Book Notification

Gerald Morris Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Knights' Tales Books

The Adventures of Sir Lancelot the Great (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Adventures of Sir Givret the Short (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Adventures of Sir Gawain the True (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Adventures of Sir Balin the Ill-Fated (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Squire's Tales Books

The Squire's Tale (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Squire, His Knight, and His Lady (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Savage Damsel and the Dwarf (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Parsifal's Page (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ballad of Sir Dinadan (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Princess, the Crone, and the Dung-Cart Knight (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lioness and Her Knight (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Quest of the Fair Unknown (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Squire's Quest (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Legend of the King (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon

Gerald Morris is an American author that is best known for his Arthurian stories that he writes for young readers. Besides writing, Gerald also works as a teacher and a minister.


Gerald Morris was born in 1963 in Riverside, California. Because of his parents’ missionary work, the author spent a lot of time in Singapore. Gerald eventually followed them into ministry, attending institutions like Oklahoma Baptist University and Southern Baptist Theology Seminary before becoming a pastor and teacher of theology.

Gerald Morris is best known for writing ‘The Squire’s Tales’. The books dip into the myths and legends of Arthur to bring characters like Gawain and Tristan to life. Gerald uses a brand new character called Terrence to explore the world of King Arthur and his knights.

Terrence eventually fades into the background but he continues to play a minor role in all the books.

+Literary Career

Gerald Morris has been writing for as long as he can remember. The author wrote his first novel when he was in eighth grade. The story was set in the old west and it had everything from squinty gunslingers to dust-covered towns.

While Gerald began writing the novel, he did not actually finish it. He only produced a few chapters and those were so horrible that he was happy to misplace them. After that, Gerald began to drift away from his art.

But he never went too far and eventually came back to his passion in graduate school. Gerald Morris has always been a storyteller and it always came out in the papers he wrote for his professors in college.

The verbose nature of his assignments did not always amuse his professors. So Gerald started writing as a means of giving the words bubbling in his brain an outlet. What started out as a simple exercise slowly developed into something more.

Gerald isn’t sure what drove him to write for children and teens. He thinks it might have something to do with the simplicity of children. They tend to view the world with clear eyes and they allow Gerald to explore certain concepts from unique directions.

It didn’t take Gerald Morris long to realize just how difficult publishing can be. The author kept churning stories for novels out only to receive rejections from publishers in response to his submissions.

Gerald was fortunate because his family started to grow around that time. His three children came into his world and crowded his life, leaving little room for Gerald to ruminate over his rejections. For a while, the author was forced to abandon his novelist hat.

And it wasn’t just because of his children. Gerald decided to embrace academics. He went ahead and got his doctorate. Then he became a professor, with his interests revolving around the Bible, and it didn’t look like he would ever find the time to return to his novels.

But then he did, and not by choice. When Gerald Morris’ academic contract ended, he didn’t know what to do. With few other options open to him at the time, Gerald decided to dip into his past and brush the dust off some of his old novels.

Gerald didn’t know what to expect when he reworked and resubmitted ‘The Squire’s Tale’. He certainly didn’t expect the book to be accepted but that is exactly what happened. And when ‘The Squire’s Tale’ finally hit the bookshelves, it was all the encouragement Gerald needed to write another novel.

The first book Gerald wrote was a unique interpretation of the Arthurian legend. The book focused on the secondary characters and provided a glimpse into a part of the Arthurian stories that most readers had never given much thought to.

The author went on to write several novels set in this same universe. Gerald Morris did this while also juggling a teaching career. He taught English and Greek for a while. Then he became a pastor in Wausau, Wisconsin, and he has somehow managed to balance his pastoral duties with the rigors of writing and publishing.

Gerald has been commended for writing swashbuckling adventures that add a new spin to the story of King Arthur. While the author is very passionate about his faith, Gerald never refers to himself as a Christian author.

+The Squire’s Tale

Terence was just a young orphan living a pretty ordinary and peaceful life with an old hermit in the woods. Then Terrence encountered a magical entity that led him to Gawain, nephew to King Arthur.

When they meet Gawain is going to Camelot where he hopes to receive a knighthood. The old hermit pushes Terence to accompany Gawain because he can see the future and he knows of the adventures that await Terence.

Terence follows the advice of the hermit, taking his first steps to becoming Gawain’s squire. This plunges Terence into a world filled with devious men, magic and epic battles. Along the way, Terence discovers his magical powers and the truth of his parentage.

The first book in Gerald Morris’ Arthurian series finds Gawain, a young knight, showing up at the doorstep of an old hermit. There he meets a young orphan boy named Terrance who becomes his squire.

Gawain then goes off to Camelot and becomes a knight of the round table and that begins his adventures with Terrence. This book has been praised for having a lot of charm and heart and humor.

+The Squire, The Knight, and His Lady

Gawain is a knight with a dangerous mission. He has been tasked with facing the Green Knight in a contest but the chances of him surviving are small. Luckily Gawain has his faithful Squire Terrence with him.

The pair embarks on the adventure of a lifetime. Along the way, they are joined by Lady Eileen who bonds with Terrence.

The second book in the Squire’s Tale series is a retelling of the Green Knight saga, though Gerald Morris simplifies the tale this time around and throws a lot of humor into the mix.

The book moves at a fast pace. It also never takes things too seriously. Terrence is much older now. However, he is content to be a squire. He cares nothing for the prospect of becoming a knight.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Gerald Morris

Leave a Reply