Book Notification

Goodlove and Shek Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Goodlove and Shek Books

Conclusive Evidence (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sufficient Evidence (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Damaging Evidence (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Damaging Quarantine (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Forgotten Evidence (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Missing Evidence (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Goodlove and Shek series by Al Macy
Author Al Macy pens the “Goodlove and Shek” series of mystery novels. The series began publication in the year 2019, when “Conclusive Evidence” was released.

The series stars Garrett Goodlove, a defense attorney and a partner of the Goodlove and Shek law firm.

“Conclusive Evidence” is the first novel in the “Goodlove and Shek” series and was released in the year 2019. Garrett Goodlove was once an arrogant criminal defense attorney with a personal drive to win at any cost. Two tragic events tossed him into a bottomless depression, and he retreated into a practice of family law. Now, he attempts to settle cases in ways that make everybody happy. He is a much nicer person, however has he lost his edge?

This gentler and kinder life gets disrupted when the cops arrest Carly, his estranged twin sister. She is accused of pushing her husband off of a cliff right into the storm-tossed Pacific. Making things worse, is the vicious detective on the case has got a grudge against her and vows to ship her off to prison even if he must cheat to do so.

Carly, who has been deaf since she was born, refuses to be defended by anybody else but her twin brother. However the intense connection that binds these siblings tells Garrett that she might not be revealing everything that she knows. If Garrett is unable to keep this new stress from pushing him back into his depression, the defense is going to fail, and condemn his sister to spending an isolated life in prison, being cut off from the deaf community she requires.

“Sufficient Evidence” is the second novel in the “Goodlove and Shek” series and was released in the year 2019. Garrett hates liars. As a lawyer, he is required to deal with more than his fair share of con artists and cheats, however lately, he has been getting fed up. He suspects that his recent client, Aksana Ivanova (a jolly baushka) is a grandmaster of deception. His law partner disagrees with this assessment, however how can they be sure?

Shortly after they get her weapons-possession charge dismissed on some technicality, the Redwood Point DA arrests her on first-degree murder. It seems that the weapon found in the trunk of her car was used in an assassination.

Possibly she isn’t who everybody believes she is. If Garrett is unable to figure out when she tells the truth and when she lies, he will not be able to defend her. Worse, he starts fearing the keeping her out of jail may not be that great of an idea.

“Damaging Quarantine” is a “Goodlove and Shek” short story that was released in the year 2020. Garrett has a strong bond with Carly, his twin sister. They are soul mates. That does not mean they always get along. Over the years, he has found that the best way to tolerate his headstrong and reckless sister is to take some breaks away from her. Do a bit of social distancing.

However when the COVID-19 pandemic forces both of them to quarantine together, there isn’t anyway for these soul mates to keep out of each other’s hair. Garrett, daughter Nicoloe, wife Jen, and Carly all are crammed in the same house together. Forced to endure a lockdown, and all the uncertainty that comes with it without any clear end date in sight.

Worse, a disgruntled and violent ex-client mistakenly released out of prison tosses a monkey wrench in this unraveling family situation. If Garrett is unable to appreciate his good fortune, tolerate his quarantine mates, and enjoy the journey even during the tougher times, the coronavirus may ruin the treasured relationship that he’s got with his loved ones.

“Damaging Evidence” is the third novel in the “Goodlove and Shek” series and was released in the year 2020. Garrett never believed that he would prosecute a case of medical malpractice. Doctors swear an oath to help others, and these cases are usually just honest mistakes that get blown up by ambulance chasers.

However when he learns about a female bodybuilder that went to the ER with just a case of heartburn and came out in a wheelchair, he begins paying attention. It seems the doctor that saw her frequently orders open-heart surgery for patients that do not need it. This sometimes leads to either disability or death. And this doc knows precisely what he is doing. Garrett is sure that this surgeon needs to be stopped.

Teaming up with his daughter, who is a new law school graduate, he has to clear the reputation of their prime witness all while they battle against the doctor’s elite team of attorneys who always are one step ahead. The expenses pile up, however it is too late to back out now.

If he is unable to prevail, not only is the surgeon going to continue harming patients in order to line his own pockets, but Garrett’s firm is going to also be forced into bankruptcy.

“Forgotten Evidence” is the fourth novel in the “Goodlove and Shek” series and was released in the year 2020. Attorney Garrett Goodlove thought once his firm brought in a multi-million dollar settlement, the depression he was fighting would clear right up. It didn’t. Since he no longer has to struggle keeping Goodlove and Shek afloat, he has far too much time to obsess over his moods.

A new client brings an envelope in that reads “Open ONLY if something happens to me,” Goodlove puts it in the firm’s safe and goes right on back to neglecting his practice. However when the client vanishes, he knows he has to overcome his problem and take charge. Beating depression is tough, however.

Things get even worse when the client is found wandering around the back alleys of San Francisco and ends up indicted for murder. Turns out this man suffers from profound amnesia, making this case the toughest of Goodlove’s career. If Garrett is unable to get a grip and work through his depression, this new client has to spend his life in prison for a murder that he (probably) did not commit.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Goodlove and Shek

Leave a Reply