Book Notification

Gillian Galbraith Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Alice Rice Books

Blood in the Water (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Where the Shadow Falls (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dying of the Light (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
No Sorrow to Die (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Road to Hell (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Troubled Waters (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Father Vincent Ross Books

The Good Priest (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The End of the Line (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Gillian Galbraith is a former lawyer turned Scottish crime fiction author. She was born in Perthshire but grew up in Haddington before leaving to go study at the Universities of Dundee and Edinburgh. She graduated as a journalist and became a horoscope writer for the “Dundee Courier” while also doing agony aunt columns for a teenage magazine. In 1986, she went back to retrain as a solicitor and for seventeen years, she worked as a lawyer specializing in medical negligence legislation. While she practiced as an advocate, she continued writing and wrote for the “Times” even as she was “The Scottish Farmer’s” legal correspondent. After she gave birth to her daughter in 1999, she got interested in fiction writing. “Blood in the Water” her debut novel was first published in 2009. She now has four crime fiction works in the “DS Alice Rice” series of novel and several other series. Galbraith currently lives with her family and their pets in Kinross.

Galbraith has been a guest at the Edinburgh Book Festival where she has given speeches and talks. While she worked as a journalist and advocate n the Scottish law system for years practicing Civil Law, she was also involved in criminal trials at the High Court. Once she gave birth to Daisy her first child in 1999, her priorities changed but she continued working full time and only stopped in 2002. During this time, she complained of being constantly tired and was finally diagnosed with a thyroid problem. The idea for the character of Alice Rice came to her when she had her daughter in 1999 and had to stop working for a time. Gillian Galbraith knew a lot about Edinburgh and police procedure and these would come together when she published her debut. Unlike many authors, she only had three rejections before she decided to find a literary agent who managed to help her sell two books. She currently lives with her husband and child in the wild countryside and when she is not writing, she can be found sculpting in clay.

Unlike many authors that have the writing bug from a very young age, Gillian Galbraith got started at 42 years. Up until then she was practicing as an advocate and that took up all her time. After the birth of her daughter,r her thyroid started giving her problems and following a heart problem diagnosis, she called it quits on the law and decided to find a less taxing career. She was drawn to the crime novel since it is so easy to write given that the kernel of any crime fiction novel is always in existence. Given the popularity of “Blood in the Water,” the publishers demanded more titles with the lead character and she obliged. Moreover, she has never thought of anything other than crime fiction once she started writing. Unlike many authors she does not have a particular influential author figure. Nonetheless, since she reads a lot, she has influences from all manner of writers. During her teenage years she loved the likes of Ernest Hemingway and Graham Green and these influences clearly show in her work.

Gillian Galbraith’s “Blood in the Water” is a novel set in Edinburgh that introduces the lead character Alice Rice and sets the tone for the rest of the series. Rice is a thirty five year old police detective that works for the Edinburgh Police Department. She is a savvy, smart and very capable detective that is invaluable to the department. When she first joined the department, she was a fresh faced recruit that believed she could make a huge difference in the world she lived in. She is no longer so naïve but is still optimistic that she could do something for the society. However, in the face of all she has seen she has become very lonely and disillusioned. In the midst of her private and personal battles, she needs to solve a series of brutal murders that targeted professionals in Edinburgh. The body count is steeply rising and she is racing against time to match the wits of a faceless and implacable killer. He has lately been targeting professionals from New Town. He seems hell bent on exacting revenge for what he believes is a grievous wrong committed by his victim class.

“Where the Shadow Falls” by Gillian Galbraith starts off with a bang. The tumultuous life and times of Detective Sergeant Alice Rice makes for compelling read as she deals with wind farm nimbysm, closeted lifestyles and estranged family members in complex plots that will keep one guessing right to the very end. It starts with the discovery of the bloody body of a former sheriff in New Town, in a grand old house. Alice is in charge of the investigation and her quest leads her to a strange world where protesters face up to wind farm developers who are just as determined. At stake is millions of pounds worth of investment and neither group is willing to back down or reach A compromise. Just as Alice thinks she is on the verge of a breakthrough, another man is killed and it turns out he was the sheriff’s undercover lover. He was hit in a hit and run and Alice thinks it is a bizarre coincidence. She decides to bundle the two deaths into one murder investigation.

Gillian Galbraith’s “Dying of the Light” is a novel set in Edinburgh’s red light district in Leith on a freezing midwinter night. A policewoman is patrolling the area, her flashlight piercing the blanket of darkness near the snow covered cemetery. The circle of light ends up on a dead and colorless face and so starts the hunt for a deranged serial killer in the series. The novel is partly inspired by the real life homicides of Ipswich town prostitutes as it explores the underground world where sex is exchanged for drugs and money. Off duty cop Alice continues with her uneventful home life even as her romance with Ian Melville the artist seems to portend happiness though insecurity dogs their relationship.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Gillian Galbraith

Leave a Reply