Book Notification

Gossip Girl Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Gossip Girl Books

Gossip Girl (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
You Know You Love Me (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
All I Want is Everything (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Because I'm Worth It (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
I Like It Like That (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
You're the One That I Want (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nobody Does it Better (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nothing Can Keep Us Together (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Only in Your Dreams (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Would I Lie to You (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Don't You Forget About Me (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
It Had to Be You (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
I Will Always Love You (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Psycho Killer (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Chronological Order of Gossip Girl Books

It Had to Be You(2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gossip Girl(2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Psycho Killer(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
You Know You Love Me(2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
All I Want is Everything(2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Because I'm Worth It(2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
I Like It Like That(2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
You're the One That I Want(2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nobody Does it Better(2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nothing Can Keep Us Together(2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Only in Your Dreams(2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Would I Lie to You(2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Don't You Forget About Me(2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
I Will Always Love You(2009)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Gossip Girl: The Carlyles Books

The Carlyles (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
You Just Can't Get Enough (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Take a Chance on Me (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Love the One You're With (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Gossip Girl: The Manga Graphic Novels

For Your Eyes Only, Vol. 1 (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
For Your Eyes Only, Vol. 2 (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
For Your Eyes Only, Vol. 3 (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Nate Archibald first appeared in Cecily von Ziegesar’s book Gossip Girl and the subsequent book in the series by von Ziegesar, including the ghost-written books, with his last appearance being the final book in the series I Will Always Love You. Nate is one of the main male characters in the book series and is a constant subject of affection from many of the female characters. Nate is a character plagued by indecision as well as plagued by inner conflict as he struggles between who he wants to be and who others want him to be.

Nate is introduced as a son to Howard Archibald and Anne Archibald. He seems on the surface to be an overachiever, a lacrosse player at, St. Jude’s School for Boys, and best friends with main characters Chuck Bass, Serena van der Woodsen and Blair Waldorf. His mother is a wealthy French woman and socialite and his father is a wealthy banker. His family resides in a wealthy part of Manhattan on the Upper East Side in a comfortable townhouse of Park Avenue and he spends time in his family’s Summer chateau in Nice that comes from Nate’s French socialite family. Nate constantly feels the pressure of wanting to be his own person while fighting against the life his family wants him to live, which includes going to an Ivy League college, Blair as his wife and the culture of New York’s Upper East Side. Nate is a fan of sailing and expresses interest in pursuing sailing full time away from New York City. Nate smokes large amounts of marijuana and is sent to a rehabilitation center after being caught purchasing the drug during the book series.

Nate serves as a constant presence in the book series as he is the consistent object of affection between main characters Blair Waldorf and Serena van Der Woodsen as well as Jenny Humphrey, the sister of another main character who is named Dan Humphrey. In the beginning of the series in Gossip Girl, Nate has been dating Blair and is about to have an intimate relationship with her when their old friend Serena Van Der Woodsen returns from boarding school and it is revealed that Nate and Serena had sex the previous summer. As a result, Serena dumps Nate and the series of events in the first book unfolds. Nate remains a consistent part of the series as it continues as he develops a relationships with Jenny Humphrey. Jenny Humphrey also attends Constance Billard School for girls, the same school as Blaire and Serena and is an attractive, short brunette. The two become romantic and Jenny falls madly in love with Nate. This relationship turns out for the worse as Jenny becomes quite obsessive with Nate to the point of being dangerous. As a result of the negative experience with Jenny, Nate realizes it was not Jenny who he truly loved but he experiences personal troubles and is sent to rehab as a result of drug indiscretions.

In rehab, Nate meets a new girl named Georgina Spark, a strong individual who is quiet beautiful but who has a dark and manipulative side that is often ruthless with a great talent for scheming. She and Nate spend time together in rehab and form a bond and eventually start dating for a short period of time before Georgina’s wild side proves to be too much for Nate. Nate then becomes the object of Blair and Serena’s affections through the next books in the series as a variety of key events in his life play out. He focuses heavily on his lacrosse career and if he will play the sport in college. Nate is accepted into all of the schools he applied to, including Yale but all the while he hopes to be left alone and escape the pressures of his environment and to be the person he truly wants to be.

In the later books by Cecily von Ziegesar’s Gossip Girl series that were written by her, a constant theme is the love triangle between Nate, Serena and Blair and the dynamics between the three are covered heavily in the books and by the Gossip Girl character. While Nate has feelings for both, and both have feelings for Nate, these conflicting feelings often lead the two best friends, Serena and Blaire at odds and looking to get back at one another despite their long term friendship. While the love triangle continues in these books, Nate eventually ends up with one of the two at the end of high school as the three prepare for the new chapters in their life: attending college. Despite the fact that one of the girls has ended up with Nate at this juncture, this rivalry seems to have softened with the two girls seemingly making amends about the fact that one ended up with Nate.

As the series continued with a ghost writer, it becomes obvious that though Nate is now not with Serena or Blair, they still harbor strong feelings for him. Nate becomes the object of affection for a new love named Tawny and they begin dating, however when Serena and Blair meet her they are not impressed. After breaking off the relationship with Tawny, the love triangle between Serena, Blair and Nate continues throughout the last few books and the familiar pattern of Nate having feelings for both characters that are reciprocated by the two girls continues. As the series ends in I Will Always Love You, the original cast returns to New York after having completed various stages of their life. Blair is studying law, Serena is a movie star and despite their various lives, feelings are still shared between the three. Nate is still stuck in a period of indecision as to who he truly loves and by the end of the book and series a series of events plays out that will settle once and for all who is right for each other.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Gossip Girl

Leave a Reply