Book Notification

George M. Johnson Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

All Boys Aren't Blue (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
We Are Not Broken (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The (__) They Don't Teach You About College (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Flamboyants (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

About George M. Johnson

An American author, activist and journalist, George M. Johnson is well-known for their strong and powerful voice when it comes to writing. Speaking out about a range of different issues, they’re a compelling novelist with a lot to say and offer, making a name for themselves with their unique brand of work. Taking their writing in new and interesting directions, they say something different, setting them apart from everyone else in the process. This approach to writing has put them at the forefront of their field, as countless readers from around the world have come to know and relate to their writing.

Saying so much with their writing as well, they tackle a number of different issues from race, to sexuality, to gender and masculinity. Writing from their own LGBT experiences as a Black American artist and creator, they speak out about their past in a sensitive and informed manner. Becoming a household name for many, they’re hugely gifted, resonating with readers far and wide, regardless of where they’re from. All of this has also led to their work being potentially adapted for television as well, with their writing going on to reach the screen.

Their characters are also extremely well crafted, drawing from their own life, as they essentially bring their protagonists to life upon the page. Coupling this with their expert sense of pacing and narrative, they create many compelling stories that really stands out. Entertaining readers with their wit too, they keep their audience constantly turning the page for more, as their writing becomes addictive. With so much more to come still, they definitely aren’t stopping any time soon, as there’s plenty more planned for release upon the horizon.

Early and Personal Life

Born George Matthew Johnson in 1985, they’d spend their childhood growing up in New Jersey, before moving on to Virginia. Living with a both loving and affirming family, they would later come out at the age of twenty-five, all the while continuing to develop as a writer. Taking inspiration from their own life and experiences, they’d put it all back into their work, creating their own unique style and approach.

Attending HBCU Virginia Union University, they’d also go on to become an Alpha Phi Alpha member during their studies there. Also going on to attend Brown State University graduate school as well, they’d later work for a number of different publications and outlets. Currently still working to this very day, they live in Los Angeles, California, as their writing career carries on growing from strength-to-strength.

Writing Career

Starting out, George M. Johnson would begin their literary career publishing various different pieces and stories online. The outlets they’d publish in would include Buzzfeed, Teen Vogue, The Root, NBC, Ebony, and Entertainment Tonight just to name few. Making a name for themselves, they’d become a highly regarded journalist and activist, bringing to light numerous different issues and subjects.

The first book they’d release was titled ‘The (________) They Don’t Teach You About College,’ which they brought out back in 2016. It was their memoir-manifest in 2020 titled ‘All Boys Aren’t Blue’ that’d see them really establishing their name as an author to watch. Later following this up with another memoir titled ‘We Are Not Broken’ in 2021, they would also go on to win countless awards and nominations.

All Boys Aren’t Blue

Arriving in 2020 on the 28th of April, this would make a considerable impact upon its release through the ‘Farrar, Straus and Giroux’ imprint, generating a great deal of critical acclaim. Gaining a lot of commercial success as well, it’s a stand-alone collection of highly personal essays from the LGBTQIA+ author and activist George M. Johnson. Offering insight, it’s won a range of plaudits, making it an extremely important as it continues to provoke and inspire with its thoughtful perspective.

Dealing with events throughout their life, George M. Johnson offers a series of highly personal essays charting their experiences. From childhood bullies attacking them at the age of five, to their New Jersey college years and their grandmother and parents, it covers so much. Looking at their relationships as well, it provides insight into their sexuality and coming-of-age in a modern world. Covering so much ground, from race, to gender, to sexuality, it offers an in-depth and personal look at Johnson’s life.

It’s a powerful and honest account of an individual rising up against the many obstacles that come their way. Finding their place in the world, it manages to create a compelling picture of Johnson up to this point, making them an interesting and engaging figure. Through its testimony it also offers a manifesto for younger people looking to become allies, grounding the LGBTQIA+ experience of a person of color for them.

We Are Not Broken

First coming out in 2021 on the 7th of September, this book would arrive through the ‘Little, Brown Books for Young Readers’ outlet. Aimed at a younger audience this time, this book would be easily accessible, telling the story of a family living and growing together. It’s a non-fiction memoir from George M. Johnson themselves, relating a number of real-life experiences they had growing up.

Looking at four children raised by Nanny, this sees Garrett, Rasul, George, and Rall living with their ever devoted grandmother. Facing the many obstacles of growing up, from their many loves and losses, to racism, they live together in the family barbershop. Residing at their center, their grandmother is the lynchpin holding them together, never breaking while up against the elements. There’s so much they must overcome, but together they can manage it as a family, stating clearly ‘we are not broken.’

Filled with compassion, this book works on so many levels, relating real-life lived experiences for so many. Reaching an audience worldwide, it’s easy to see why it’s become so popular, making it a must for fans of the author, and those wanting to find out more. Centering around the experience of growing up a POC in modern America, it has so much to say and offer, bringing its entertaining and insightful perspective to life.

Book Series In Order » Authors » George M. Johnson

Leave a Reply