Book Notification

Genius Files Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Genius Files Books

Mission Unstoppable (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Never Say Genius (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
You Only Die Twice (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
From Texas with Love (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
License to Thrill (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Genius Files book series is a popular series comprising of mystery, action, fiction, humor, and children’s adventure genre novels. This series has been written by a well known American novelist named Dan Gutman. There is a total of 5 books in this series, which were released between the years 2011 and 2015. Each and every novel in the series depicts the chief character in the form of a 12 year old boy named Coke McDonald and his twin brother Pepsi McDonald. Throughout the series, the McDonald twins are shown as going on adventures in different states of the US. They visit weird places located in different parts of the country. Author Dan Gutman has written the series with great mixing of humor, fun, and geography. The series began in 2011 with the release of its debut book called Mission Unstoppable and its last book came out in 2015 under the name of License to Thrill. Currently, the series is still going on as author Gutman is working on the story of the next installment. He seems to have finished a major portion of the book and is expected to publish it in the days to come. Gutman has informed his fans all across the globe that he is not going to conclude the series with just 5 to 6, and has not said that he does not have a specific number in his mind as to how many are going to be there. He believes that so far the readers will keep liking his stories, he will continue writing. And the day he feels that he has reached the saturation level and should try his hand at something else, he will call it a day.

The debut novel of the Genius Files series written by author Dan Gutman is entitled ‘Mission Unstoppable’. It was released by the HarperCollins publishers in the year 2011. Author Gutman has set the book’s plot in Wisconsin and California. At the start of the book’s story, it is shown that the twins, Pepsi and Coke McDonald take an exciting road trip when they embark on a vacation with their family. Along the way, they dodge notorious villains in California’s Pex museum and then carry the chase of cat and mouse all the way up to Wisconsin’s Infinity Room. Gutman has shown the kids as geniuses, however, none of them show any signs of geniusness. They get recruited as agents in an anti-terrorism group. As agents, the twins all across their country to look for possible villains. They are joined by their parents wherever they go. Coke & Pepsi keep getting reminded that kids are very brilliant, adults are just idiots. When they are headed to attend a wedding, they take a number of stops in between the road trip. One of twins seems to have a photographic memory and so, he tries to brag about it by spouting some knowledge about the places where they stop. On a number of occasions, the twins escape narrowly and get almost killed at the hands of the villains. But somehow, they manage to come out alive from every situation and lie about the sequence of events they went through to their mom and dad. Both of them know that their parents are going to believe whatever they will tell them and so they get saved from hearing lessons about being kids from them. Pepsi & Coke repeat his process a number of times. The girl twin considers herself a genius because she is very good at solving puzzles. Apart from that, she does not think that she has any personality of her own as compared to her brother, who she thinks has a sparkling personality. But, he too does not have anything special that makes him stand out. But, with each other’s help, they manage to deal with any obstacle that comes in their way. The book has a cute premise that makes it engaging and funny. It has the typical appeal of author Gutman, who seems to have used all his expertise in making the book enjoyable to read.

Another exciting book of this series is called ‘From Texas With Love’. This book was also published by HarperCollins in 2014. The primary characters of this novel include Coke McDoanld, Pepsi McDonald, Mrs. Higgins, Dr. Warsaw, and several others. The setting of this book’s plot is done in numerous places, including Texas, Roswell in New Mexico, Graceland, Oklahoma, and Arkansas. At the beginning of the story of the book, it is depicted that after managing to escape explosively from Graceland, Coke McDonald and his sister Pepsi McDonald resume their road trip. This time, they leave behind their RV and hire a convertible. The twins travel to different places in Arkansas and Oklahoma, where they visit weird tourist spots. Finally, they end up arriving in Texas. Among the many enemies of the twins, there are bowler guys, Dr. Warsaw and Mrs. Higgins. But, after not being able to catch them even after trying many times, they decide to give up chasing the twins. However, Pepsi and Coke continue to receive ciphers and codes from an unknown robotic voice. They realize that someone is still chasing them. But, as they do not know the identity of this new villain, they must find a way to find him before it is too late. This book serves as another great adventure for small kids. Midway through the story, it is learned that Dr. Warsaw had created a program called the Genius Files. As per this program, he used to employ genius kids from different parts of the world to solve the world’s various problems. But, when this program becomes a failure, he starts wiping out all the genius kids that he had employed. And when the time comes to get done with the McDonald siblings, he couldn’t just do it. They escape and save themselves everytime Dr. Warsaw’s goons try to corner them. A point comes when Dr. Warsaw decides he does not want to chase them anymore. However, Warsaw’s robotic clone refuses to back up. It continues to chase the McDonalds in an attempt to catch them and wipe them out. Now, the kids have to deal with another big problem and another attempt at taking away their lives. This novel has great humor and is filled with a lot of action. The readers loved author Gutman’s interactive elements included in the book with which he guides the kids on how to use Google Earth during their road trips. In addition to providing a great story to the kids, the book also gives lessons about geography. Because of this reason, it was liked by many parents, who recommended it to their children and enjoyed it along with them.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Genius Files

Leave a Reply