George Mann Books In Order

Publication Order of Newbury & Hobbes Investigation Books

The Affinity Bridge (2008) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Osiris Ritual (2009) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Immorality Engine (2010) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Executioners Heart (2013) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Revenant Express (2018) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Ghost Books

Ghosts of Manhattan (2010) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Ghosts of War (2011) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Ghosts of Karnak (2016) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Ghosts of Empire (2017) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Sherlock Holmes Books

The Willd of the Dead (2013) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Spirit Box (2014) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Warhammer 40,000: Brazen Minotaurs Books

Old Scars (2017) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Wychwood Books

Wychwood (2017) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Hallowdene (2018) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Star Wars Books

Myths and Fables (2019) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Human Abstract (2004) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

George Mann is an English author of fantasy and science fiction books born and raised in Darlington, England. George has served as an editor for the outland magazine and also serves as the human abstract author. He is an author who highly upholds his work, and this is reflected in the excellent creations he has made in writing. Currently, George lives near Grantham together with his wife and son.

Mann has authored many novels among them the famous Hunter Series and The Jungle Series. He has also written some short stories such as Methuselah, and The Shattered Tea Cup. George Mann is also a scriptwriter.

The Infinity Bridge

Mann introduces the Newbury and Hobbes investigative series with the book, The Infinity Bridge. The book ushers the reader into the bizarre and hectic world of London under Victoria’s rule, giving the busy side and also the that which is sinister.

Victorian London is in a messy state with new technologies coming up, ground trains rumbling each day as this is a time of the great revolution bringing up new technologies and inventions. Things have changed with automation of many tasks in offices such as those carried by policemen, lawyers and journalist. But in the midst of all these things, there is a dark side that looms in the streets. Inside the Whitechapel’s laden alleyways cadavers come back life while Sir Maurice Newbury works to protect the emperor from her enemies.

Mysteriously an airship crashes and Maurice a gentleman investigator for the crown together with miss Veronica, who has been appointed recently as his assistant, is given the task to unravel the matter. Adding to the mess is a murder that takes place Scotland yard on top of a frightening plague tearing the slums of this city. These mysteries created in the area takes the two on an adventure that is dangerous and which will almost cost their lives. The colossal task ahead of the two detectives is one that takes them and the reader through a turn of events that is terrifying and horrific.

George is incredible at coming up with a fictitious and mysterious story that drives his readers through ups and downs that are incredibly woven together to make a masterpiece. The flow of the story is excellent with instances of suspense, terror and at times funny. There is a lot that one has to learn from the creation including the composition of a society holding the good and the wrong side.

The Osiris Ritual

Number two in the Newbury and Hobbes Series is the Osiris Ritual. The author takes you into more expeditions and adventures undergone by Hobbes and detective Maurice. They are involved in solving a mystery that has bewildered the city greatly.

Hobbes sinks into solving the mystery involving the disappearance of young girls while Maurice investigates the mysterious death of a group of people that attended a mummy unwrapping. Maurice is into an addiction to opium and landed which Hobbes finds rather discomforting and affecting their work. The detective Newbury with the help of a young reporter is trying to unravel the death of a young explorer who discovered the mummy. His primary suspect is Ashford whom he simultaneously finds in many crime scenes. The two investigations ran parallel to each other and at some point, come together.
Hobbes discovers that most of those who participated in Alfonso’s magic shows are the ones on the disappearance list. They two hardly realize the danger that they are getting into as they are overly engaged to the two cases. Soon Veronica finds herself captive to the person she is chasing while Maurice finds himself on top of a roof not even sure if the person he is after is the one responsible for the case he is handling. The two have to join hands to unravel the mysteries before it is too late for them and also for the safety of the queen.

The author brings in the issue of decisions and the consequences that they have on an individual in this book. The fictional story has a lot to teach apart from entertaining. Mann’s imagination is rich with high expertise in writing seen from the styles, characters, and events of this story. His rich world of imagination creates a mystery packed with mysteries and action that will keep you locked from cover to cover.

The Immorality Engine

Third in the Newbury and Hobbes Series is the Immorality Engine. It is a fierce battle for agent Maurice who is struggling with an opium condition and still keeps up with work. The book gives a story on the double life that is lived by both Newbury and Hobbes while still maintaining work.

Opium addiction has taken the better part of Maurice dragging him into opium dens. Veronica, on the other hand, is having a queer relationship with the queen, and this is the major cause of the investigators fall into this addiction. Veronica is barely aware of the fact that he is responsible for this issue and she continues basking in the glory of solving several crimes together with Maurice. Veronica is busy giving attention to her prophetic and also fragile sister without giving attention to her partner. Chief investigator, Bainbridge is busy trying to cover up for Maurice but things too out of control.
When a mysterious murder happens, Bainbridge has to flash Maurice from the opium den to handle the case as this is his expertise. After bringing in the body of a man who is believed to be a notorious criminal, another case similar to that of the dead man’s hallmark is reported. Automatically, they discover that there is a copycat out there and it is their responsibility to halt this insanity though Newbury seems to have second thoughts on this conclusion. It takes them on an adventurous and terrifying journey to solve the case as the two battle with their conflicting lives.

One thing that George Mann is excellent at is creativity- he comes up with a story that seems too real to be a fiction. The plot and storyline are awesomely developed giving a read that qualifies to be called a masterpiece.


Book Series In Order » Authors » George Mann