant to take it seriously, though. The idea of Cammie and her fellow Gallagher girls solving international crimes that have baffled their adult, more experienced counterparts is ridiculous.

The fact that these kids can so effectively outsmart dangerous villains is a little difficult to swallow. And the Gallagher Girls series doesn’t really mature with its characters (as most young adult novels typically do).

None the less the series has its following, appealing to a very specific demographic. While there is violence, it is mild at worst, though Cammie does witness a few deaths during her adventures.

The romantic elements are also minimal. Most people will also agree that the characters are very one dimensional and a lot of Cammie’s classmates are very stereotypical individuals.

However, if you can get over the idea of a highly secretive academy training 12-year-olds to become spies, then nothing in this book will really turn you off.

The Gallagher Academy plays a central role in the Gallagher Girls series of novels, founded by Gillian Gallagher, a woman who, after being denied the appreciation she deserved despite preventing the first attempted assassination of Abraham Lincoln, transformed her family’s mansion into a school within which she could teach young girls spy craft.

+The Author

Ally Carter was born Sarah Leigh Fogleman in 1974. Specializing in adult fiction, Fogleman created the Ally Carter Pseudonym in order to separate her adult fiction work from the young adult novels she intended to write.

A graduate of Oklahoma State University and Cornell University, Carter began her writing career in the adult fiction genre with novels like ‘Cheating at Solitaire’. Eventually, she tried her hand at the young adult genre, creating the Gallagher Girls series and following it up with Heist Society.

While Gallagher Girls follows the life of a young spy, Heist Society delves into thievery, revolving around a girl named Kat. Carter’s novella, Double Crossed, brought together characters from both Heist Society and Gallagher Girls.

+I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You.

Cammie Morgan attends Gallagher Academy, a seemingly ordinary all-girls school that actually trains young girls to become spies, teaching them martial arts, the latest in chemical warfare and code breaking.

This supposed school for geniuses is a factory for the espionage professionals of the future. A talented spy-in-training, Cammie might be fluent in more languages than most people can list, and she might have all the know how to kill a man, but she has no idea how to approach an ordinary boy who sees her as little more than an ordinary girl.

Can Cammie maneuver a relationship with someone that doesn’t know her secret?

With any Gallagher Girls novel, the key to enjoying your reading experience is to turn your brain off. This, the first novel in the series, is no different. You shouldn’t take it too seriously.

The book attempts to explore the life of a teenage girl training to become a spy at a prestigious all-girls boarding school. If you can get over the more ludicrous elements of the story, the novel isn’t so bad.

Unlike a lot of young adult novels, the romance in this book is actually secondary. Rather, the emphasis is placed upon world-building. Every chapter helps the reader explore Gallagher Academy, peeling a few layers away at a time.

As far as silly high school dramas go, this novel is amusing enough. There are no complex stories or troubled characters. You, more or less, get what you expect and nothing more.

Cammie, the protagonist, is a smart and witty heroine. Independent yet very clueless when it comes to boys; the fact that she is almost too perfect might annoy some people.

+Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy

Cammie Morgan is back and her life is as tumultuous as ever. Gallagher Academy is initially quite giddy over the prospect of hosting a delegation from a covert training facility for boys. However, once the boys arrive, things take a dangerous turn.

Security breaches are discovered at Gallagher Academy and Cammie comes under immediate suspicion. With the Academy’s secret status at risk, Cammie and crew must work to uncover the truth behind the security penetration.

The second novel in the Gallagher Girls series doesn’t really differ that drastically from the first. So if you didn’t like the first book, then the second one isn’t likely to appeal to your sensibilities.

The novel continues Cammie’s story, who must now rise to the challenge when she is suspected of compromising the security of her school. The novel is, unfortunately, predictable in a number of places, to the point that many of the story elements do not really come as a surprise.

However, no one reads the Gallagher series for its complexity. This book stands out because it manages to entertain despite its shortcomings with regards to originality. Cammie is as funny and witty as ever, her awkwardness perfectly complimenting her honest commentary on the world around her.

This novel endeavors to build the crew around Cammie, fleshing the characters of her friends out and giving them more of a role to play. Friendship is emphasized as a theme throughout the book.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Gallagher Girls

Leave a Reply