Book Notification

Gary Jennings Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Azteca Books

Aztec (1980)Description / Buy at Amazon
Aztec Autumn (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Aztec Blood (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Aztec Rage (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Aztec Fire (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Apocalypse 2012 (With: Robert Gleason) (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The 2012 Codex (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Aztec Revenge (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Spangle Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Journeyer (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lively Lives of Crispin Mobey (As: Gabriel Quyth) (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
Raptor (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Best from Fantasy and Science Fiction: 20th Series(1973)Description / Buy at Amazon
Great Tales of Fantasy and Science Fiction(1985)Description / Buy at Amazon

Gary Jennings was a reputed novelist from the United States, who was famous for writing children’s books and literature & fiction novels. He was also popular for writing adult novels of historical fiction and gained prominence after the immense of his 1980 book called Aztec. Later in his career, Gary wrote some more books in continuation with Aztec and developed them into a novel series of the same name. In addition to the Aztec series, author Gary has also written another series called Spangle. Gary was born in Buena Vista, Virginia on September 20, 1928. His parents, Vaughnye May and Glen Edward Jenninsgs had raised him with great love and care.

Author Gary had attended formal schooling for a very small time and passing out from the Eastside School in Paterson, New Jersey, he remained homeschooled and self-educated. The novels penned by the author were popular for their accuracy in historical details. They were also known for their occasional graphic content. Author Gary used to carry out a great deal of research work before writing any of his novels. This can be understood in a better way from the fact that he had stayed in Mexico for a period of 12 years for researching on the stories of his Aztec novels. He had even travelled across the Balkans while doing the research for Raptor. Gary had also joined a total of 9 circus troupes and had traveled along with them when he was writing Spangle.

During his writing career, author Gary had produced numerous novels for younger readers. Some examples of such novels include a history of Black Magic White Magic occult and A Rope in Jungle. The death of author Gary happened in Pompton Lakes, New Jersey on February 13, 1999. He was 70 years old and was suffering from complications of heart failure. It is believed by many prominent writers and critics that Gary lived his life a paradoxical picaresque. He was seen as a man who possessed acknowledged erudition and intellect. Many of Gary’s novels were bestsellers both nationally and internationally. They were praised and appreciated all around the globe for their lively wit, adventurous and bawdy spirit, and stylish prose.

Author Gary used to write his novels in a lengthy format. Quite often, his stories used to contain more than 500 thousand words. His books were widely acclaimed for their unique stories and set ups, and also because of the dedicated research work Gary used to do for a few years in the libraries and out in the open for each one of them. Prior to the start of his literary career, author Gary had served as a soldier-reporter in the Korean War. He was decorated with a Bronze Star Medal for his determined contribution. The president of South Korea, Syngman Rhee, had given a personal citation to author Gary for his dedicated efforts for the betterment of the war orphans. Author Gary will always be remembered as an author of great potential and storytelling abilities. He had a large fan-following and respected by his fans as well as his fellow authors. Today, Gary’s novels are read with the same enthusiasm and interest by the readers as they were when they had come out first. Many literary journals and writers’ association list author Gary among the all time greats in the field of novel writing.

The Aztec series written by author Gary Jennings is comprised of a total of 5 books, which were released between the years 1980 and 2008. Of these 5 books, Gary had written only 3 and the remaining 2 were penned additionally after Gary’s death by Junius Podrug and Gary’s former editor named Robert Gleason. In this spectacular series, author Gary has described the extraordinary tale of North America’s greatest and last native civilization, Aztec. He has revealed the civilization’s depths and Mexico’s history. Gary has extensively shown the peak and splendor of Aztec’s capital Tenochtitlan and the empire’s fall at the hands of Hernan Cortas. The debut book of the series is entitled ‘Aztec’. It was released by the Forge Books in 2006, after its first release in 1980. Its narration is told in the form of several letters written by New Spain’s Bishop to Spain’s King Carlos that contain Mixtli’s biography, who was an old Aztec man.

At the start of the book’s story, it is shown that the Bishop asks Mixtli to tell everything about him as he wants to record the lifestyles of Aztecs and provide to King Carlos. Mixtli describes himself as being born in an ordinary family. He had kerotoconus and still managed to rise quickly in the Mexican society hierarchy. He becomes a rich trader, a scribe, a famous warrior, and finally Tenochtitlan’s lord. The story then moves ahead to describe the many adventures of Mixtli and takes the readers on a journey through the Aztec Empire. This book was highly appreciated for its rich content and excellent characters. Many critics said words of praise for the author in various literary journals and recommended the book to be a must read for all the fans of fiction stories. The book sold out numerous copies in many parts of the world and became a great success for author Gary. It helped him establish himself as a noteworthy writer and motivated him to continue writing many more interesting stories in the future.

The second installment of this exciting series is called ‘Aztec Autumn’. It was published in 1997 for the first time and then re-released by Forge publication in 2007. Once again, the setting is done in Spain and Mexico in the 16th century and features the lead character in the form of Tenamaxtli, a citizen of Aztec. At the beginning of the story of the book, it is depicted that Aztec empire falls beneath the Spaniards. Every living soul of the magnificent empire bows to the despised conquerers, except for one proud man named Tenamaxtli. He nurtures the dream of restoring Aztec empire’s lost glory. In order to make the dream come true, Tenamaxtli recruits the rebels to form an army. And with the help of this army, he plans to attack Spain. The courageous quest of Tenamaxtli takes the readers through the high adventures, unlikely allies, bitter tragedy, passionate women, and Mexico’s essence in the sixteenth century. Author Gary seems to have done a fantastic job in recreating a forgotten historical chapter that brought a change in the future of North America. Gary wrote the story with an unforgettable passion and great splendor.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Gary Jennings

One Response to “Gary Jennings”

  1. Carlos Starrett: 8 months ago

    Gary is an irreplacable Master…


Leave a Reply