Book Notification

Graham Salisbury Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Calvin Coconut Books

Publication Order of Prisoners of the Empire Books

Under the Blood-Red Sun (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Eyes of the Emperor (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
House of the Red Fish (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hunt for the Bamboo Rat (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Blue Skin of the Sea (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shark Bait (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jungle Dogs (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lord of the Deep (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Night of the Howling Dogs (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Banjo (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Collections

Publication Order of Laurel-Leaf Books

The Day They Came to Arrest the Book (By: Nat Hentoff) (1982)Description / Buy at Amazon
Living Up the Street (By: Gary Soto) (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon
Father Water, Mother Woods (By: Gary Paulsen) (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Unlikely Romance of Kate Bjorkman (By: Louise Plummer) (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ghost Boy (By: Iain Lawrence) (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Jumping Tree (By: René Saldaña Jr.) (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Under the Mermaid Angel (By: Martha Moore) (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

No Easy Answers(1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dirty Laundry: Stories About Family Secrets(1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Destination Unexpected: Short Stories(2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Open Your Eyes(2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Unexpected(2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tomo: Friendship Through Fiction(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Graham Salisbury
Graham Salisbury was born in Philadelphia on April 11 and grew up on the islands of Hawaii and Oahu. He comes from a line of newspapermen a century long, each associated with the Honolulu Advertiser.

He graduated from California State University, Northridge, and got his MFA degree from Vermont College of Norwich University. He was a member of the founding faculty of Vermont College’s incredibly successful MFA program in Writing for Children, now the Union Institute & University.

Graham decided to become a writer, rather than reporter because he enjoys writing about characters that might have been. For him, exploring fictional themes, lives, and situations is an experience that is quietly exhilarating. Some completely unexpected happenings will take place while his finger tips are walking the keyboard, things that make him laugh or get very choked up or even amaze him.

Besides being a writer, he has also worked as the skipper of a glass-bottom boat, as a Montessori elementary school teacher, and a deckhand on a deep-sea charter fishing boat. His rock group, The Millennium, had a number one hit which Graham wrote. He has surfed with a shark, swam for his life from a moray eel, got stung several times by a Portuguese man-of-war. Graham had not seen snow until he was nineteen years old and did not wear shoes until the sixth grade.

“Blue Skin of the Sea” won the PEN/Norma Klein Award.

Graham’s debut novel, called “Blue Skin of the Sea”, was released in the year 1992. He writes the “Calvin Coconut” series and his work is from the young adult and children’s fiction genres.

“Shark Bait” is the third stand alone novel and was released in the year 1997. Mokes has a major problem: should he stand by one of his old friends or obey his dad? When a Navy ship drops its anchor off the coast of his Hawaiian village, Mokes’ father gives him a curfew. He does not want Mokes spending time out in the village after dark when the rowdy sailors are going to be out dancing, drinking, and looking for trouble.

However, Mokes’ buddy Booley plans his revenge on one sailor, how could Mokes miss out on this action? Complicating things even further are two things: Mokes’ father is not just any dad: he just so happens to be the chief of police. Even worse, Mokes just realized that his buddy might have stolen his dad’s favorite gun.

“Banjo” is a stand alone novel that was released in the year 2019. Danny Mack is a rising rodeo star in rural Oregon. He lives out on a ranch with his older brother, their father, and Banjo, his faithful border collie.

Late this one night, Danny gets awakened by some gunshots, and Banjo is wounded. Neighbors claim that he was going after their livestock, which gives them the right to shoot this dog or have him put down. Dad agrees reluctantly. They have to obey the law. Danny realizes that Banjo is really innocent, and puts together a desperate plan to save him, however something goes horribly wrong.

Days go by, on a distant ranch, Meg Harris discovers a frightened dog all alone in the woods. It is Banjo. She takes him home and hunts for the owner of the dog, furious that he was abandoned. She is not going to give him up that easily.

The novel explores the deep connection between animals and humans, and reminds you that you cannot judge an animal, or a person for that matter, before you know their story.

“Trouble Magnet” is the first novel in the “Calvin Coconut” series and was released in the year 2009. A humorous chapter book about one fourth-grade boy, filled with the fun of growing up in Hawaii.

Calvin Coconut lives close to the beach in Kailua, Hawaii, with his little sister and his mom, as well as all of his buddies. His mom tells him that he is the man of the house, which means that he has to be responsible. He tries. But fun, along with trouble, follow him wherever he goes. Even in the classroom, which is also known as Mr. Purdy’s Fourth-Grade Boot Camp.

And just how can he be the man of the man of the house after the teenage Stella-from-Texas shows up to be the live-in babysitter and proceeds to steps all over Cal’s turf?

“The Zippy Fix” is the second novel in the “Calvin Coconut” series and was released in the year 2009. Calvin Coconut must fix things with Stella, and fast!

Stella from Texas has now become an official member of the Coconut household. As getting one bossy babysitter wasn’t bad enough for Calvin, Stella teases him mercilessly. What is a nine-year-old boy to do? Calvin decides he will “fix” her, and dumps Zippy, his neighbor’s cat on her bed, knowing that she is allergic. However when she breaks out in hives and misses her first big date, he realizes that this “zippy fix” went a bit too far. He must make it up to her, and decides he will give her a birthday present. However he doesn’t have money.

Along with the aid from some of his loyal friends and younger sister, Darci, he works hard, and comes up with just enough cash to give her the best birthday present ever.

“Dog Heaven” is the third novel in the “Calvin Coconut” series and was released in the year 2010. What do you truly want so badly you’re able to taste it, and could you persuade somebody to give it to you? That is the subject of one writing assignment Calvin’s teacher, Mr. Purdy, gives to the class. Calvin wants a dog! He reads what he wrote up to his mother to see how persuasive he can be. No way, as Stella, their babysitter, could be allergic, and Calvin is much too irresponsible to care for a pet.

Ledward, mom’s boyfriend, takes Calvin’s side, luckily. He takes Calvin off to a place he calls dog heaven. There Calvin meets Streak, the dog of his dreams. Now Calvin must convince Mom that he is dog-responsible, because Streak and he simply belong together.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Graham Salisbury

Leave a Reply