Book Notification

Grace Duffield Goodwin Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Way to His Heart (1978)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Promise of the Morning (1979)Description / Buy at Amazon
Love Is the Key (1979)Description / Buy at Amazon
Contract for Love (1980)Description / Buy at Amazon
Love Is My Reason (1982)Description / Buy at Amazon
No More the Honey (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lydia's Daughter (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Dream for Tomorrow (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nurse in the Valley (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nurse at Radleigh (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
In the Chequered Shade (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
By Love Divided (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Touch of Spring Fever (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
Love's Second Blooming (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tell Me, My Heart (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Loved by Aliens(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Very little is known about Grace Duffield Goodwin, besides the fact that she is an author. People that have tried to find her online have no doubt confused her with another, much older, Grace Goodwin.

Grace Duffield Goodwin, unfortunately, goes by Grace Goodwin on the covers of most of her books, which is where the confusion comes from. Though, it doesn’t take most people long to observe the fact that Grace Duffield Goodwin started writing and publishing novels in 1978 while her counterpart lived most of her life in the late 1800s and early 1900s.

The older Goodwin was born in 1869 in Adrian, Michigan in the United States. A student of Bishopthorpe School in Bethlehem Pennsylvania, she couldn’t have been more different from her younger peer.

She came to fame for her staunch anti-suffrage rhetoric. She was determined to debilitate efforts to grant women the right to vote. And rather than simply screaming herself hoarse on the streets at all those within earshot, she made her views heard through her literature, making an effort to lay out all the reasons she believed justly disqualified women from voting.

Grace Duffield Goodwin was nowhere near as famous as the Grace Goodwin of the 1800s. In fact, her renown was further dampened by the emergence of another Grace Goodwin in the 21st Century.

The most recent Grace Goodwin is a bestselling author whose novels have earned her global fame. That Goodwin writes erotic science fiction and fantasy romance. Her books are steamy affairs that feature alpha males fighting to tame the wild tendencies of strong-willed women who, though forced to submit to them physically, refuse to surrender their hearts without a proper fight.

Interestingly enough, Grace Duffield Goodwin’s novels are closer to the works of the 21st Century Grace Goodwin than they are to her counterpart from the 1800s. Like the 21st Century Goodwin, Duffield wrote romance.

However, unlike Goodwin, her books were proper romance. Goodwin’s stories are driven more by the sex than the romance or even the action and adventure that the science fiction and fantasy genres call for.

Her protagonists are perfect specimens, men and women of the utmost physical beauty who have no qualms about having frequent sexual relations with men and women they barely know.

Grace Duffield Goodwin’s novels are dramas more than anything. Her heroines are just ordinary women. Some of them are strong-willed and short-tempered. Some are soft and calm and caring. Others are driven by ambition.

The average Duffield novel always has a female lead as the driving factor of the story. If she isn’t fighting to protect some sort of family undertaking, then she is out in the world trying to start a business, looking for employment, striving to cement her place at work; essentially, she is trying to earn a living, to make her own way.

Duffield makes her women independent. They will take help if it comes but you won’t find them waiting for a man to come along and save them. However, it always takes a man to shake up their lives.

Like her heroines, Duffield makes her heroes a varied bunch. Some of them are strong, hotheaded men who grow to love the heroine the moment they see her and then spend the rest of their story pursuing her even in the face of constant rejection.

Some are mild in temperament, successful, controlled and largely unaware of their true feelings for the heroine or her true feelings for them. These ones have to be nudged by the heroine whose touch proves effective in its ability to draw out the hero’s softer side.

Every so often, Grace Duffield Goodwin will throw a threesome into the mix. Though, again, the scenarios that Duffield creates are not as scandalous as what Grace Goodwin might create in her Interstellar Brides series.

Duffield’s lack of visibility hasn’t done good things for the sales of her novels. The author has no online presence to speak off. Do not expect to stumble upon any Grace Duffield Goodwin websites or even social media accounts.

While she was significantly active as a writer in the 1980s and early 90s, even her presence on the publishing landscape began to wane in the late 90s. Surprisingly enough, even though her voice all but faded at the turn of the century, Duffield novels are still available for purchase.

Though, your best bet would be to go trawling for them on websites like Amazon because your chances of stumbling upon a Grace Duffield Goodwin hardcover in your local bookstore are nonexistent.

Despite having produced over a dozen novels in the romance and drama genres, it could be argued that the author left no mark to speak of on the literary arena. There are few casual or avid readers you will meet that have ever heard of Duffield, let alone read her books.

+Promise of the Morning
Jan Winters’ life is far from perfect. She is just a young girl and yet she is expected to weather so much responsibility. This includes steering a relatively engaging business that she must keep afloat until her father comes back and takes over.

Jan would love nothing better than to find help and support in the arms of her fiancé Robert. But Robert’s responsibilities frequently clash with hers. The situation isn’t necessarily improving Jan’s opinion of marriage.

The girl cannot help but wonder whether or not she has the strength to adjust to the restrictions that her union with Robert could bring. Things are made more complicated by the handsome Paul Gibson.

Gibson’s kindness frequently compels him to offer assistance to Jan but she doesn’t know how to view his offers without suspicion.

+Love is the Key
When Tess Eliot lands her new job, she is ready to do everything in her power to succeed. But then she meets Alan Westward and things grow complicated.

Alan is the manager at Tess’ new job. He is also an enigma. From what Tess can tell, he has the heart of Sara Hamilton, the firm’s owner. But she cannot discern anything else about him besides the fact that she can never seem to please him.

But that won’t stop her from trying to get under his skin. Tess is young and impulsive. She is also the caring kind.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Grace Duffield Goodwin

Leave a Reply