Book Notification

Gary McAvoy Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Magdalene Chronicles Books

The Magdalene Deception (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Magdalene Reliquary (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Magdalene Veil (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Vatican Secret Archive Books

The Vivaldi Cipher (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Opus Dictum (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Petrus Prophecy (With: Ronald L. Moore) (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Avignon Affair (With: Ronald L. Moore) (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Jerusalem Scrolls (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Galileo Gambit (With: Ronald L. Moore) (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Confessions of Pope Joan (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Celestial Guardian (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Harvest for Hope (With: Jane Goodall,Gail Hudson) (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
And Every Word Is True (With: Ronald R Nye) (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Gary McAvoy is a crime fiction and thriller author from the Pacific Northwest, even though he is originally from California.

He got his start in writing very early on as a writer for a regional Southern California newspaper and small town magazines. He would then graduate to corporate communications, which he did for clients and for his own projects. He would go on to publish non fiction works before he became a fiction author.
Over the years, MacAvoy put his expertise and brilliant mind to a range of pursuits in life even though he has always been a writer. His work working for magazines and small town papers honed the writing skills that he would later use as a fiction author.

He penned “The Magdalene Deception,” the first novel of the “Magdalene Chronicles” series in 2020.

McAvoy had always been interested in storytelling since he was very young but his interests in entrepreneurship had taken over for years. He wrote his first story as a ten year old and was determined to become an author from that time.

Gary grew up in a large Catholic family and hence he was always fascinated with the Vatican and how much influence it had all over the world. He also studied the many people who worked in its name to do God’s work.

During his early adult years, he went to a Jesuit seminary for a time but after a while he thought he would be better off as an agnatheist writer. However, he still maintained his interest in the power of faith and it was this that would result in “The Magdalene Deception.”

Gary had grown up reading the likes of Stephen King and Robert Ludlum among many other writers. He loved the feeling of being so strongly drawn into a novel that nothing else seems to exist that he wanted to replicate it.

In later years, Gary McAvoy would become interested in intelligence and cryptology while touring with the US Army in Germany. This would trigger his interests in entrepreneurship and he would then blend this with information technology and his passion for travel in the writing of his novels.

After he was done with military service, he went on to establish several successful ventures in his home state of California before the 1990s when he moved to the Pacific Northwest. Gary worked with startups during this time and would become a leader in the Washington Software Alliance.

It was at this time that he published his first non fiction work “Cracking the New E-conomy.” He was still interested in historical collectibles and literary works, which he worked on as side interests.

Things took a turn when he met Dr. Jane Goodall and the two formed a lasting and close bond. They would work on several fiction works together and also collaborated in the “Seattle Humane Society” and the” Jane Goodall Institute.”

The ultimate entrepreneur, Gary launched the “Vintage Memorabilia” in 1998 and became a reputable dealer in vintage manuscripts and letters and first edition books.

Gary McAvoy’s novel “The Magdalene Deception” opens to The Church’s fate hanging in the balance. There is a forbidden secret that two amateur sleuths threaten to expose, which could turn everything about the Chruistiantiy world on its head.

The Christian faith is held up by the fact of the resurrection of Jesus Christ. But then there is a clue that hints that may not be the case, and the ramifications could change everything about the Christiain religion.

Michael Domic is a Jesuit priest who works at the Secret Archives of the Vatican, where he just found some hidden papyrus. These are never seen before writings of Mary Magdalene that seem to have been buried in Rome for years.

The revelation of the forgotten relic will threaten the very legitimacy of the Vatican and pit Michael against powerful and ruthless enemies. He desperately reaches out to an investigative reporter named Hana Sinclair, who has been known for dealing with contentious subjects.

Working together, they defy the elite of the church as they search for the truth in the shadows of history. There is a lot of pressure to silence the pair, but will the Vatican resort to murder to protect its power and wealth.

“The Magdalene Reliquary” by Gary McAvoy opens to a priest stumbling upon a dark secret. It leads him to discover a long buried relic that is sure to be wanted by many powerful people. Will he be able to outwit his enemies who will do anything to ensure he does not reveal a secret that will challenge established history.

The secret in question is a puzzle from the 13th century that he found in the Secret Archives of the Vatican. Working with Hana Sinclair, a brilliant investigative reporter, they had managed to solve the puzzle thus uncovering hidden maps that led them to a sacred artifact.

From Switzerland to France and Rome, their search pits them against a ruthless Russian oligarch and deadly agents. Desperate, Dominic will need to choose between certain death or trusting an unlikely collection of allies.

With enemies closing in, will he be able to survive and bring to light the secret he has uncovered or will he be killed and his secret die with him.

Gary McAvoy’s novel “The Magdalene Veil” opens to two friends discovering an old World War II diary. In it are cryptic clues that result in a wild adventure across the world full of deception and danger. The treasure they are looking for could change everything for evil or good.

Hana Sinclair the investigative reporter and Father Michael Dominic are following a tantalizing lead. They have been informed that there is a Nazi journal somewhwere that could reveal the hiding place of a sacred relic. The two friends believe the journal could lead to the sacred cloth that Jesus had wiped his face with.

According to legend, his image had been left on the cloth, which is something historians had been chasing after for centuries. Their quest takes them on an adventure from Buenos Aires, to Rome to Jerusalem as they unearth an ancient mystery.

But then they clash with a nefarious sect that wants to use their discovery for evil. Will Hana and Michael be able to outsmart the ruthless sect and bring home this very important sect to the Church?

Book Series In Order » Authors » Gary McAvoy

3 Responses to “Gary McAvoy”

  1. Rebecca: 3 months ago

    I came across your books as an audible option on Audible and I simply love the Vatican series. The narrator does the voices very well, and the words used are most poignant. Thank you for the adventures!

  2. Sue Kuklewicz: 9 months ago

    I thoroughly enjoyed ALL of your Magdalena series and the Vatican Thrillers.
    I do hope you continue writing fiction for me to devour!!!

  3. Orietta Wendolowski: 1 year ago

    Cannot wait to read more of Father Michael’s and Hanna’s adventures!


Leave a Reply