Book Notification

Georgian Saga Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Georgian Saga Books

The Princess of Celle (1967)Description / Buy at Amazon
Queen in Waiting (1967)Description / Buy at Amazon
Caroline, the Queen (1968)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Prince and the Quakeress (1968)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Third George (1969)Description / Buy at Amazon
Perdita's Prince (1969)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sweet Lass of Richmond Hill (1970)Description / Buy at Amazon
Indiscretions of the Queen (1970)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Regent's Daughter (1971)Description / Buy at Amazon
Goddess of the Green Room (1971)Description / Buy at Amazon
Victoria in the Wings (1972)Description / Buy at Amazon

Jean Plaidy’s real name is Eleanor Alice Burford. She was a British author with nearly two hundred novels under her pseudo, Jean Plaidy. She published books, which sold 14 million copies before her demise. In this review, we shall look into one of her historical romance novels, the Georgian Saga series and review the initial titles from it.

The Princess of Celle #1 Georgian Saga

Sophia Dorothea of Celle never had any luck at finding true love. As a child, Sophia was infatuated with Philip Konigsmarck, whom she had genuinely fallen in love with (puppy love I guess). At sixteen, Sophia found herself at crossroads with her heart’s desires and the political setting of her time. Seventeenth-century monarchy political affiliations in Europe forced the young beauty into matrimony with the future king, the crown prince of Hanover, George Lewis. The young prince was passionate about war and playing honky only with women.

Königsmarck gives his mistress Clara von Platen, cold-shoulder as he attempts to pursue his childhood friend Sophia Dorothea’s life. Feeling hurt at her past with the philandering prince, Sophia plans to ruin his reputation. Sophia grew up in sheer abundance, luxury, and love. She was the only child of a powerful German Count and his wife-a French descent. She is the sole heir to the couple’s vast fortune and the perfect candidate fit enough to marry a future king, not necessarily for her charm and beauty, but for power and politics. She’s caught up in the dynastic intrigues of power brokers.

More than a dozen characters in this book threaten to destroy Sophia’s devious plans. They’re painted as complex persons by the author. The beautiful Swedish Count Philip Konigsmarck, the hero in this book, provides great entertainment as a reckless womanizer, a dashing, handsome, rich kid without a care in the world. The author brings to life incredible insights into the historical setting of the 17th-century power brokers and monarchs of England and the German Counts at that time.

Queen in Waiting #2 Georgian Sagas

Caroline of Ansbach is the betrothed lady to George Augustus, the Prince of Wales. She arrives in England to find King George, the old and astringent man painfully enduring his ugly mistress and his wife whom the King condemned to a life of captivity for nearly twenty years. Caroline grew up watching her mother, Eleanor; endure a loveless, precarious marriage. She is keen to avoid getting into a distasteful situation by marrying the young Prince. Caroline grew up in similar circumstances since her mother Eleanor endured a dangerous and loveless marriage. Caroline and George Augustus becomes the darling of the citizenry in England, leading to a fierce rivalry between father and son.

Both thrive in constant squabbles and rivalry for power. Caroline soon discovers her husband’s inadequacies as an obtuse and ignorant of the political world. She seizes the opportunity to manipulate him into her charm. She plans to control him despite the constant interruptions from her father-in-law, and his interference with her marriage, and her children. The princess has sinister plans under her conniving charm. She has ambitions of her own that must happen.

Caroline, the Queen #3 Georgian Saga

The survival of the British kingdom as a ruling establishment owes its status to its past rulers. Caroline of Ansbach is one such queen. She didn’t grow up in wealth and abundance, but her parents ensured that she receives the best education to set her stakes high as a young adult. And true to their great upbringing, Caroline married into the prestigious House of Hanover. Not a marriage made in paradise, as she must deal with a cruel father in law King George 1 and her dominating insecure husband and the future king, George II.

The House of Hanover hold the reigns of the English throne, thanks to the conniving stratagem of Caroline and the Prime Minister, Sir Robert Walpole, to keep things in check. Jean Plaidy narrates the story of George I in power and the untold secrets of the ambitious queen of England, Caroline of Ansbach through her traumas. Caroline was the adored queen of the Hanoverians. She has learned to endure years of cruelty under the mad king under exile. The death of the king brings relief and a chance to seek the throne as the rightful heirs; Prince George II. Caroline represents traditional female power greatly influenced by numerous sacrifices and humiliations.

The most thrilling part of this book is when we are introduced to the Dowager Duchess of Marlborough, Sarah Churchill, John Churchill’s widow. Sarah comes off as a villain, desperately trying to regain her lost glory during the reign of Queen Anne. She’s manipulative, calculating and incredibly corny. Sarah provides funny moments due to her intrigues and tantrums. She’s quite an amusing character that made the book come alive with a dose of sedition and litigious machinations.

However, the real villain of this novel is Frederick, Caroline’s eldest son, and the Prince of Wales. Growing up under the shadows of his late grandfather, King George I of Hanover, Frederick is almost a stranger to his parents as they lived in exile, while he lived with the king. He comes back to his parents as a stranger to begin his monarch duties, a position he is loathed since he was a young boy. He doesn’t care what his parents have in store for him and is oblivious of his disposition as a bargaining chip for Walpole’s enemies. The prince realizes his mother’s plans to deprive him of his social liberties and spends most of his time annoying them with ghastly deeds. The courtiers compete to have the princes’ attention as King George carries on with his follies. Caroline is the only one deeply concerned with politics and ensures that her family is secure. She aligns her house with powerful Lords and foreign ambassadors to maintain peace and preserve the monarch’s interests at all times.

The queen is no doubt an interesting read into past sovereign governments, shedding light on the weaknesses and strengths of influential individuals in the seventeenth century. It is quite enchanting and a delightful read to keep you occupied on a long weekend.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Georgian Saga

Leave a Reply