Book Notification

Gil Adamson Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Boultons Books

Publication Order of Collections

Primitive (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
Help Me, Jacques Cousteau (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ashland (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Mulder, It's Me: The Gillian Anderson Files (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Audlib Project: Home 2020(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Gil Adamson is an award-winning Canadian author of poetry, short stories, literature, and fiction books. Her novel, The Outlander, won the 2008 Book in Canada First Novel Award. Gil Adamson’s first published work was a poem titled Primitive, published in 1991. It was followed by a short story collection, Help Me, Jacques Cousteau, published in 1995, followed by a second edition of poetry, Ashland, published in 2003. Gil co-authored Mulder It’s Me book with her sister-in-law Dawn Connolly. Her award-winning novel, The Outlander, is set in the Canada during the turn of the 20th century. It was published by the House of Anansi and also won the Hammett Prize in 2007, the same year it was published. The book was also chosen for the 2009 edition of Canada Reads, and Nicholas Campbell championed it.

The Outlander is the first novel in The Boultons series by Gil Adams. The book is, set at the start of the twentieth century. The 1903 untamed wilderness of Montana, Alberta, Canada, and the icy heights of the Rockies presented formidable challenges to even the boldest and most experienced explorers. Only someone in desperate circumstances, perhaps on the brink of madness, would consider these harsh landscapes a viable escape route. Mary Boulton, often referred to as “the widow,” certainly fits this description.

After the loss of her infant child, Mary slowly begins to emerge from a debilitating depression, only to discover evidence of her husband’s unfaithfulness. Stranded in a lonely and friendless landscape, Mary loses her last grasp on sanity and kills her husband. All the while living with his lifeless body, she sews herself a mourning gown. Her impulsive act is soon discovered, prompting her to flee across the harsh land with her vengeful twin brothers-in-law hot on her trail.

During her treacherous journey, Mary contends with harrowing delusions of the constant threat of starvation and frostbite. She battles her way through treacherous mountain passes, all while avoiding wolves, deadly arrows, and the pursuit of her relentless kin. Along the way, she encounters a diverse array of characters who offer her shelter, companionship, or simply an opportunity to steal supplies. Her encounters with a notorious mountain man known as the Ridgerunner are particularly compelling.

As the widow’s wilderness survival skills and mental state improve, she makes her way to Frank, a mining town in southwest Alberta. It’s here where she regains some semblance of sanity. But nothing can deter her husband’s brothers, and they eventually catch up with her.
The Outlander is a thriller, not a mystery. We know who committed the crime and gradually learn why. The pursuit grips us from the opening sentence and holds our attention until the story’s final words, “Find me.” At times, those being followed become the pursuers, and at other times, they are left behind. The thrills are skillfully woven into a rich and deeply satisfying narrative set in the Alberta Rockies at the turn of the 20th century.

Gil Adamson’s exquisite prose reveals the awe-inspiring and fearsome beauty of the setting. She introduces us to a cast of vivid, unforgettable characters. The cast ranges from vengeful, red-haired twins, a recluse reminiscent of Jeremiah Johnson, who flees the sanctuary of love, a pugilistic preacher, and an enterprising dwarf who offers moral guidance and whiskey to weary miners. Most importantly, there’s the protagonist, Mary, a beautiful fugitive teetering on the brink of madness due to grief and terror. Her journey across the Canadian mountains and plains evokes a rollercoaster of emotions as we share her struggles, hopes, and determination.

The novel presents both dark and haunting imagery, balanced by moments of humor and grace. Gil Adamson has crafted a work of literary magic deeply rooted in historical research and intricate details of its setting while also delivering an imaginative and unputdownable thriller.
Readers will find themselves breathless as they follow Mary’s desperate race across the snow-covered mountains. Blending the best elements of escape over difficult terrain from novels like “Cold Mountain” with evocative, literary prose, The Outlander is a riveting debut that will keep you on the edge of your seat.

Vivid, intense, both horrifying and captivating, Ridgerunner by Gil Adamson is a sequel to the exceptional The Outlander. It’s rich in intricate details and encompasses a wide scope, boasting compelling characters and an enthralling pace.

The story is set in 1917, spanning the border between Alberta, Canada, and the American West. William Moreland’s wife has passed away, and his young son is recovering from a severe illness. Moreland leaves his son in the care of Sister Beatrice in Banff, intending to secure a huge amount of money to provide for his son’s future. However, Moreland’s unconventional approach to “collecting” involves breaking into banks, mining offices, construction sites, and hotels to steal their cash boxes.

Meanwhile, Jack, the young boy, recovers but finds himself confined in a mansion with a woman who saves him physically but threatens his soul. He manages to escape and returns to his childhood home, a remote cabin in the woods, where he stayed with his parents. Though still a boy, he possesses enough survival skills. Sampson Beaver, a Nakoda native living nearby, takes Jack under his wing, offering guidance and independence in measured doses.

Sister Beatrice, refusing to give up her charge, transforms her initial fixation on the young boy into a harrowing manhunt. As Jack discovers that there’s a bounty on his recapture, his father, now a notorious thief, is pursued by both angry grizzly bears and vengeful men across the Rockies.

The historical accuracy of Ridgerunner is astonishing. The narrative takes us from the intimacy of a one-room cabin to the vastness of the Rockies, from WWI prisoner-of-war chain gangs to the campsite of affluent Canadian tourists on a guided hunting expedition. We explore an indigenous artist’s sewing studio and a former healer’s malevolent apothecary. Gil Adamson guides us through life on the unforgiving frontier, evolving with the modern era.

The parallel storylines of Moreland and Jack converge in a breathtaking cascade of violence and love. Ridgerunner is a remarkable novel that demands your attention – once you begin, you won’t want to put it down.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Gil Adamson

Leave a Reply