Nick Petrie Series

Gareth L. Powell Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Ack-Ack Macaque Books

Ack-Ack Macaque (2012)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Hive Monkey (2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Macaque Attack! (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Embers Of War Books

Embers of War (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Fleet of Knives (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Light of Impossible Stars (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Stars and Bones Books

Stars and Bones (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Descendant Machine (2023)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Silversands (2010)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Recollection (2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Ragged Alice (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Light Chaser (With: Peter F. Hamilton) (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Downdraught (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

The Last Reef (2008)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Entropic Angel (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

About Writing (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Anthologies

Space Opera(2007)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Shine: An Anthology of Near-Future Optimistic Science Fiction(2010)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
2020 Visions(2010)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Interzone #251 Mar - Apr 2014(2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Solaris Rising 3(2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Year's Top Ten Tales of Science Fiction 7(2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Gareth L. Powell is a British author of fiction.

Gareth was born in 1970 in the United Kingdom. He is an award winning writer. He specializes in the genre of science fiction and has won several awards. Ack-Ack Macaque is an alternate history novel that Powell wrote that gained him quite a bit of recognition. It won the award for best novel when it comes to the BSFA Award in 2013. It also made the short list for the 2016 Seiun Awards for the best translated book category.

Powell has had his short stories and other fiction appear in other publications and not just novel form! He has been published in Solaris Rising 3, Interzone, and Year’s Best Science Fiction. One of his short stories made the 2015 BSFA Award short list. Gareth resides close to Bristol with his family, which includes his wife and their two children.

Gareth L. Powell is the creator and the author of the Ack-Ack Macaque series of fiction. This series kicked off for the first time in 2012, when the debut novel of the same name came out. Readers got the chance to check out the sequel just a year later when Hive Monkey was released. Macaque Attack is the third book in this engaging series. If you’re looking for something new to read, then check this series out!

Ack-Ack Macaque is the first book in the series by the same name written by Gareth L. Powell. The story is set in the year 1944, and things globally are not as peaceful as they could be. Kent is seeing its region being invaded by German ninjas. They’re parachuting down in waves and Britain needs to do something in order to combat this sudden onslaught.

The best hope that they have for attaining victory come with a Spitfire pilot. The code name of this pilot is none other than the unique ‘Ack-Ack Macaque’. It’s a tough code name to replicate, but more than that, how could the hopes of an entire nation rest on one pilot alone?

The reader might wonder still further when they find out that this golden Spitfire pilot is not even a human being. It’s a monkey in terms of actual fact, but he does have a lot of human traits that make him suited for the job. While this may not be the fact that he has one eye or has a love of chomping on a cigar just like his distant cousins, he is really good at what he does.

This cynical monkey may be the best chance that Britain has at overcoming these ninjas, but can the pilot get it together enough to fight them for the country? Macaque is cynical, and now he has entered into some type of existential crisis where he is beginning to doubt just about everything. At this point in the game, the monkey is not even sure if he is real at all.

Fast forward to around a hundred years later. It is now a world where Great Britain and France have made the choice to merge in the late nineteen-fifties. Now Zeppelins are around the globe, powered on a nuclear basis. Victoria Valois is a former journalist that now finds herself in the position of being drawn into a game that could end up being deadly.

Victoria has entered into a cat-and-mouse type of game with a man that has taken pretty much everything from her. He is the one that killed her husband and then stole an electronic soul from her. It’s not a great situation to be in, but what is she supposed to do?

At the same time, things are going down in Paris. An heir to a throne has gone on the run after participating in a break in of a research lab done illegally. The British heir is nowhere to be found, but there is one thing more important than that going on at the time. A doomsday clock is ticking down, making its way toward striking Armageddon.

Can the clock be stopped and the end of the world prevented? Can one monkey pilot do his best to save his country, even if he is going through a bit of a serious philosophical crisis? You’re going to have to pick up this fun first book in the series to find out for yourself!

Hive Monkey is the second novel in Powell’s Macaque series. If you really liked the first book and have decided that you want to check out the second, then pick up your very own copy of this engaging sequel and see what this popular series is all about.

The pilot monkey of the first tale ended up being the hero– a pilot involved in a computer game that actually ended up being a real monkey after all. Ack-Ack has achieved a lot of fame for his hero deeds, and sometimes being famous is not all that it is cracked up to be.

In the first story, Ack-Ack came out of a computer game to be a pilot hero and is now well known to the public for defeating the corporation that engineered his existence in the first place. The monkey is known for being charismatic, but he also should be taken seriously as he is a dangerous individual and you never know what he will do next!

Working once more as a pilot on a nuclear Zeppelin, it seems like he is getting a much needed break from all of the action. He is circling the world in one of these things, and the action is only minutes away. He gets a surprise when one of the passengers on board has their cabin invaded by a curious guest.

The intruder is the doppelganger of the passenger, and they are dying. All of a sudden, the hero finds that he is in the middle of a race to try and save the planet. What is it this time? Just a time-traveling hive mind group of saboteurs and a dangerous army of Neanderthal assassins.

Ack-Ack has his work cut out for him! Will he save the day? Read Hive Monkey to find out!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Gareth L. Powell

Leave a Reply