Book Notification

Grace Hitchcock Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of American Royalty Books

My Dear Miss Dupré (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Her Darling Mr. Day (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
His Delightful Lady Delia (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Aprons & Veils Books

The Finding of Miss Fairfield (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Pursuit of Miss Parish (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Hearts of Gold Books

Hearts of Gold (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

To Catch a Coronet (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Miss Beaumont's Companion (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of True Colors Books

The White City (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Pink Bonnet (By: Liz Tolsma) (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Yellow Lantern (By: Angie Dicken) (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Gray Chamber (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Blue Cloak (By: Shannon McNear) (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Green Dress (By: Liz Tolsma) (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Black Midnight (By: Kathleen Y'Barbo) (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Red Ribbon (By: Pepper D. Basham) (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Gold Digger (By: Liz Tolsma) (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Purple Nightgown (By: A.D. Lawrence) (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Silver Shadow (By: Liz Tolsma) (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Scarlet Pen (By: Jennifer Uhlarik) (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Second Chance Brides Collection(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Grace Hitchcock is a published American author. She lives with her husband and son in southern Louisiana.

Hitchcock is known for writing part of the True Colors series from Barbour Publishing, which includes the books The White City as well as The Gray Chamber. She has also put together several novellas that were included in various collections.

She has always had a passion for reading. When she was younger, going on a trip to her local library would be one of her favorite things to do. She would even consecutively read books housed on the shelves of the historical fiction genre until she had worked through all of the books.

Hitchcock relates that the written word and the power that came with it had always made an impact on her. Early on, she knew that she had a desire to be a writer herself. Grace even composed an initial first fictional novel when she was in high school as a senior as part of a project for English. Even though she doesn’t feel that it has stood the test of time and the sentence structure is far from perfect, she enjoyed writing the book so much that when it came to college, it steered her in the direction of creative writing.

Once enrolled in college, she decided that her major would be in creative writing while she would take on a minor in history. She decided to continue in school and get her Masters degree in the field of creative writing. She also had graduated with her B.A. in English and history minor. For her creative writing thesis, she composed part of a book and then finished it once done with school. While it was an accomplishment, the author knew that she was going to have to make another attempt if she wanted to get published.

The author looked at the market and settled on an era that she enjoyed. Finding her story, she worked on it for half of a year until it was done. The Victorian themed book was able to get her a signing with her literary agent at an agency. The author continued to be on a roll as she was able to finish and sell three of her novellas.

In 2019, Grace Hitchcock’s first full length fictional novel came out. It is titled The White City. This would be followed up with her second fictional novel release in January of 2020 with her novel The Gray Chamber. If you are a reader that enjoys historical fiction then these are great selections for you to check out! They are part of the True Colors series, which focuses on American romance and crime with historically-influenced stories.

The White City is the first fictional book to come out from Grace Hitchcock. When disappearances mysteriously occur out of nowhere at the World’s Fair in Chicago, it threatens to put a dark spot on the good name of the fair. With so many people showing up at these large public gatherings, things eventually are bound to happen– even abduction.

The year is 1893 and Winnifred Wylde is at the Chicago World’s Fair. She’s there for the same reason that everyone else is, to experience the fair and to overall have a good time. But while she is there, something definitely goes astray of the normal experience. Winnifred thinks that she sees a woman that is being kidnapped and nothing can convince her otherwise.

She is so unsettled by what she has seen that it is her duty to try and do something about it. To that extent, she tries to get her father involved. He is an inspector and works for the Chicago police, so naturally he is the ideal person to try and get involved. She suggests that he try to look into White City’s disappearances, because there have been several reports by now on this topic.

Her father is Inspector Wylde, and while he hears her out, he also decides to put her concerns to the side. He thinks that these are just examples of an imagination that got too active while at the fair. However, he eventually decides to give at least some credence to the claims as legitimate. To that extent, he decides to allow his daughter to pose as a secretary while going undercover.

She’ll be playing secretary to the very person that she suspects. Her father’s only demands for the gig is that she takes a pistol along with her and a bodyguard named Jude Thorpe, also a part of the police force. She’s to look into the activities of this H.H. Holmes. Will Winnifred find out anything about his dealings or will she be unlucky enough to become the next victim of this man? Pick up this unique historical mystery novel to find out!

The Gray Chamber is another installment of the True Colors series, novels about American crime involving history by Grace Hitchcock.

Readers will follow the story of Edyth Foster in this interesting novel. She’s a young woman that has had bad fortune in life in some ways. Her parents passed away while she was relatively young, but they also left her a fortune. It will be managed by her uncle until 1887 when she turns 25.

Edyth has always felt free to be herself. This situation in particular allows her to be independent and not feel that she’s pressured into being what society expects of her or having to marry another man. Meanwhile, she likes to pursue her passions and hobbies, which include riding a velocipede in a cycling costume or fencing.

But when her uncle discovers a loophole in her parent’s will, he somehow is able to have her sent to a lunatic asylum for women. This happens only weeks before Edyth’s scheduled birthday and the New York hospital on Blackwell’s Island is the place where she’s held while her uncle has full control over the will.

Scared she won’t be found, she finds solidarity with another inmate. That is Nellie Bly, who tells her that she’s secretly a journalist there undercover. She may be able to help Edyth with her situation. But will she be able to leave and claim her life and independence once more? Read The Gray Chamber to find out!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Grace Hitchcock

Leave a Reply