Book Notification

Gareth and Gwen Medieval Mystery Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Gareth and Gwen Medieval Mysteries Books

The Good Knight (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Uninvited Guest (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bard's Daughter (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fourth Horseman (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fallen Princess (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Unlikely Spy (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lost Brother (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Renegade Merchant (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Unexpected Ally (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Worthy Soldier (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Favored Son (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Viking Prince (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Irish Bride (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Prince's Man (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Faithless Fool (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Honorable Traitor (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Admirable Physician (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bard's Daughter is a prequel novella.

With her Welsh ancestry dating back generations, the American novelist Sarah Woodbury has always had a keen fascination in history. Having been educated in anthropology she is well versed in the subject matter, something which lends her novels a great degree of accuracy. Putting all of her knowledge and expertise into her work, she has created a vast and informed backlog of work, as well as highly entertaining fiction too. A series that she has come to be well regarded for is that of her long-running and highly successful ‘Gareth and Gwen Medieval Mystery’ collection of novels. These follow the adventures of the eponymous characters from the title, it sees them charting Medieval Wales and England. Starting out in 1141 it goes on throughout the years as it sees them both deal with the political climate of the time, whilst also solving various mysteries.

Running for a total of eight books so far, the series started back in 2011 with the debut ‘The Good Knight’ to much acclaim. With the last brought out in 2016 with the title ‘The Unexpected Ally’, the series has come a long way in a relatively short amount of time. Creating a compendium omnibus edition as well, there was also the boxed set of the first three titles, along with a prequel novella to the first providing the background of Gwen titled ‘The Bard’s Daughter’.

The Good Knight

Brought out through ‘The Morgan-Stanwood Publishing Group’ to much acclaim, this was originally released in 2011 on the 9th of September. Setting up the ‘Gareth and Gwen Medieval Mystery’ series of novels, it manages to introduce all the primary characters, as well as establishing the premise. Creating the style and the tone too, it also gives a clear idea of what to expect in the books to follow too.

Taking place in medieval Wales, this follows the politics of those vying for the throne there, with all the power games that entails. Amidst all of this a mystery takes place, as the situation allows for a web intrigue, lies and deceit to unfold, making the ideal environment for such a story. Nobody quite knows who is telling the truth and who is lying, as it plays with the readers expectations, constantly subverting them throughout. Setting up the characters of Gareth and Dwen as well, it works at establishing them as leading central protagonists for the series to come. With Gareth he is a knight, as mentioned in the title, and is, ultimately, framed for the murder in the plot leaving it up to Gwen to solve the case. Looking to prove his innocence and find the real killer, Gwen is a strong and resourceful detective, being put upon the case by the brother of the bride of the murdered groom. Set in medieval North Wales it really utilizes its location well, bringing to life the time-period in all its glory. Obviously having done her research, it’s something that Woodbury knows a lot about as an author and historian, as it really shows. Bringing the reader into the era, they can really get an idea of what it was actually like to live back then and how people interacted with one another.

Set in 1143 this starts out royal princes in the court of Owain, who is the king of North Wales, as there’s plenty of rivalry between them all. Looking to create an ally with another, King Owain sets about arranging a marriage between his daughter and the allied king. Unfortunately, though, the groom is then murdered en-route to the wedding, so it is up to Gareth the knight and Gwen, the daughter of a court bard, to solve the case entrusted to them by Owain. Will they get to the bottom of it? Who killed the groom? What will become of the good knight?

The Uninvited Guest

Once again released through ‘The Morgan-Stanwood Publishing Group’, this was to be the direct follow up to the previous title. Marking the second book in the ongoing ‘Gareth and Gwen Medieval Mystery’ franchise, this continues in much the same vein as before. First published on the 18th of February in 2012, this was released no more than a few months after the first, not keeping its eager legion of fans waiting for long.

With the story-line being a period piece once again, this novel is set only a few months after the first as winter falls. Whilst it may continue a lot of the over-arcing plot-lines, it still has a central stand-alone investigation all of its very own. This allows it to develop the narrative, whilst simultaneously being a stand-alone mystery in its own right, keeping readers guessing right until the very end. The characters are also all the same, many of them with their own arcs that are developed over the course of the series. This can also be said of Wales, which is almost a character in its own right, as its brought to life off of the page.

This time taking place in the winter of 1143, it appears there are issues once again in the court of Owain, the King of North Wales. Not only that, but it appears that there are wedding bells in the air for both Gareth and Gwen, something which may to have to put on hold for a while. With the Normans growing restless upon the borders, it appears that among the wedding guests of King Owain and his untrustworthy future in-laws, is none other than another killer on the loose. Will Gareth and Gwen be able to find them before it’s too late? Can they keep the tensions from brewing over and causing chaos? What became of the uninvited guest?

The Gareth and Gwen Medieval Mystery Series

A well rounded historical portrait of a particular period, this series stands the test of time due to its timeless and universal appeal. With finely crafted characters as well, the stories really draws the reader in, allowing them to feel a part of the action getting deeply immersed in it all. As more readers worldwide continue to discover it, this a series with a legacy that will carry on growing for many years to come.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Gareth and Gwen Medieval Mystery

Leave a Reply