Book Notification

Gil Reavill Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Layla Remington Mystery Books

13 Hollywood Apes (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
13 Stolen Girls (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
13 Under the Wire (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

This Land is No Stranger (With: Sarah Hollister) (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Compass American Guides: Manhattan (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Compass American Guides: Hollywood (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Smut: A Sex-Industry Insider (and Concerned Father) Says Enough is Enough (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Aftermath, Inc. (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mafia Summit (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Famous Nathan (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Gil Reavill is a renowned novelist, screenwriter, and journalist from The United States, who is popular for writing crime fiction, nonfiction, and mystery novels. His work has featured in various forms of media. Author Gil is particularly famous for writing the Lady Remington series and several popular standalone novels. He has also penned a few books as a ghostwriter. Author Gil was born in Wausau, Wisconsin, United States. He received his education from the Wisconsin-Madison University and the Colorado University. Immediately after obtaining his degree, Gil started working for daily newspapers in Colorado. In 1981, he moved to New York and started trying his hand at writing stories. Initially, he used to do ghostwriting for the Screw magazine’s publisher named Al Goldstein. Gil continued with the ghostwriting work throughout the 1980s. Based on his experience of those days, he came up with the his first nonfiction book called Smut. Gil was also involved in writing plays that were produced in the off-off-Broadway venues in the 80s. Gil has written many articles on true-crime that featured in Maxim between 1998 and 2004. He continued writing nonfiction stories and published the books, Aftermath, Raising Our Athletic Daughters, etc. The latter was written in collaboration with his novelist wife named Jean Zimmerman. Starting from 2002, author Gil teamed up with Eric Saks for writing the screenplay for the movie Dirty. The team yielded a few other screenplays that were either in-development or optioned. Dirty was directed by Chris Fisher and featured the lead actors as Cuba Gooding, Jr., Wyclef Jean, Clifton Collins, Jr., etc.

The other ghostwriting projects of Gil include collaborations with authors like Terri Irwin, Tiki Barber, Jerry Heller, etc. Gil and his wife Jean Zimmerman are credited as Carol Calef pseudonymously on David Smith’s account of the murder of his two sons in 1994, called Beyond All Reason. Author Gil received inspiration for writing novels from reading novels of authors like Patricia Highsmith, Dashiell Hammett, Elmore Leonard, Denise Mina, Lee Childs, James M. Cain, Raymond Chandler, Jim Thompson, etc. The ’13’ series of novels of author Gil, also called Layla Remington series, started with the novel called 13 Hollywod Apes. This novel was nominated for the Thriller Award from ITW in 2015. Following the big success of this book, Gil added a couple of books to the series. Author Gil’s work has featured widely in various magazines. As of today, Gil resides in Westchester County, New York, along with his wife, the popular writer Jean Zimmerman, and a daughter.

The Layla Remington series written by author Gil Reavill is comprised of a total of three books released between 2014 and 2015. Each of the books of the series features the lead protagonist in the role of Layla Remington. She is described as a detective inspector from Malibu, Los Angeles. In addition to Layla Remington, the other essential characters mentioned by Gil include Angle, Tarin Mistry, Simon Loushane, etc. The debut book of this series is entitled ’13 Hollywood Apes’. This book was published in 2014 by the Alibi publication. At the book’s start, it is depicted that a wildfire spreads near the Odalon Animal Sanctuary located in the Santa Monica foothills. This incident is accompanied by the killings of retired Hollywood film chimpanzees housed in the sanctuary, who are shot and left to die. Malibu detective Layla Remington is given the charge of the case and is asked to carry out the homicide investigation. The next morning, she arrives at the grisly crime scene and finds deeply disturbing sights.

More than disturbed, Layla looks confused. None of the deceased are human and so Layla wonders how the case comes under the homicide department. It becomes quite clear that someone wanted the animals dead and executed the task with utmost ruthlessness. Fortunately for Layla, one of the animals survives. This juvenile male chimpanzee is named Angle. As Layla arrives at the veterinarian’s clinic where Angle is admitted, she learns that a man from Southern California had come and took him away. With this new twist in the case, it turns too bizarre. Later, several reports start surfacing about ferocious attacks on the employees of Odalon sanctuary. And it turns out that Angle is the prime suspect in all the attacks. As the attacks continue to be on the rise, Layla Remington tries everything in her capacity to stop them and catch the culprit. The more she tries to solve the mystery, the more difficult becomes. And all her efforts at finding any clue leads her to the terrible night when the murders of the chimpanzees took place.

Another intriguing book of the series is called ’13 Under the Wire’. It was also published by Alibi in 2015. At the story’s beginning, author Gil has mentioned that a monster riot grips the whole of Los Angeles. Layla Remington, who has now become the sheriff’s detective, spends 36 straight hours on duty. She commits a small mistake and fears that it could result in the loss of her badge. Layla is shell-shocked and doesn’t know what to do. She takes retreat at the temporary staging area of the Sheriff’s Department of Los Angeles. Layla is aware of this mansion from the time of her training days. After this, the plot goes back 10 years in the past when Layla Remington was a 22-year old probationary cadet.

When her childhood friend dies a tragic death in Tijuana, Layla gets involved in the mystery of the lavish lifestyle of the rich Loushane family. She sees that the privileged children that she grew up with have started taking their upper crust places. As she investigates about the affairs of the deceased Simon Loushane, she finds an essential clue that points at something very sinister haunting the Loushane family. Layla Remington becomes curious to get to the bottom of the mystery. So, she investigates further and unravels a shocking history of evil, ranging from Mexican Gold Coast to Sonora Desert. Layla’s determination enables her to solve the and put an end to the intriguing mystery. But, when the demons of that mystery come back to haunt her ten years later, she becomes very much worried. Layla Remington knows that if she wants to get rid of this mystery once and for all, then she must open the old case again and find out what did she miss while trying to solve it at that time.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Gil Reavill

Leave a Reply