Book Notification

Gayle Forman Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of If I Stay Books

Publication Order of Just One Day Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Gayle Forman Audiobooks Books

The End of My Heart (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

You Can't Get There from Here: A Year On the Fringes of a Shrinking World (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Faraway Books

The Prince and the Troll (By: Rainbow Rowell) (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hazel and Gray (By: Nic Stone) (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wickeds (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cleaners (By: Ken Liu) (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Princess Game (By: Soman Chainani) (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Who Done It?(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
My True Love Gave to Me(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dear Heartbreak(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

About Gayle Forman:

Gayle Forman is an American New York Times Bestselling author of young adult fiction as well as other works. Her works have received several awards, and she was a writer for several major selling American magazines.

Gayle was born on June 5, 1970. Her first writing job was with the popular teen magazine Seventeen. Forman wrote about issues that teens faced as well as social concerns, and how to overcome them. One of her articles that she wrote for Seventeen magazine was the inspiration for her first young adult novel Sisters in Sanity. After her five-year stint at Seventeen, she began a career as a freelance writer and wrote for other major publications such as: Cosmopolitan, Glamour, Budget Travel, Elle, Jane, The Nation, and many others. Gayle and her husband traveled the world in 2002. They ventured to places like Tanzania, Tonga, and Kazakhstan. This inspired her to write her first book, You Can’t Get There From Here: A Year On the Fringes of a Shrinking World. Since then she has released children’s books as young adult fiction. Gayle is currently living in Brooklyn, New York. She is currently married with two daughters, one of whom she adopted from Ethiopia.

Forman’s debut novel was released in 2006 after her travels around the world in 2002. It is titled You Can’t Get There From Here: A Year On the Fringes of a Shrinking World. It is a memoir of 8 travel stories from her adventures to a number of countries that are typically less popular to American tourists. Gayle describes her encounters with J.R.R Tolkien fanatics in the mountains of Kazakhstan, her experiences with a lost tribe in South Africa. Gayle tells readers about encounters with transvestites in the Kingdom of Tonga, rap stars in Tanzania, children in Cambodia, and unemployed prostitutes in Denmark. All of the stories are interconnected and describe how everyone’s lives are being altered by a shrinking world. Readers also get an insight to Gayle’s personal life, as she shares many details in the book, especially one about an argument with her husband while in Asia that leaves readers wondering if they still stay together.

Her second novel, Sisters in Sanity was released in August of 2007. It was based on an article she had previously written for Seventeen magazine. The article can be found easily by searching online. The book was her first piece of young adult fiction and is about a story of the sixteen-year old Brit Hemphill whose worst nightmares come true. Her father enrolls her at a new school that specializes in treating teens that are out of control. Her future is in control of the counselors that she despises. She meets others at the treatment center, and we see that instead of helping her, her presence at the center is only doing more harm.

In 2009, Forman released her next novel If I Stay. The book is geared towards young adults, and is about Mia, a seventeen-year-old girl who was involved in an accident. She can’t recall what caused the accident, and can’t seem to remember anything that occurred prior to it. She tries to put together the pieces and attempt to find out what she has lost. Mia is in a coma, and understands everything that is happening around her. She can hear the words of her visitors. Someone enters Mia’s life that will change it forever. For this work, Forman won the 2009 NAIBA Book of the Year award. This is the first book in a two-part series. If I Stay was published in 30 different countries. This book earned a spot on the New York Times Bestsellers List. Gayle says that her inspiration for this book was Oregon, music, and the people that she loved as well as a tragedy that she faced years ago. She believes that this novel is geared towards teenagers as well as adults, as everyone can relate to issues contained in the book.

The sequel to If I Stay, Where She Went was released in April of 2012 with widespread success. It continues the story of Mia and Adam (whom readers will get to know in the first part of the series), but is told through the point-of-view of Adam instead. In this book, Mia and Adam are reunited after both finding success in their careers are musicians. They encounter each other while in New York at the same time, and spend an evening together that they’ll never forget.

Gayle’s most recent novel Just One Day was released in January of 2013. In this book, readers follow the main character Allyson Healy’s encounter with Willem De Ruiter, and their unexpected trip to Paris. Allyson is more of a planner, someone who does not fly by the seat of their pants. Willem is exactly the opposite of Allyson, he’s an actor who is also very free spirited. The pair meet each other in England at a performance of Shakespeare’s Twelfth Night. They click immediately. When Willem invites Allyson on a spur-of-the moment trip to Paris, she accepts and goes with him. Readers are part of the ride over the 24 hours they spend in Paris, where Allyson’s life is changed forever. The morning after, Allyson awakes by herself and discovers that Willem is gone. Allyson spends the next year growing as a person, and longing for Willem. She searches and searches for him as the year goes on. Just One Day is the first part in a two-part series. The sequel, Just One Year is scheduled to be released in October of 2013. In Just One Year, readers will get to hear the story from the point of view of Willem. It picks up right where Just One Dayleft off and tells the story of how the two are apart from each other, and nearly encounter one another on various occasions. Willem misses Allyson and goes through a personal transition and finds love. Through these two books readers get to read the same story through two totally different perspectives.

Many of the characters in Gayle’s novels are musicians. Gayle is a huge music fan, and her husband is a musician. She currently plans to continue writing another novel after Just One Year, and then more and more as long as her personal allows it.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Gayle Forman

One Response to “Gayle Forman”

  1. Roxana: 6 years ago

    Hi ,

    I writed this comment to say that i am a constant reader of your blog and i like the way you write.
    Each time i read your website with pleasure. It’s like a way of relaxation for me. As for the book i think it’s great. Everybody should read it . Personally i’ve read it after Breakthrough after i found it on a website . There are lots of book reviews and recommendations you can choose from.
    Now i read The Game and i enjoy every single page and every book lover will enjoy it too i’m sure of that Keep writing because you rock.


Leave a Reply