Book Notification

George Eliot Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Scenes of Clerical Life (1857)Description / Buy at Amazon
Adam Bede (1859)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lifted Veil (1859)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mill on the Floss (1860)Description / Buy at Amazon
Silas Marner (1861)Description / Buy at Amazon
Romola (1863)Description / Buy at Amazon
Felix Holt, the Radical (1866)Description / Buy at Amazon
Middlemarch (1871)Description / Buy at Amazon
Daniel Deronda (1876)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Gentlewomen of Evil: An Anthology of Rare Supernatural Stories from the Pens of Victorian Ladies(1967)Description / Buy at Amazon
Thrillers(1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Great Short Stories by English and Irish Women(2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Virago Book of the Joy of Shopping(2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Darker Sex(2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
50 Classic Novellas(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Greatest Books of All Time #4(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Writers: Their Lives and Works(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
30 Eternal Masterpieces of Humorous Stories(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

George Eliot was a renowned novelist from The United Kingdom, who was popular for writing historical fiction, literature fiction, and classic novels. The name is actually a pseudonym used by author Mary Anne Evans. In addition to be a noteworthy writer, Eliot also worked as a journalist, poet, and translator. During her career, she authored 7 novels, most of which are widely successful. Eliot’s novels are typically set in English provinces and are known for containing psychological insight and realism. The reason behind a male pseudonym by author Eliot is that she wanted to make sure her works were taken seriously. Almost all the female writers during her time used to publish under their original names. But, Eliot wanted to break the stereotype of the writing of female authors being limited to simple romances. Eliot also wanted her fiction to be judged separately from the widely known and extensive work of hers as a critic and editor. Many others believe that author Eliot wished to keep her personal life shielded from the public scrutiny. This was an attempt to avoid the scandal that she feared would have arisen from her secret relationship with George Henry Lewes, who was already married.

The list of popular books written by Eliot includes Silas Marner, Daniel Deronda, Adam Bede, Middlemarch, The Mill on the Floss, etc. The novelists Julian Barnes and Martin Amis have described Eliot’s novel Middlemarch as English language’s greatest novel. Author Eliot was born on November 22, 1819 in Nuneaton, Warwickshire, England. She was the 3rd child of her parents, Christina Evans and Robert Evans. Sometime, her named was shortened and read as Marian. In 1820, Eliot’s family had moved to Griff house located between Bedworth and Nuneaton. As a young girl, Eliot was very intelligent and developed the habit of reading. Her close ones used to think that she has very less chance of getting married because she was not considered beautiful physically. Seeing her intelligence, Eliot’s father decided to give her a education that many people didn’t use to provide to females at that time. Until the age of 9, Eliot studied at the Miss Lathan School located in Attleborough. Later, she was educated at several other schools like Mrs. Wallington school, Miss Franklin school, etc. At Wallington’s, Maria Lewis was her teacher, who had evangelical beliefs. However, Miss Franklin’s had a rather religious atmosphere, where Eliot was taught disciplined, quiet beliefs.

After crossing 16 years of age, Eliot did not have much of formal education. But, she had the access to Arbury Hall library because of her father’s contacts. She took this opportunity to self-educate herself and learned a lot. This effort is highly reflected in her writings as well. Christopher Stray has said that Eliot’s books draw heavily on the Greek literature and have themes influenced by the Greek tragedy. Another important influence on Eliot’s writing was religion. Being raised in an Anglican family helped her developed religious beliefs and depict them in her stories. Throughout her literary career, author Eliot contributed greatly to Westminster Review. Among the first released work of Eliot is a religious poem. With the interference of a close friend, Eliot had indulged into finding about Christianity’s origin. This had lead her to give up her religious beliefs. When Eliot’s father came to about this, he shunned her completely and sent her to live with a nun until Eliot promised to regain her beliefs.

Even though she did what her father asked her to do, Eliot didn’t change the intellectual views. Following the death of her father in 1849, author Eliot traveled to many places. She took up a job at Westminster Review. The job didn’t pay her, but she was satisfied with the exposure she got and the chance to learn & train. Eliot had a huge workload, but still managed to find time for the translation of Essence of Christianity. This is the only novel that she has released under her own name. With this publishing, Eliot gained enough confidence to declare openly that she was having an affair with George Lewes, The Leader’s editor, who already had a wife. The two went on to live harmoniously for 24 years, but faced financial hardships and social ostracism. Author Eliot breathed her last on December 22, 1880.

A popular book of author George Eliot is entitled ‘Silas Marner’. It was first released in 1861 and then again in 2005 by the Simon Schuster publishers. The chief characters mentioned in this book include Silas Marner, Dunstan Cass, Priscilla Lammeter, Eppie, Dolly Winthrop, Godfrey Cass, William Dane, Aaron Winthrop, Squire Cass, etc. Author Eliot has done the book’s setting in the UK. At the beginning of the book’s story, it is depicted that Silas Marner was falsely accused of theft charges and exiled from the community a few years ago. Now, he lives a lonely life in Raveloe. For all the years in exile, Silas Marner worked very hard and collected lots of money. With sudden turn of events, Marner’s money gets stolen, and he is forced to adopt an orphan named Eppie as she comes to live in his house. Silas feels that his life is entwined with Eppie’s life, and that he has been given a chance to bring a transformation in his life. Both Eppie and Silas Marner come across Godfrey Cass, who is village Squire’s son. He too seems trapped in his own past.

Another entertaining book that Eliot wrote is called ‘The Mill on the Foss’. It is set in St Ogg’s, UK and consists of the primary characters as Tom Tulliver, Maggie Tulliver and several others. At the start of the story of the book, it is shown that Maggie and Tom are siblings living at the Dorlcote Mill. Maggie worships Tom and shows the desperation of winning her parents’ approval. But, her family remain in constant conflict with her because of her waynard, passionate nature, and fierce intelligence. As Maggie reaches the adult age, her desires’ clash with her parents’ expectations get played out painfully. Maggie feels she is torn between the relationships with 3 different men. One of them is her stubborn and proud brother, the second one is her close friend and the son of the worst enemy of her family. The third man is a dangerous and charismatic suitor. This book’s story looks very moving and powerful, and portrays the sibling relationships in a poignant way. The readers appreciated and liked each of its elements, and praised the characters as well as the overall story.

Book Series In Order » Authors » George Eliot

Leave a Reply