Nick Petrie Series

Gordon Doherty Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Empires of Bronze Books

Son of Ishtar (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Dawn of War (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Thunder at Kadesh (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Crimson Throne (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Shadow of Troy (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Dark Earth (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Legionary Books

Legionary (2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Viper of the North (2012)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Land of the Sacred Fire (2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Scourge of Thracia (2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Gods & Emperors (2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Empire of Shades (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Blood Road (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Dark Eagle (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Eagles in the Desert (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Eagles in the Desert is a prequel short story in the Legionary series.

Publication Order of Rise of Emperors Books

with Simon Turney
Sons of Rome (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Masters of Rome (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Gods of Rome (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Strategos Books

Born in the Borderlands (2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Rise of the Golden Heart (2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Island in the Storm (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Assassin's Creed Novelizations Books

Assassin's Creed Odyssey: The Official Novelization (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Anthologies

Rubicon(2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Gordon’s imagination was first fired by travelling around the sun-washed ruins of antiquity in Turkey, Greece and Italy. Already an avid reader of historical fiction as a means of escapism, he realised that putting pen to paper for himself could be an even more powerful way to experience the past for himself.

Several years of research and literary experimentation followed, before he made the breakthrough with the advent of self-publishing. Ironically, this was the key to acquiring an agent and striking several deals with mainstream publishers including Penguin, Head of Zeus, Canelo, WF Howes, Newton Compton and more. His books have since been published in over seventeen languages, worldwide, in eBook, paperback, hardback and audiobook formats.

He now spends his time writing in his Falkirk home, or researching abroad (e.g. ‘The Great Hittite Trail’ research tour: , and endeavours use his literary connections to raise money for Myeloma UK, the blood cancer charity.

‘Legionary’, his first foray, is a soldier’s tale. Set in the Eastern Roman Empire during the 4th century AD, Pavo and the much-disparaged border legions are the first to endure the huge wave of barbarian assaults as the Huns push tribe after tribe against the imperial defences. Pavo will become a man during the titanic struggle, and he will come to realise that the darkest enemies lie not beyond the borders, but within…

‘Strategos’ is a tale of medieval Byzantium, and follows the journey of Apion – a broken orphan boy – in his journey to greatness. It takes in the violent throes of the Byzantine-Seljuk wars, culminating in a battle that will change the course of history… Manzikert!

‘Empires of Bronze’ catapults the reader back into the 2nd millennium BC, an age when four great empires ruled the near east. Chief amongst them was the Hittite Empire. The Hittites were strange people with strange ways, and they would find themselves at the heart of the legendary events of the period: the Battle of Kadesh, the Trojan War, the coming of the Sea Peoples… and the collapse of the Bronze Age itself!

‘Rise of Emperors’ is the story of Constantine. Not Constantine the Great… Constantine the man. It tells the little-known story of his boyhood, and the violent world of persecutions and power struggles in which he came of age. Finally, it recounts the tragic and world-changing military campaign against his childhood friend, Maxentius, for control of the Western Empire.

‘Assassin’s Creed Odyssey’ is the official novelization of the smash-hit video game. Kassandra is a mercenary, a blade for hire, broken by her murky past. She avoids the Peloponesian War, raging on nearby her home island of Kefalonia. Yet the war will not let her be. When fate comes calling, her past, and her future are unveiled amidst the frenzy of battle, and the demons of the past that she faces in the fray.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Gordon Doherty

Leave a Reply