Book Notification

Graham J. Parry Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Waves of War Books

The Waves Of War (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
When D-day Dawns (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Man Of War (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fighting Command (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
In Time Of Battle (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
We Soldiers Few (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Graham JohnParry Standalone Novels

A Spy In All But Name (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Graham J. Parry
Graham John Parry is a former member of the British Armed Forces and has got a long held interest in the military history of WWII. Having traveled widely in the service of his country, he quit roaming eventually and settled down in the idyllic surroundings of rural England.

Inquiries into Naval Operations in the English Channel inspired him to write his first novel in a series about the exploits of Lieutenant Commander Richard Thorburn RN.

It was then that he first put pen to paper, and after the successful launch of his first novel, continued writing and publishing a thrilling series of wartime adventures.

Married with two kids, two grandchildren, and a mischievous small dog, he works and lives not too far from the great battlements of Dover Castle and close to the waters of the English Channel.

“The Waves of War” is the first novel in the “Waves of War” series and was released in 2015. During the summer of 1940, a defeated Europe lies in Nazi Germany’s hands. Britain stands all alone. Under threat of imminent invasion, it is the Royal Navy and their fight in the English Channel which keeps the enemy at bay.

Into such dangerous waters as these comes the new destroyer HMS Brackendale, and Richard Thorburn, her rebellious young commander. His orders are to take the fight right to the enemy, to ‘Seek, Engage, and Destroy’. Without much preparation, Thorburn finds that he’s getting thrown into the desperate and close range skirmishes of the narrow seas.

From the Straits of Dover to the northwest of France, from east to west, they are facing a ruthless foe. For Thorburn, when he is given the challenge of a hazardous and new mission, devotion to their duty calls. In spearheading a clandestine operation, the crew, the ship, and her captain are always in danger, deep inside waters get pushed to the very limits of their endurance. Bravery is the order of the day.

The central character is balanced between realistic assessment and psychological doubt of his abilities. Battle scenario was well written, and Graham does a great job of weaving an excellent story without padding the story with lurid sex scenes or excessive swearing to achieve realistic action. The depth of his character development was simply splendid. Readers enjoyed learning all about the Hunt class destroyers.

“When D-Day Dawns” is the second novel in the “Waves of War” series and was released in 2016. June of 1944. A battle weary and small Royal Navy destroyer gets recalled from the war torn seas of the English Channel and gets assigned to this crucial operation, which has been codenamed ‘Neptune’.

For Lieutenant Commander Richard Thorburn, the former rebellious yet now wiser and older captain of HMS Brackendale, the desperate confusion of savage combat awaits. All primed for the bloody assault on the beaches of Nazi occupied Europe, he and his ship’s company are standing ready for the trials ahead of them.

Once battle commences, it’ll be the indomitable spirit of a few, suffered by many, and shared by all, which is going to determined the outcome for Hitler’s much acclaimed Atlantic Wall. This here then is their courageous fight to survive.

Graham delivers an engaging tale revolving around some great characters that we have come to know so well and the story moves along at a fantastic pace.

“Man of War” is the third novel in the “Waves of War” series and was released in 2018. 1942. The Royal Navy finds itself being threatened by this powerful new adversary. Thinly stretched across half of the world’s oceans, the Admiralty turns to the small ships of Coastal Command.

In answer to the call, Lt-Cdr Richard Thorburn, the maverick skipper of the tiny destroyer HMS Brackendale, steps forward to fill the breech. In a time of desperate need, he is once more going to do battle in the turbulent waves of war.

“Fighting Command” is the fourth novel in the “Waves of War” series and was released in 2020. They said that she was way past her prime, just fit for the scrapyard. However after four long years the small destroyer had more than proved her worth. Now, in September 1944, three months after D-Day, HMS Brackendale gets ready to slip from her moorings and take passage for hostile waters.

And even though the Allied Armies are gaining ground across enemy occupied territory, elsewhere the Nazi war machine is still far from being beaten. For Lt-Cdr Richard Thorburn, and his whole Ship’s Company, the war at sea rages on. While they go back to battle, Thorburn can just promise a perilous and uncertain future.

“In Time of Battle” is the fifth novel in the “Waves of War” series and was released in 2023. 1941. The Royal Navy are hard pressed to hold the enemy at bay. The Nazi army has been dominating Europe and in the North Atlantic U-boats strike at will. From the North Sea, down through the English Channel and into the Bay of Biscay, the fight for naval supremacy is hard fought.

For Lt-Cdr Richard Thorburn, Captain of the small Hunt class destroyer HMS Brackendale, the war’s become a never ending series of dangerous missions. Having once again been summoned on short notice, he finds himself thrust into this battle where compassion, duty, and raw courage are going to be tested to the max.

“We Soldiers Few” is the sixth novel in the “Waves of War” series and was released in 2024. June of 1944. 24 men of the 5th Parachute Brigade, 6 th Airborne, under Major Paul Wingham’s command, get sent off on a crucial mission deep behind enemy lines.

With the odds stacked firmly against them, this gallant band of men get confronted suddenly by this elite force of Panzergrenadiers. This is the story of their fight to survive. Assaulted by some of the savage waves of this bloody war, they face the violent fury of a savage attack. Alone and cut off, short on ammo, and desperately outnumbered, bravery is yet again the order of the day.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Graham J. Parry

Leave a Reply