Book Notification

Gitty Daneshvari Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Ghoulfriends Books

Ghoulfriends Forever (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Who's That Ghoulfriend? (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ghoulfriends Just Want to Have Fun (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ghoulfriends 'til the End (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The League of Unexceptional Children Books

The League of Unexceptional Children (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Get Smart-ish (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Kids Who Knew Too Little (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of School of Fear Books

School of Fear (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Class is Not Dismissed! (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Final Exam (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Gitty Daneshvari is a young adult fantasy and children’s fiction author that was born in Los Angeles to an American mother and an Iranian father.

When she was ten years old Gitty and her classmates were subjected to an IQ test and then a short interview. Seven days later, the school announced that twenty of the twenty-five students in her class were qualified to join the Gifted and Talented Program.
The only students that did not make the list were two foreign exchange students that hardly spoke a word of English, Gitty, and two other students. Dismayed by the results of the test, she headed home and told her parents that she was destined to be a food court vendor at the seller since she possessed neither talent nor any gift.

Thankfully, as Gitty grew older she came to the realization that while she did not have any natural talents, that did not mean she could not make something of herself. No one could stop her from finding out what she loved to do and working at it until she excelled.

As a child, one thing that Gitty Daneshvari was known for was talking a lot. During this time, she used to bombard her parents with all manner of questions when they were trying to sleep and yammered at her sister through closed doors. This went on for several years until everyone refused to listen to her.

Since she just could not stop talking and needed an outlet she began writing fiction and has never stopped since. What she really wanted to get out was her very extensive list of childhood phobias that included anything from alien invasions and spiders.
In the middle 1990s, Gitty Daneshvari began writing the manuscript for “School of Fear,” the debut novel of the “School of Fear” series of novels. The entire series revisits her list of the many childhood phobias she had and some that she still has yet to confront.
Gitty has also written about her experiences as a child trying to find an identity. Of particular interest is the time when she was rejected from the Gifted and Talented program as the school administration found her too average.
She published “School of Fear” in 1999 which spawned the highly popular “School of Fear” series. She now has more than a dozen works to her name and has also contributed to series by other authors.

Gitty Daneshvari currently makes her home in New York City and Madrid Spain where she lives with her family and Marvin her French bulldog.
She has said that above everything she loves to eat Chinese food and spend time with her family and her bulldog. While it once got everyone to ignore her, Gitty has been unable to kick the habit of talking too much.

“School of Fear” by Gitty Daneshvari is an offbeat and funny book for middle-grade students that comes with an interesting premise. It introduces four twelve-year-olds who one summer attend the School of Fear to get over their phobias.
Madeleine Masterson is a kid from the United Kingdom who is deathly afraid of spiders and bugs; Theodore Bartholomew is an endearingly annoying kid that is fearful of death; Lulu Punchalower is mean and claustrophobic; and Garrison Feldman the extraordinary Miami athlete is deathly afraid of large bodies of water.

The school is run by Mrs. Wellington a former beauty pageant contestant. The school is situated on top of a flat-topped mountain and all around is a dark forest. To assist Mrs. Wellington is Schmidty the visually impaired and faithful servant who applies her makeup and cooks for her.
The author pens the novels in short chapters and also combines some delightful phrasing to make for an arresting story. While it is easy for older readers to almost instantly realize what is happening most of the younger audience will love the surprising twists and turns.

Gitty Daneshvari’s “Class is Not Dismissed” starts from where the last novel of the “School of Fear” series left off.

The headmistress of Summerstone who is Mrs. Wellington has invited Lulu, Madeleine, Theo, and Garrison for a refresher course at Phobinasium. While the four have been pretending that they have finally gotten rid of their phobias, Mrs. Wellington does not believe any of them.
Madeleine no longer wears her beekeeper’s costume but whenever night falls, she is usually found wearing an insect veil. Theo has stopped checking if his family is alive using his cell phone but has been regularly sneaking up on his siblings and parents.
Garrison pretends to have developed a passion for surfing but he only heads to the beach in the mornings and late shows up with wet hair. Lulu has been known to stand outside elevators for hours so that she can get in with others. Hyacinth the new student is terrified of being alone.

The children have to once again face their fears but also need to deal with a mystery of a burglary at school. They will need to collaborate to save their school from being shut down forever making for a fun and humorous middle-grade fiction work.

“The Final Exam” by Gitty Daneshvari opens with Theo, Madeleine, Lulu, and Garrison back for the last summer at the School of Fear. They had made much progress during earlier visits but they still have a long way to go before they are fully rid of their phobias.
But this time around, things are not so good at the school as some cantankerous reporter has been writing an expose of Mrs. Wellington. If he publishes the expose, it may run the school’s reputation and that of its headmaster and it may cause the school to be shut down.
If the school is shut down, Mrs. Wellington and Schmidty her trusty sidekick will no longer be able to help the kids overcome their fears. Once again, they have to come together and face their fears.

It makes for a charming and fun conclusion to the “School of Fear” trilogy that will crack up young and older readers alike.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Gitty Daneshvari

Leave a Reply