Book Notification

Ghost Hunter Mysteries Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Ghost Hunter Mysteries Books

What's a Ghoul to Do? (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Demons Are a Ghoul's Best Friend (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ghouls Just Haunt to Have Fun (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ghouls Gone Wild (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ghouls, Ghouls, Ghouls (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ghoul Interrupted (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
What a Ghoul Wants (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ghoul Next Door (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
No Ghouls Allowed (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Ghoul's Guide to Love and Murder (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Ghoul's Gotta Do (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

If you had the liberty of taking a short trip into the unknown and dark world of ghosts and spirits, would you venture out? If those situations had heroic ghost busters, what happens then?

What you get is a series much like that of Harry Potter without the extra fantasy that reveals itself in the series. What you get is a lot more paranormal and a lot more real — all at the same time.

It’s hard enough to write one book, imagine churning out series after series of books. Victoria Laurie does just that. She concocts paranormal stories weaving them with the daily grind of a human life. She is a master storyteller with an imaginative, yet almost haunting, tendency to put stories right into your head.

Victoria Laurie is a New York Times bestseller and manages two separate adult mysteries series. She brings has vast experience and psychic powers to serenade readers with an endless supply of twists, turns, and paranormal scenes that find a way to grip readers until the last page.

After the massive success of Victoria Laurie’s Abby Cooper series and the Psychic Eye series, her new Ghost Hunter mystery series is a fresh addition to her popular series of books.

Although Victoria Laurie had no intention of getting into full time writing, her vast experience as a professional psychic lured into turning the intuitive into normal. She wanted narrate the story of M.J Holliday – a Ghostbuster with her BFF Gilley Gillespie as her partner.

In a complete mishmash of stories bordering around haunted houses, historical murders, and complete mayhem, the stories sit tight but stretch into an entire series exploring the dark world of ghost busting with M.J’s and Gilley’s characters doing justice.

The series of books plays out various ghosts and souls who need an exit onto the other side. While the love interest of the main characters is a little cliché and even horrid, it’s nice to see how M.J and Gilley serve clients, talk to ghosts and souls, and bring in gadgetry to lure those lost souls to talk.

Ghost busting is all about finding answers where it seems improbable that you’d find any. That brings in the mystery, the way the story unfolds, and the professional hardships M.J and Gilley face. Now, since ghouls aren’t exactly ready to meet you over a cup of coffee, the scenes that play out are often dicey, and sometimes scary.

As with most other series that Laurie pens, the role of a psychic is clearly enunciated: the hardship, the work, the ethics, the integrity, and the willingness to take huge risks. Pack that with action, mystery, romance, and the paranormal and you have a winning series already, don’t you?

All this listening to the voice of the ghouls started with Victoria’s first book published in 2007, What’s a Ghoul to Do? . Eight other books followed with the ninth one set to release this year on Jan 6th, 2015. Each of Victoria’s books makes one thing clear: Victoria is a psychic and she knows her stuff. She is committed to the characters she creates (Including M.J, and clients such as the wealthy Dr. Steve).

By making sure each of those characters has a little story, and as each have their character flaws, the characters are easy to relate to. Bring in the stories with the scenes that play out and you’d also have to let your imagination run wild.

If you did read a few of the early books and then skipped over the new ones, you’d feel nostalgic at best. As the series unfolds, many characters like Stephen and Heath show up pulling you into the tryst, the unraveling of the human journey, and the seemingly endless parade of ghouls.

While each series is intricately interwoven, you have books that almost play out like movies in succession. One character follows another. One plot unfolds even before another one ends.

Victoria’s Books

Victoria was a professional psychic and ventured into writing with her massively popular series of books including Psychic Eye series, Oracles of Delphi Series, and now with Ghost Hunter Series. She has an eye out for the ghostly, the immortal, and the paranormal. All her books launch you into a world of fantasy and paranormal packed together with mystery, action, drama, and romance.

With characters like M.J Holliday, Gillie, and Dr. Steve, for the Ghost Hunter series; Ian Wigby for Oracles of Delphi; and Abby Cooper for the Psychic Eye series, she continues to play out fantasies through her books.

What’s a Ghoul to do? [2007]: With the story set in Boston, Massachusetts, a wealthy gentleman called Dr. Steve calls on M.J. Together, they huddle at Dr. Steve’s family lodge where Dr. Steve’s grandfather jumped off the roof.

Dr. Steve suspects that the grandfather’s ghost is doing the rounds, but the story reveals that it’s not the only ghoul out there. The place swarms with ghouls and M.J now has a task ahead to focus amidst the din and find the answers she needs.

Demons are a Girl’s Best Friend [2008]: This story follows up with the previous hit from Victoria Laure. M.J Holliday and Gilley Gillespie are out to figure out all about Hatchet Jack – a demon who makes Northelm Boarding School its home.

But M.J doesn’t have it easy: there’s this tempting fellow called Dr. Delicious, the schools summer construction adding to the chaos, and a totally uncooperative dean. Will she be able to send this demon back to the portal he comes from? Will she fight with her own issues and temptations to get the job done?

Victoria Laurie will continue to mesmerize you by giving you that tour of the little world full of amazing characters she creates; the ghouls who never seem to find answers or any peace for that matter; and clients like Dr. Steve who are always looking for solutions to their problems.

She’ll continue to ensnare you with her stories, his twisting plots, her vivid characters, and her endless creativity. The multiple series of books is only testimony to her imagination, drive, commitment, and ingenuity.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Ghost Hunter Mysteries

Leave a Reply