Book Notification

Ghost of Granny Apples Mysteries Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Ghost of Granny Apples Mystery Books

Ghost a la Mode (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ghost in the Polka Dot Bikini (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gem of a Ghost (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Silent Ghost (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dummy of a Ghost (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ghost of a Gamble (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ghost in the Guacamole (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ghost of Mistletoe Mary (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ghosts of Misty Hollow (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ghosts ‘n Graveyards (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ghost of Christmas Granny (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

A Ghost of Granny Apples Mysteries is a series that tells the story of Emma Whitecastle, a divorced mom, and the ancient ghost of her pie-baking great-great-great-grandmother, Granny Apples, who are both amateur sleuths. The first novel in the series is called Ghost a la Mode, and it starts off with a granny who was famous for her award-winning apple pies but notorious for murdering her husband Jacob at their homestead in Julian, California. However, there seems to be a problem because as it turns out, she was framed and then murdered.

So for over a century, Granny’s ghost has been looking for someone who can assist her so that justice can finally be served. Granny catches a break when she happens upon a séance being conducted by Emma Whitecastle, and they join forces to start solving mysteries that had stumped people in the past. Their first port of call is Granny’s own unfair murder rap during the closing days of California’s gold rush. Coupled with a dash of history, Ghost a la Mode is a series that features the team of amateur sleuths that is Emma and the ancient ghost that is Granny Apples, her great-great-great-grandmother, who was famous for baking pies.

One of the most outstanding things about this mystery series is the fact that it if filled with colorful characters and the setting is charming. Now add some romance and top it up with the paranormal and you can dig into it like Granny Apple’s famous pies, and I bet that you will return for a second helping. The author has done a splendid job of combining the history of Julian into this tale of unsettled ghosts, mysterious psychics, unresolved murders and sad divorcees while at the same time introducing some new characters, both living and dead in order to carry this series.

With a little prodding from Granny apples, Emma Whitecastle finds herself back in the ancient gold rush township of her ancestors for purposes of investigating a murder that happened a century ago. At first, Emma did this because she had time on her hands but then she quickly becomes fascinated with the amazing history of this town, her family, and the century-old murder. The good thing is that you can’t be able to tell the culprit until all is revealed. The sleuthing process is enjoyable enough and it will keep you glued to the book as you turn the pages.

For a first novel, this is a delectable piece or writing, and it is a cozy mystery artfully combined with elements of the paranormal. It appears that ghostly puzzles are now an emerging trend when it comes to cozy mystery series, and this particular one is quite good. Emma is confidently able to handle her gift of being able to see the dead, and she also displays some class while doing so. As a reader, you can’t wait to see where the next installment of the book will take the two armature sleuths.

The second book in the Ghost of Granny Apples mystery series is called Ghost in the Polka Dot Bikini. Picture a scene of someone spending a whole eternity with their backside hanging out, which is exactly what Emma and Granny Apples can’t help but to think about when they encounter Tessa’s ghost while she frolicks in the cool waters off Catalina Island. We learn that Tessa is a budding starlet who was killed on this island wearing just her bikini. So now she will not cross over to the other side until “Curtis” has come for her. In order to help this winsome, bikini-clad ghost, Emma and her Granny must try to find out the identity of Curtis.

As they start their investigations, they are taken to the glitz and glamour that is Hollywood. Here, they are confronted by political intrigues akin to the Kennedy Era. This is a thoroughly entertaining book that will leave you chuckling, and you will find people thinking before they act. The setting of the story is also very nice, and the author gives a vivid description of Catalina Island. Another good thing is that the main characters in the story are educated grownups with a rich life history, which is a good departure from the shallow characters that you can find in some other novels.

The silly title of the book shouldn’t fool you into thinking that this is just another run-of-the-mill cozy mystery. We find Emma Whitecastle in the painful process of trying to move on after her marriage to her former husband Grant fails. The good thing is that the divorce has done nothing to ruin Emma’s relationship with two of her in-laws, Celeste and George Whitecastle. When Emma’s parents leave on vacation, she has time to go to Catalina Island to have some fun.

When she lands on the Island, this is where she comes across Tessa, the ghost that is unable to cross over, and she still waits for “Curtis”. The author has also done a good job of building upon the relationships that began in the first novel. Apart from relying on her ability of seeing and hearing the dead, Emma depends on living and dead persons to help her to solve this mystery. This is an engrossing mystery that is hard to put down, and the author can be described as nothing short of gifted.

It seems that the life and demise of Tessa is connected with someone in Emma’s family. As she continues with her investigations, secrets that had been buried decades ago start coming out of the woodwork. The story of Tessa is a poignant one, and she is lucky to meet with Emma, who’s a level-headed and intelligent woman. The fact that this particular case is closely connected with Emma’s erstwhile in-laws gives it an emotional punch. The author continues with the tradition of humorous writing while still maintaining a level of sensitivity. Just like in book one, this second novel is a light and entertaining read. If you find these first two books fascinating, there are other books in the Ghost of Granny Apples Mystery series that you can look forward to reading.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Ghost of Granny Apples Mysteries

Leave a Reply