Nick Petrie Series

Geraldine Brooks Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Year of Wonders (2001)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
March (2005)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
People of the Book (2008)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Caleb's Crossing (2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Secret Chord (2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Horse (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Nine Parts of Desire (1994)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Foreign Correspondence (1997)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
On Tim Winton: Writers on Writers (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Writers on Writers Books

On Kate Jennings (By:) (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
On John Marsden (By:) (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
On Patrick White (By:Christos Tsiolkas) (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
On J.M. Coetzee (By:Ceridwen Dovey) (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
On David Malouf (By:) (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
On Shirley Hazzard (By:Shirley Hazzard) (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
On Shirley Hazzard (By:) (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
On Robyn Davidson (By:) (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
On Beverley Farmer (By:) (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
On Thomas Keneally (By:) (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
On Helen Garner (By:) (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
On Tim Winton: Writers on Writers (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Best American Short Stories 2011(2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Fight of the Century(2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Geraldine Brooks is one of the most prolific writers that have shown top notch performance in her writing. Geraldine Brooks was born on 14th September 1955 in Sydney, New South Wales, Australia. She has written different novels that are available world-wide and anyone would love to read. She is also a journalist besides being a writer. She was brought up in the inner-west suburb of Ashfield, hence a native of Sydney. She went to one of the best girl’s secondary school known as the “Bethlehem College. She later joined the University of Sydney. After graduating, Geraldine Brooks work as a reporter for “The Sydney Morning Herald”. After quite some time, she traveled to the United States of America to complete her master’s degree. This came after she won the “Greg Shackleton Memorial Scholarship”. In 1983, she joined the Columbia University school of journalism in New York City to complete the master’s degree. A year later, she got married to Tony Horwitz, who was also an American journalist. This was in the village of “Tourrettes-sur-Loup in the Southern France artisan. After her marriage, she decided to be a Judaism.

She began writing as early as 1994. This was the time she wrote her pioneer book to mark her journey as a journalist. Her writing was mainly based on the experience she had for the Muslim women from the Middle East. The book was known as “Nine Parts of Desire” and was translated into 17 different languages. The second book after this came three years later, that was in 1997 and it was entitled as “Foreign Correspondence”. It was this book that was nominated for the “Nita Kibble Literary Award”. After this book, she wrote other books as from 2001 until date, she still writes very smart novels that are a must read novels. All her books are available online where you can always enjoy reading the books or buy a copy and read later. She has also won several awards in her career as a writer. Some of the Geraldine Brooks recognized awards include the “Pulitzer Price of March” in 2006, “Dayton Literary Peace Lifetime Achievement Award” in 2010 and many more.

Years of Wonders

This is the genesis novel done by Geraldine Brooks. The novel was published in 2001 and is the bestselling historical fiction novel you don’t want to miss reading. It is referred to as “A Novel of the Plague”. The main character in the novel is known as Anna Frith, who is an employee as a housemaid at the Rector’s House. The life that Anna undergoes by the time a plague hits her village is a very miserable life. The setting of the novel is in a small village known as Eyam in Derbyshire. Anna, who is also a young widow takes on George Remington Viccars as her boarder. Not so long, after the arrival of a box of fabrics from London, something strange happens. Mr. Viccars has just shown some symptoms of a bubonic plague after he suffered from fever. Due to this threating condition, Viccars requested Anna to burn everything she came with in order to halt the spread of the bubonic plague. Soon, Mr. Viccars passed away and his clients arrives at his place as they claim their work. Besides this, they also disregard a warning that leaves everyone in great suspense.

Despite burning the box as was requested by the late Mr. Viccars, the plague had got its way out. This is evident by the situation that strikes Anna’s neighbor and her two sons, plus some villagers who suddenly pass away due to the Bubonic plague. There are two suspects to this thrilling situation. Mem Gowdie and Anys Gowdie, who is the niece are the suspected witches. The two are the Village’s herbalists and midwives are everyone in this small village puts the blame on them after the deaths of other village members. Due to this, the anger of the villagers puts their lives in danger as they are eventually murdered.

To prevent the spread of the bubonic beyond the boarder of the village, everyone in the village must has to quarantine themselves. Some months later, Anna and Ellinor, who is the wife of the Rector decides to learn on how to use the contents of the Gowdies’ physic garden. They both take on the duty of the village midwives. As they continued working together, they became very close and had a strong relationship.

This is just a small summary of the book that gives you the urge to continue reading. The book is available locally and online where you can always purchase a copy of the book and enjoy reading the historical fiction story. It is a smart fiction book that you will love reading.


This is the second novel by Geraldine Brooks Geraldine Brooks. The novel was published in 2005 and has about 288 pages. The protagonist character of the novel is known as Mr. March, who is a chaplain and abolitionist. After making up his mind, he thinks that it is wise for him to abandon his family and home so that he can participate in the war. He never forgets the family as he always writes to them letters stating how life is very rough both on and off the battle fields. Due to the poor conditions in the cotton farms in Virginia, Mr. March suffers from a long illness that puts his life in great danger. Luckily, he is taken to the hospital where he meets Grace, a nurse at the hospital and also a woman he had once seen living in a large house where he once worked as a slave. After he gets better, he still has a lot of guilt and grief over his fellows who never made it and passed away. He decides to return home to his family and his wife is very scared of the difficult situation he has undergone.

How was Mr. March welcomed at home? Was the family and wife really happy? This is just a small summary of the novel that gives you the in-site of how Mr. March struggled and still returned home a life. He is a very patriotic man and ready to die for the welfare of his people and nation. Get a copy of the book and you will definitely love it.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Geraldine Brooks

Leave a Reply