Book Notification

Gillian Anderson Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Earthend Saga Books

with Jeff Rovin
A Vision of Fire (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Dream of Ice (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sound of Seas (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Collections

Want: Women’s Fantasies in the Twenty-First Century (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Gillian Anderson is an American actress that made a name for herself in Hollywood for her role in the hit television series “The X-Files”. While she is best known for her television work, Gillian is fast making carving out a reputation as a novelist.


Gillian Anderson was born in Chicago, Illinois in 1968. She didn’t stay in Chicago for long, with her family spending some time in Puerto Rico before finally finding a home in England.

For the better part of ten years, Gillian Anderson called North End in London home. The move to London was primarily driven by her father’s efforts as a student at the London School of Film Technique.

Edward was studying film at the time; and once he acquired the necessary skills, he saw fit to take the family to Grand Rapids in Michigan. There, Gillian’s father started a post-production company.

It was an interesting business. Her father’s career gave Gillian some insight into the world of movies, this along with allowing her to travel to some interesting places. It wasn’t always obvious that Gillian Anderson would follow her father’s interests and enter the entertainment business.

In fact, Gillian initially had her eyes set on archeology. She even flirted with the idea of committing to marine biology. But that was before she went to City High School and auditioned for a community play during her time there.

The audition placed Gillian on the path to pursuing acting. While anyone who knew Gillian at this point would have pointed her out as a troubled teen, acting seemed to set Gillian back on the right path as she found a new focus for her passion.

In no time at all, Gillian became a different person, with her outlook changing and her grades going up. Gillian did not give up on acting even after leaving high school in 1986, instead pursuing a Degree in Fine Arts and running off to New York City to find her big acting break.

Of course, stories of this sort rarely end well. The number of people who sacrifice everything to run off to exciting cities like New York in search of their big break is staggering. Fortunately for Gillian Anderson, she was no ordinary girl.

By the early 1990s, the actress had acquired her first big role in a Broadway Play. ‘Absent Friends’ helped Gillian win a Theater Award. That was in 1991. By 1993, Gillian had moved to Los Angeles where she had acquired the role of Agent Dana Scully on ‘The X-Files’.

The X-Files was a hit show that run for several seasons, making both Gillian Anderson and her co-star, David Duchovny, big names in Hollywood. The cult classic also earned Gillian numerous accolades, this including a Screen Actors Guild ward, an Emmy and a Golden Globe for best performance.

No one could have asked for a bigger break than that. Gillian went on to make appearances in numerous movies and television shows, this along with pursuing even bigger roles on stage.

One would think that a couple of decades of Hollywood success would satisfy Gillian. However, she eventually saw fit to try her hand at writing science fiction and fantasy novels. According to Gillian, she always wanted to write.

However, the opportunity never presented itself, not with the complicated schedule she must keep as one of the biggest stars in the world. The author’s first book came out in 2014.

Gillian wrote the book alongside Jeff Rovin who she brought on board because of his experience in the publishing industry. According to Gillian, Jeff helped guide her through the writing process, taking her ideas, giving them form and showing her how to apply the necessary structure, plotting and pacing.

Gillian is a wild card. When her first book came out, most critics admitted that they did not know what to expect from her work. She definitely elicited an appropriate amount of attention. Where other celebrities are happy to write guide books and self-help pamphlets, no one expected Gillian Anderson, of all people, to dip her toe into the world of the paranormal.

+A Vision of Fire

Caitlin O’Hara’s life is hardly enticing. Her dating life is nothing to gawk at, and she would rather not juggle raising her son with maintaining her career as a child psychologist. But she does what she can.

And she thought she had seen it all; then the child of an Indian ambassador begun to speak in strange tongues. Caitlin doesn’t know whether or not it’s connected to a recent attempted assassination.

She knows it’s no coincidence that so many teenagers around the world are struggling with similar outbursts. Something is happening and as Caitlin races across the globe, she cannot help but wonder whether she has what it takes to deal with what is coming.

This is Gillian Anderson’s first book, and it is a decent start in her writing career. Even though it gets silly at times, the novel is nowhere nearly as terrible as so many people expected.

+A Dream of Ice

Caitlin O’Hara is a child psychologist the likes of which the world has never seen. Ever since she encountered the mystical link to the Galderkhaan, an ancient civilization, Caitlin has been able to access mysterious powers, powers that she has been using to heal her patients’ minds.

However, even with all the perks that her new abilities grant, Caitlin cannot help but wonder at the risk she now bears, especially when it dawns on her that she is being haunted.

Mikel Jasso was determined to find Galderkhaani. When he finally stumbles upon the entire city in Antarctica, he and Caitlin are forced to team up in order to discover all the secrets that it might be hiding.

This book is very different from Gillian Anderson’s first novel. Rather than throwing Caitlin into another adventure as she races across the globe, Gillian chooses to, more or less, strand her in one place while she shifts the spotlight to Mikel.

It is easy to see why fans were unwilling to abandon Caitlin in favor of Mikel, though the character’s relevance quickly becomes obvious.

This book is very detailed and it really delves into all the paranormal aspects of Gillian’s world. In fact, in some cases, Gillian delivers a little too much information.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Gillian Anderson

Leave a Reply