Nick Petrie Series

Gordon Carroll Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Gil Mason Books

Sheepdogs: Keeping the Wolves at Bay (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Hair of the Dog (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Feral Instinct (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Old Dog New Tricks (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Sleeping Dogs (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Dog Returns (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Gordon Carroll is a literary fiction author who grew up in a mall town overlooking the great Rocky Mountains of Colorado. As an eighteen-year-old, he joined the Marine Corps and went on to serve for more than seven years where he rose to the rank of staff sergeant. He then left the military to go become a police officer working in a small community in Denver Colorado as sheriff’s deputy. Given his love for dogs, it was not long before he was a K9 handler and trainer. Over more than twenty years, he trained three dogs that included Thor a 56-pound Belgian Malinois, JR a 120-pound German shepherd, and Max a 90-pound Belgian Malinois. Gordon and his dogs have been actively involved with the FBI, the DEA, and many other federal, state, and local law enforcement agencies in the apprehension and detection of narcotics and criminals. He has been married for more than three decades to his wife that he met in high school and together they have four children.

Gordon first got interested in books and reading as a sixth-grader when she read ”Call of the Wild” and “White Fang” by Jack London. From there he got hooked into novels and was soon a voracious reader of everything from Card, Robert E. Howard, Lowry, Steinbeck, Rothfuss, Brand, Hunter, King, Craise, Irving, and Wambaugh. However, he never did become an author even though he spent years telling stories to his friends and children until his wife told him that he needed to write them down. Soon after he was writing his stories and sending them to a variety of journals and publications. In no time, his works were featured in a variety of magazines in Christian, mainstream, horror, and science fiction genres. He then went on to write one of his most popular works in “Gunwood USA.” It was a fictionalized compilation of his experiences as a military and law enforcement officer. Gordon is active in writer writing groups such as the Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers. He has also been on speaking panels and has performed at several K9 yearly conferences.

Gordon Carroll’s “Sheepdogs” is the story of a simple guy named Gil Mason that has to deal with complicated problems. Combining Caesar Milan, The Dog Whisperer with Phillip Marlow gives birth to a man with the heart of a Labrador and the courage of a Pit Bull. Gil’s K9 partner Max has several problems he has to deal with. It is a love-hate relationship between the two as the dog loves his master but he has a very strong alpha personality and this instinct makes him want to take over the pack. Gil the needs to locate a teenage boy that had disappeared, believed to have been taken on the orders of a corporate billionaire. He does this even as he has to deal with his feelings of loneliness and guilt over the brutal murder of his family and the stubbornness of his canine. Fists, guns, and brains combine for a brilliant lesson on dog psychology.

“In Hair of the Dog” by Gordon Carroll, Max the dog’s instinct to go total alpha is stronger though he still obeys Gil his master that he loves and rust. Gil is relaxing on his porch when three SUVs drive into the compound full of security. Out walks Senator Marsh who wants the help of Gil in finding a girl that has gone missing. She had been kidnapped and been imprisoned at an unknown place for well over two years though the authorities believe she is being held in Colorado. Gil accepts the assignment but once he starts investigating, he finds clues that point to something more sinister. Every time he locates the kidnapper, several gang bangers belonging to the Chicago Bloods turn up. He believes they are trying to use his experience to locate and kill the kidnapper. The action soon gets heavy and hot and when he finally manages to rescue the girl and takes her back to Chicago, she is kidnapped by the senator. This seems bizarre to Gil and the kidnapper, who now team up and head to Chicago to try to unravel the mystery of why the senator wants to have the girl in his custody and the motives of the Bloods.

“Feral Instinct” by Gordon Carroll is an exciting novel that continues from where the second novel of the Gil Mason series left off. It puts one right in the action with all the violence of the gangs. Pilgrim the dog who was once retired is right back in the action helping his master in his work. The murder that occurred in the second novel is resolved somewhat though Gil still finds it hard to find peace given the huge loss he experienced. Nonetheless, it is a great and positive story as the bad guys get what is coming to them.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Gordon Carroll

15 Responses to “Gordon Carroll”

  1. Trish: 3 months ago

    I really enjoyed your book Sheepdogs Keeping the wolves at bay. The perspective of Max was amazing. Looking forward to the next one💞.

  2. Grant Kistler: 4 months ago

    Hi Gordon, Really enjoy your Gil Mason series. I grew up on Parker RD near Ilif and enjoy it when I recognize streets and areas you mention. You should work the Highline Canal in sometime. I left in 64 for Air Force and never returned and Reside in Washington state. I appreciate accuracy in novels, which you do well. While reading about Gail’s expertise on spaghetti I was impressed that you topped it off with the grated Romano. Well done! Just started book six. God bless you and you family.

  3. Kate Currey: 4 months ago

    I have A Dog Returns, plus the whole series. When is the next in the series coming out. I absolutely love the alpha dog/alpha human relationship and which is evolving in each novel. Also each story is different and refreshing. Please write more …

  4. Linda Shaffer: 10 months ago

    when will the actual book “A Dog Returns” come out. I do not want the ebook or the kindle version. I want the actual book. I have checked Amazon and all they have is the kindle version.

    • Graeme: 10 months ago

      I see it available on paperback on Amazon

  5. Linda C.: 10 months ago

    Have loved all your books, can hardly wait for A Dog Returns.

  6. Ellen Remy: 11 months ago

    Love your Gil Mason series. Can’t wait til A Dog’s Return comes out!

  7. Bev Hollander: 1 year ago

    Let me know when A Dog Returns is out. I love your characters!!!

  8. Janet Robertson: 1 year ago

    I ordered your latest book on 10/25 (kindle)and have not received it Can you please check on this for me.
    Thanks you

    • Graeme: 1 year ago

      Hi Janet – you should contact Amazon about that if you ordered it via there as they will be the only ones who can assist you.

      • Janet Robertson: 1 year ago

        I’ll do that. Frankly I don’t remember if i ordered it from them or not, but I’ll check.

    • Gordon Carroll: 1 year ago

      Hi, Janet
      i just checked my store and you did order book 5, Old Dog New Tricks on Oct 24.
      My store shows the link was emailed immediately after you purchased it but it might have got caught in your spam folder or filters. I’ll email you a new link right away and I’m sorry for the inconvenience and delay❤️


  9. Dorothy Bicandi: 1 year ago

    Absolutely loved this series!!! Can’t wait for the next Gil, Max , and Pilgram adventure!

    • Gordon: 1 year ago

      Just finished first draft of book six, A Dog Returns. Hope to have it out late January❤️

      • Sharla Lawrence: 11 months ago

        Love your series and can’t wait for book six A Dog Returns. When will it be out?



Leave a Reply