Book Notification

Genevieve Cogman Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Invisible Library Books

The Invisible Library (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Masked City (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Burning Page (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lost Plot (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mortal Word (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Secret Chapter (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dark Archive (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Untold Story (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Scarlet Revolution Books

Publication Order of Anthologies

Revelations Cycle IV: Fall of the Malakim(1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Orpheus(2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wonderland(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Genevieve Cogman is one of the highly renowned authors from The United Kingdom, who likes to write her books based on the fantasy genre. She is also famous for writing role playing games. Author Cogman has contributed towards the titled of Steve Jackson Games, GURPS and In Nomine, by working as a role playing author on a freelance basis. She has also written Exhalted and Orpheus titles of the White Wolf publication, as well as The Dresden Files by the Evil Hat production company. The first book that author Cogman wrote is titled as The Invisible Library. It also serves as the first novel of her eponymous series. This series deals with a secretive librarians’ team, who go through journeys of alternate realities in order acquire the fiction works. The librarians work for a mysterious library that appears to be existing outside the normal time and space. Author Dogman has incorporated a number of fantasy elements in the series, including the supernatural beings, magic, and steampunk. The Tor Books has acquired the rights to publish the next couple of books of the series, which are expected to be released at the end of the year 2017. Author Cogman is has the Knight Agency as her representative. As far as her personal life if concerned, she has obtained an MSc degree in the subject of Statistics along with the Medical Applications. As of today, she resides in the northern region of England. From a very small age author Cogman developed the interest in Sherlock Holmes and Tolkien. She says that she has never looked back since then. On the academic side, she achieved her MSc and has used it for job assortments as a clinical coder, classification specialist, and data analyst. And all through the growing up, she has always been interested towards writing. In addition to writing, author Cogman likes to do beading, patchwork, gaming, knitting, etc. Currently, Cogman is working for the NHS as a specialist of clinical classifications in England.

The well known novel series written by author Cogman is known as The Invisible Library series. It is comprised of a total of 5 books, which were released between the years 2015 and 2016. Its debut book was released under the title, The Invisible Library. The Tor UK publication released it in the year 2015. In this first installment, author Cogman has featured secret agents, forbidden societies, and stolen books. And the primary characters depicted in the plot include Irene and Kai, along with a number of other secondary characters. At the beginning of the story, Irene is introduced as a professional spy, who is required to be on display game or else she will be taken off from the case that she is working on. There is a mysterious Library, which has acquired the services of Irene to spy for something. The Library is known harvest fiction from the different realities. Irene has an assistant in the form of the enigmatic Kai. The two get posted to work on a case in the alternative London. They are given the mission to locate and retrieve a possibly dangerous book. Before, Kai and Irene arrive in London, they come to know that the book has been already stolen by someone. The underground factions of London appear to be fully prepared to try and find Irene’s book and fight till death for it. To add to the problems of Irene, this alternate world seems to be infested with chaos. The laws are bent at every instance, so as to help the unpredictable magic and supernatural creatures. After a little while into the search of the book, Irene comes to know that her new assistant is also keeping a personal secret from her. Shortly after, Irene realizes that she has landed in a mixture of deadly dangers, involving secret societies and difficult clues. Irene knows that she cannot afford to fail in this mission as the reality’s nature itself is held at stake. Therefore, she shows a great deal of determination and motivates herself up in finding the book.

One of the other popular books of the series written by Genevieve Cogman is entitled ‘The Burning Page’. The Pan publication released it in 2016. Once again, author Cogman has depicted an action packed adventure with an exciting and clever setting. In the novel’s starting sequence, Irene is depicted as a Librarian spy once again and has to maintain her professional standards. The standards don’t include making unplanned and hasty escapes from a besieged burning building. However, whenever she finds that the gateway of her headquarters has started malfunctioning dramatically, she is not left with any other option but to improvise. After fleeing a type of Revolutionary France along with her assistant named Kai, Irene discovers that there are others who have been affected along with her. The gates that lead to the Library begin to malfunction beyond repair and this causes a great havoc. Soon, Irene is asked to carry out a mission at the Winter Palace of St. Petersburg so as to retrieve an important book that will help to restore the order. She has Kai by her side to assist her in the mission. It appears that making plans to fulfill such a mission rarely becomes successful when a contact is made with the dangerous enemy for the first time. And Irene does not realize the enemy is a traitor named Alberich, which makes the mission even more dangerous for her. Alberich is seen as a nightmare, who is hell bent on destroying the Library.

When he learns that Irene has been handed over the mission to prevent the destruction of the Library, he makes an offer to her. As per his job offer, Irene must agree to join him or be ready to die while trying to save the Library. In the meantime, one of Irene’s old friends named Vale experiences damage due to exposure to the Chaotic forces. Irene does not seem to have any idea to save her old friend. Later, one more figure turns up from the past and begs in front of Irene for help. Finally, she decides to take a hard look at everything and sort out her priorities. All the while remembering that she has to prevent the absolute annihilation of the Library at any cost. But, she knows that it is going to be a tough nut to crack and she might even lose her life in attempting to do so. If she is able to save both the Library and herself, it will be a bonus for her. Irene does not think of backing out and seems fully charged up and determined to take up the difficult challenge. Kai too seems very confident and faithful of Irene’s abilities. He motivates her in her mission. Both of them prepare themselves to put up a strong fight against Alberich. Just like the previous books by Cogman, this one too was highly appreciated. Author Cogman was lauded for her efforts in developing such an exciting book.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Genevieve Cogman

2 Responses to “Genevieve Cogman”

  1. Gloria Ronalds: 2 years ago

    Genevieve Cogman’s next book involving vampires and the scarlet pimpernel and a hapless maidservant. is it out yet? Do you know the title?

    • Graeme: 2 years ago

      Her next book appears to be called Scarlet, and is released November 2022.


Leave a Reply