Book Notification

Geek Girl Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Geek Girl Books

Author Holly Smale writes the “Geek Girl” series, and is from the teen fiction genre.

“Geek Girl” was shortlisted for a Roald Dahl Funny Prize in the year 2013, and won a Waterstones Children’s Book Prize in the year 2014. It was also the top debut teen fiction book in the UK in the year 2013.

Despite originally being planned as a trilogy, six books were released. The series began publication in the year 2013 when “Geek Girl” was released. It ended in the year 2017, when “Forever Geek” was released. The series has a total six novels and three novellas in the series.

The book is based on Smale’s experiences as a model when she was a teenager; she modeled for two years before quitting, as she did not like it. When Holly was just fifteen, a modeling agency in London recruited her, and she worked as a fashion model. Holly Smale was also inspired by being bullied when she was a kid.

It follows a girl named Harriet Manners, who is a nerdy fifteen year old that tries modeling in an effort to “reinvent herself”.

“Geek Girl” is the first novel in the “Geek Girl” series, which was released in the year 2013. Harriet Manners knows many things. Like how a jiffy is 1/100th of a second, cats have 32 muscles in each ear, and the average human laughs fifteen times a day. What she is iffy about is why people do not seem to like her.

When a top model agent spots her, she leaps at the opportunity to reinvent herself. Even though it means she is stealing the dream of her best friend, and incurring her arch enemy Alexa’s wrath. Not to mention humiliating herself multiple times in front of Nick, an impossibly handsome super model. Even though it means she has to lie to those she loves.

While moving from couture disaster, with her overly enthusiastic dad’s help and Toby (her super geeky stalker) she finds that the modeling world doesn’t like her any more than the real world.

While her old life falls to pieces, one question pops up. Will she be able to transform herself before she wrecks everything?

Fans of the novel felt like they laughed the entire time they were reading this book. Some like the way that when Harriet goes through her transformation, she is still a geek. Some were able to relate with Harriet, as they too are geeks, but she makes it hard not to love her. They also like that by the end of the book, she stands up to a girl that bullies her.

“Model Misfit” is the second novel in the “Geek Girl” series, which was released in the year 2013. Harriet understands that modeling is not going to transform you. She knows that being uniquely odd is not at all bad. That and the average human eats a ton of food per year, which her pregnant step-mom is trying her best to stop this. One thing she does not know, is where she will fit in, when the new baby is born.

Her summer plans have been ruined, she believes that modeling in Japan is the best chance she will have to be as far away from home as she can get. There is nothing that will prepare Harriet for all of the craziness in Tokyo, or her competitive model flatmates as well as her grandma’s chaperoning. It does not help that everywhere she goes, she sees beautiful Nick.

Because now, she knows what a broken heart feels like. Will she able to find out her place half way around the world or is she just lost for good?

Fans of the novel found this to be a stellar read, and it kept them up late, much later than they planned on. It just held their attention that well. Some laughed a lot through the book, but also felt bad that Harriet was way out of her league with the Models. She sticks with modeling, and is able to get back up when she falls down and then is able to move on.

“Picture Perfect” is the third novel in the “Geek Girl” series, which was released in the year 2014. Harriet knows a lot more facts than most other people do. She knows the most populous city in America is New York. She knows that the official motto for the city is “Ever Upward”. Harriet also knows that 28% of Americans believe that we never landed on the moon.

She does not know a whole lot about modeling in the city that never sleeps, and just how her family is going to cope with life in the states. Harriet is also unaware about “becoming a brand”, like the other models in New York say it. What are you supposed to do when big romantic gestures are not coming from your own boyfriend?

Fans of the novel find that with each book, it just gets better. Some found that they were able to get back into reading, through reading this book. Readers adore Harriet and how unique, adorable, and quirky she is the entire time. It is a joy, for fans to see each of her travels. She got a backbone in the book, and is simply incredible and a lot more confident.

“All That Glitters” is the fourth novel in the “Geek Girl” series, which was released in the year 2015. Harriet knows that in 600 AD, the Chinese invented the toilet roll, and that a comet’s tail always points away from the sun. she also knows that a healthy human heart beats about 70 times a minute on average. Even if it is broken.

She knows absolutely nothing about how to make new friends while at Sixth Form. Or why her old friends, appear to be avoiding her. She knows much less about being a glittering successful supermodel. Which she is now, apparently.

Is she about to crash and burn, or is this finally her time to shine like a bright star?

Book Series In Order » Characters » Geek Girl

Leave a Reply