Book Notification

Gilded Newport Mystery Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Gilded Newport Mysteries Books

Murder at the Breakers (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at Marble House (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at Beechwood (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at Rough Point (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at Chateau Sur Mer (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at Ochre Court (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at Crossways (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at Kingscote (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at Wakehurst (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at Beacon Rock (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at the Elms (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at Vinland (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Gilded Newport Mystery is a book series that is highly recommended if you’re a fan of murder mysteries. The first book of this series is called “Murder at the Breakers”, and it tells us the story of Emma Cross. Even though she may be a less well-heeled relation, as second cousin to millionaire patriarch Cornelius Vanderbilt, she is on the guest list for a grand ball at the breakers, the Vanderbilt’s summer home. Even as she attends the party, she has got some work to do, which is to report the event as a contributor to a society page called Newport Observer.

Emma observes more than just the glitz because she witnesses someone being killed. The financial secretary for Cornelius Vanderbilt is the victim of this murder, and he falls from a balcony quicker than plunging stock prices. Emma’s brother, Brady, is the black sheep in the family, and he’s found inside Cornelius’s bedroom having passed out. Next to him was a liquor bottle and plans for a railroad line that had been stolen. Barely does Brady rouse from his blackout than the police arrest him on suspicion of murder. However, Emma is convinced that someone is attempting to frame her brother, and so she resolves to solve the mystery and find out the real murderer.

One of the best things about this book is that it has a fantastic setting. The reader gets a beautiful and clear image of Newport during its heyday. The author has done a fantastic job of painting the scenery that you actually feel like you know this place very well. It is also fascinating for the reader to get a glimpse into the lifestyles of the rich. In addition, the main characters have been well developed by the author. The leading character is Emma but at times she can she can really make you angry because of some of the things that she does.

For instance, there are many times in the story when she puts herself in harms way by doing totally stupid things. Even the characters in the story notice this and they comment on the stupid things that she does. She is even called pitifully gullible, which sums up her character. She will believe anything even in the face of contradicting evidence. If she likes someone, she will not try to apportion blame on them but if she doesn’t like you, she will blame you whether or not you deserve it. Emma is reckless and sometimes she does things without thinking.

The good thing is that the book makes for fantastic reading. As the story ends, the author provides a preview of the second book of this series. This keeps the reader in suspense and you want to go out and buy the second book immediately. Emma is witty and full of spunk, traits that she inherited from her aunt Sadie. There are many special characters in the book and as a reader, you anticipate getting to learn more about them and the stories that they will provide in future books.

The next book of the series is called “Murder at Marble House”, and with the emergence of the 20th Century, the Vanderbilt family sees their fortunes continue to shine brightly and they still glitter in the high society that is New Port, Rhode Island. However, when an imminent scandal emerges, the Vanderbilt family turns to their cousin Emma to solve the mystery of a murder as well as a disappearance. A frantic call is made to Emma on her telephone by her 18 year old cousin called Consuelo, whose mother wants to force her to marry a duke.

There’s even the fortune teller who hasbeen called by Consuelo’s mother in order to assure her that her future is going to be a happy one. However, the future doesn’t seem that bright because this fortune teller is discovered dead beside her mystical crystal ball, having been strangled using a scarf. A maid who worked for the Vanderbilt family is standing above the fortune teller and she is quickly taken into custody. After all the mayhem has cooled down, Consuelo cannot be found anywhere. Emma must now use her investigative skills to find out if Consuelo has decided to elope with her lover and if her disappearing act may be linked to the killing.

Just as with the first book, the author has done a splendid job of describing the setting of this book. Emma has an internal conflict because she is trying to find her way even as a wealthy suitor is pursuing her and influential relatives try to interfere in every aspect of her life. Emma also has to try to find Consuelo but she needs to exercise a lot of discretion because the Vanderbilt family doesn’t want their reputation to be tarnished. In the course of her investigation, she gets to meet Derrick Anderson and her love for him start to become stronger.

However, Emma is very determined that her infatuation doesn’t get in her way. She is a strong woman who isn’t afraid to confront anyone, even if it is Consuelo’s mother, Alva. She is also fiercely independent and she is an admirable character. There’s enough romance in the story to satisfy all you romantics out there. On the other hand, Consuelo appears like a sympathetic person. However much you might feel sorry for her, she also appears very naïve and living a very sheltered life. She is unable to make decisions on her own and maybe that’s why she is constantly finding herself in trouble.

If you have been to Newport, you will thoroughly enjoy reading the Murder at Marble House, which is book number two in this Gilded Newport Mystery series. The author has done a good job of developing the characters and you will enjoy their daily interactions with each other. If you’re a fan of murder mysteries, this series of books is highly recommended. The good thing is that there are many more books you can read in this series, and so you should have a lot of fun getting to learn more about the characters in this series.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Gilded Newport Mystery

Leave a Reply