Book Notification

Gerald M. Kilby Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Belt Books

Publication Order of Colony Mars Books

Colony One Mars (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Colony Two Mars (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Colony Three Mars (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jezero City: Colony Four Mars (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Surface Tension: Colony Five Mars (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gizmo Orign (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Plains of Utopia Mars Colony 6 (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Winds of Mars (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Moon Base Delta Books

Publication Order of Reaction Books

Gerald M Kilby
Gerald M Kilby grew up reading Arthur C. Clarke, Isaac Asimov, and Frank Herbert. This turned into a taste for Stephen R. Donaldson, Iain M. Banks, and everything that Neal Stephenson wrote.

It is understandable then, that he should pick science fiction as his main weapon of choice when he entered the storytelling game.

Gerald lives in Dublin, Ireland, in the exact same neighborhood as Bram Stoker. He can sometimes be seen, just tapping away on a tiny laptop in the local cafe, with Loki, his dog.

“The Belt” and “Colony Mars” are both best sellers, having topped Amazon charts for Space Exploration and Hard Science Fiction.

Gerald’s debut novel, called “Reaction”, was released in the year 2016. He writes the “Belt” series, the “Colony Mars” series, and the “Reaction” series. His work is from the science fiction genre.

“Colony One Mars” is the first novel in the “Colony Mars” series and was released in the year 2016. All contact is lost with the very first human colony on Mars during a destructive and lengthy sandstorm. Satellite imagery from the aftermath shows some extensive damage to the facility. All fifty-four of the colonists living there are presumed dead.

Three years later, and a new mission sets down on the planet’s surface to investigate what is left of the derelict site. It isn’t too long before they realize that the colony isn’t nearly as lifeless as people believed. Somebody is still alive, and hiding out somewhere.

However, before they are able to find the elusive colonist, there is an odd illness that begins affecting the crew. Pressure mounts on Dr. Jann Malbec, a biologist, to find the source and figure out a way to battle it. While she investigates she starts to suspect a lethal and dark secret that lurks within this colony. A secret that threatens not only the crew but the whole population of Earth.

With just limited resources and little time, she has to find some answers and quick. If she doesn’t, no one is going back home.

Readers enjoyed this well written novel for its mystery, intrigue, and action, that has just enough technical description to make it believable. The novel moves along at a nice pace, and always keeps you engaged and interested on the events. These characters sparkle with life, and have humans of their own.

“Colony Two Mars” is the second novel in the “Colony Mars” series and was released in the year 2016. The only survivor of the ill-fated ISA mission is now stranded on Mars. Having been designated a bio-hazard by the Earth, any hopes of going back home is all but eliminated. She is isolated, alone, and abandoned.

Until another human turns up in the main colony’s airlock. But he is barely alive and quickly dies before ever regaining consciousness. More disturbing, however, is that a DNA test identifies him as being a colonist that has died already, many years earlier, impossible though that may be.

Nevertheless, there is but one place that he could have come from, Colony Two, or the mine on the far side of the Jezero crater. The outpost that they presumed dead. If he actually survived, maybe others survived, too?

She has got zero choice but to try the dangerous journey across the crater to investigate. Because if she doesn’t find any answers quickly, her future is to die all alone on Mars.

This is an interesting read that is rather scary. It has the action, and a semi-sentient robot that keeps things moving nicely along throughout. The fast pace from the previous novel is kept up while the story unfolds.

“Colony Three Mars” is the third novel in the “Colony Mars” series and was released in the year 2017. Now that the truth about the genetic experiments on mars has been totally revealed, some new missions are headed out to gain control of this extraordinary tech. On the way, they look to exploit and then enslave all the colonists, turning them into lab rats.

Worse, these newcomers are well armed, and ready to go to war with one another in order to win control of this colony and its people.

Dr. Jann Malbec has got a secret, on that she would be able to use to spare the colony and save all of the colonists from this fate. But, by using it she is almost certainly going to doom Earth to one planet-wide pandemic of apocalyptic proportions. Yet she has to choose. Mars or Earth, which will it be?

Readers enjoy this one, finding it to be a solid, fun time, with plenty of action and is excellent seeing the planet of Mars. Gerald shows, once again, his writing abilities as he carries his readers along during this ever evolving journey in a series of novels that is tough to put down.

“Jezero City” is the fourth novel in the “Colony Mars” series and was released in the year 2017. When one colonist dies under tragic circumstances, just sols before one major terraforming experiment, Dr. Jann Malbec starts to suspect that all isn’t what it appears to be. Her fears start to grow when each attempt she makes to investigate the death gets thwarted by Mars’ ruling council.

In desperation Jann resorts to secretly recruiting Mia Sorelli, a colonist that just arrived and is an ex-cop with a troubled past, to quietly look into this incident. Mia has some very good reasons why she abandoned her former life back on Earth. Nevertheless, she hesitantly accepts this assignment even if it means she has to hook up with Gizmo, the semi-sentient and malcontented droid.

Mia uncovers far beyond anything Dr. Malbec or she could have ever imagined. While she investigates she starts to suspect that a terraforming experiment could be compromised by those that seek to undermine the colony’s future.

Mia has to now face down her old fears if she is to save both herself, as well as the whole population of Jezero City.

Fans found this one to be entertaining and enjoyable, and the author does a great job, in all the novels, of developing his characters with each one.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Gerald M. Kilby

Leave a Reply