Book Notification

Good Thief’s Guide Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Good Thief's Guide Books

The Good Thief's Guide to Amsterdam (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Good Thief's Guide to Paris (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Good Thief's Guide to Vegas (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Good Thief's Guide to Venice (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Good Thief's Guide to Berlin (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Good Thief's Guide to Christmas (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Chris Ewan is a renowned British mystery and crime writer who is widely known for the Good Thief book series. Ewan was born on 6th October 1976 in Taunton, Somerset and resided in the Isle of Man before returning to Somerset with his family. Upon completing his high school education, Ewan joined the University of Nottingham, where he majored in American Literature. Faber and Faber and, Simon and Schuster publish Chris Ewan’s books. His very first and second novels were nominated in the category best comic crime fiction in the prestigious Last Laugh Awards. The Good Thief’s Guide to Vegas audiobook was nominated in the year 2013 for an Audie Award. 20th Fox Century is currently developing the author’s most recent work, The Good Thief’s Guide for ABC.

A Good Thief’s Guide

A Good Thief’s Guide to Amsterdam is Chris Ewan’s debut novel. In this installment, Chris Ewan’s embraces a sub-genre that has constantly appealed to his reviewers; a writer who is a criminal. Such protagonists have always appeared in crime fiction, notably Donald Westlake’s brilliant book, The Hook, where a bestselling writer with an exceedingly ugly divorce decides to pay an exceedingly talented but struggling ghostwriter to not only write his next book but to also kill his wife. This sub-genre achieved its greatest literary pinnacle with John Colapinto’s only novel, About the Author, where a would-be writer, after finding out that his recently deceased colleague had penned down a book about him and thus, he passes the book as his own and attains a great literary acclaim and scalable success.

This installment is almost in a similar class with the books discussed above. From the very first page, the book depicts an ingenious conceit of characterization and an exceedingly light and witty style that very few English writers have managed to excel at. The conceit of this novel is that the main character, Charlie Howard is an exceedingly successful writer and also a professional thief for hire. Howard uses his style of writing the research and travel that the novel entails as a cover for safecracking and upmarket housebreaking. Howard’s story telling is not only witty but intelligent, with a more light tone. As a matter of fact, Howard many at times has a Bertie Wooster-like charismatic absurdity, together with some of Philip Marlowe recklessness.

This is an exceedingly lighthearted read, with a lead character who has decided to take several decisive actions, with some level of casualness, which is not justified, by strength or toughness. This is made exceedingly clear from the start of the book Howard, who was working on the final draft of his novel is offered a job by one of the American that he met at a bar. The work is to steal two plaster monkey figurines from two separate locations within a couple of hours. The plot becomes exceedingly interesting as two men, who from the look of things may be the owners of the stolen figurines, attack Howard and the American. An exceedingly beautiful barmaid, an English solicitor, and a malicious police inspector, are just but a few of the characters who combine to generate a rather genuinely mystifying plot.

The Good Thief’s Guide to Paris

Just like the first book in this series, the second book in the series is quite interesting. Since the first book was set in Amsterdam, in this installment we find the protagonist Charlie Howard, in Paris. After the immense success of his previous novel, together with several glasses of Wine, Charlie Howard finally agrees to show one of the novices, how to break into an apartment. A day later, Howard is contracted to steal a painting from the same address that he had explained to the novice how to steal from. Charlie convinces himself to take the contract. However, things turn to the worse when a dead body surfaces right at the center of his living room. Thus, Charlie not only finds himself running away from the cops but he also finds himself at the center of an outrageous heist. As all this happens, Victoria’s agent decides that it is high time for them to meet. She arranges a face-to-face meeting since they had never met before.

With that said, mystery author Charlie Howard makes a comeback in this highly entertaining comic caper, which has been set in City of Lights. After publishing a made-up memoir about being a professional thief, Charlie Howard ends up, once the meeting between Victoria and her agent Howard, she soon discovers that Howard has been lying. Though she is highly disappointed that Howard has been lying to her, she is still more than willing to help. Funny and fast, Ewan’s second book in this series is much more entertaining than the first book in the series. Full of mistaken identities, mysterious hit men, and an exceedingly tricky heart swapping this novel includes some wonderful descriptions of engaging, locale and an exceedingly entertaining plot, which will leave the readers quite eager for the next book in the series.

Just like the first and second book in the series, Thief’s Guide to Vegas features the protagonist Charlie Howard who is the self-mocking narrator. Charlie Howard is not only a small scale thief, but he is also a mystery writer. In this book, Howard shows how bad he is bad in diverting third outing. Unlike the previous books, Thief’s Guide to Vegas is set mainly in the 50-50 casino in Las Vegas. This book begins as Howard is trying to pickpocket, one Josh Masters, who is the Casino’s resident magician. After getting the Master Wallet, Howard heads for the Master Suite and breaks into the safe of the Master Magician. However, when he enters the suite, he discovers that there is a dead body in the suite. The stakes begin to rise when the magician disappears during one of his shows. The trick that he was conducting involved Howard’s agent, Victoria. Thus, the hotel’s security team place Victoria and Howard. If you are looking for a book that not only has an intricately designed plot, then this is definitely a must read.

With that said, Chris Ewan is an exceedingly great writer who has not only managed to create exceedingly interesting characters but also a light and twisty plot.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Good Thief’s Guide

Leave a Reply