Book Notification

Godfrey Turton Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

My Lord of Canterbury (1967)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Emperor Arthur (1968)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Devil's Churchyard (1971)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Festival of Flora: A Story of Ancient and Modern Times (1972)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Moon Dies (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon
There Once Was a City (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Builders of England's Glory (1969)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dragon's Breed:The Story Of The Tudors From Earliest Times To 1603 (1970)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Syrian Princesses: The Women Who Ruled Rome, Ad 193 235 (1974)Description / Buy at Amazon

Godfrey Turton
Godfrey Turton is a historical fiction author best known for his history books titled The Syrian Princesses and My Lord of Canterbury. The author’s writing is outstanding, and while the language is a bit old-fashioned, his stories are written in simple English. Turton was born in 1901 in the United Kingdom, but he did not start publishing until the late and 1960s and early 1970s. Before his death in 1985, Turton had seven published works to his name.

The Syrian Princesses
The Syrian Princesses tells the story of four women who ruled Rome between AD 193 and 235. These women were either married to the emperors or were in a way related to them. The author simply sums the most memorable events that happened around this era that is also known as the Severan Dynasty. Reading all the betrayals, struggles for power, and drastic moves these princesses had to make feel like a movie. The author also thinks that the content would make a movie, especially for anyone curious to know how the women managed to effectively rule the Roman Empire. All this happened at a period when women were known for taking the back seat while letting their men lead their households.

The four women highlighted in this book are Julia Domna, Julia Maesa, Julia Mamaea, and Julia Soemias. All the women came from the Eastern province, and it is amazing how they wielded unprecedented power over Rome for a good number of years. From Caracalla’s reign to the time Alexander Severus dies, the women had to take over, albeit behind their husbands’ or son’s shadows. All four emperors had different weaknesses that their wives and mothers worked hard to hide. For example, Caracalla was a deranged emperor whose first act after taking over the throne was killing his brother and co-emperor, Geta. His primary interest was making war on Persians and German Marcomanni, so he left the day-to-day administration of his empire to his mother, Julia Domna.

Turton has done an excellent job of researching the women’s stories bringing a comprehensive summary of the significant events that characterized their role. The author also adds his interpretations of various events, and this adds a lot to the story. Get to read about the conspiracies that eliminated Commodus, the prostitution in the Syrian temple, and the Julias’ psychology. Caracalla market the beginning of the women’s rule, but he was later assassinated, which led to Julia Maesa’s son rising to the throne. However, there is no way the 14-year-old would have managed the empire, so his mother took over. History states that while this was happening, one of Julia’s sat in the senate even though no records of what her contributions were.

If you a history lover who is keen to learn about the Roman Empire, you will love The Syrian Princess. Included in this book is also a table or Roman Emperors from the beginning and a genealogical table of the high priest of Elagabal, Julius Bassiaus. It is interesting how the women plotted to stay in power and effectively handle the empire’s administration while having to deal with old-fashioned, stodgy, and sexist Roman Senators. While the book comes with a lot of information on history, it reads well, and the narration is flawless. The story will hold your attention from the start, and the ending will leave you with more questions about the four women rulers.

My Lord of Canterbury
My Lord of Canterbury is a historical piece that tells the story of Thomas Cranmer and the events that shaped his life. Thomas was the Archbishop to King Henry the VIII, and this also happened to be one of the most scandalous periods in human history. It is clear from the start that Thomas was no ordinary Archbishop. He not only defied the church laws in order to serve the king, but he also helped Henry cover his numerous and daring affairs. Thomas also made an attempt to marry two women and lead the church away from Rome. So, how can one man have managed to do all this in one lifetime?

Thomas Cranmer’s life was as controversial as his death. In an era where faith in God was argued to be the most admirable characteristic of a Christian, Cranmer preached about Christ and his working in us. He argued that Christians needed to trust Christ even in their failings as he was merciful and capable of forgiving them. While the church then concentrated on telling followers of the fate that awaited them if they continued in their sinful ways, Cranmer showed that even in sin, Christ loved them all. A good life awaited them after death and resurrection, and despite his sinful nature, there was hope for every man who believed in Christ.

Unlike most books about Cranmer, the first Canterbury Archbishop, this one is written in the first person. The book reads like an autobiography, and this adds character to the story. By taking Cranmer’s position, the author gives a detailed account of the intrigue and politics in Henry VIII Court. Other notable characters highlighted in this book include Anne Boleyn, Cardinal Wolsey, Catherine Parr, Cromwell, Thomas More, and the Seymours. The writing is clear and in old-style English, which is understandable considering that the book was first published in 1967.

My Lord of Canterbury follows the intriguing life of Thomas Cranmer. While many people know about his execution, many people don’t understand the minor events that led to his end. As a man who did not shy away from speaking against the early church’s beliefs, Thomas had a lot of enemies. What is intriguing is that he was willing to die for his faith, even though his teachings were more on forgiveness and the love of Christ. The author tries to summarize his life and the people he interacted with in a way that will capture your attention from the start. After reading his story, it is easy to see how far Christianity has evolved and understood the early Christians’ challenges.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Godfrey Turton

Leave a Reply