Book Notification

Grimm Diaries Prequel Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Grimm Diaries Prequels Books

Snow White Blood Red (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ashes to Ashes and Cinder to Cinder (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Beauty Never Dies (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ladle Rat Rotten Hut (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mary Mary Quite Contrary (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood Apples (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Once Beauty Twice Beast (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Moon and Madly (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rumpelstein (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jawigi (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Happy Valentine's Slay (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tooth & Nail & Fairy Tale (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ember in the Wind (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jar of Hearts (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Snow White Black Swan (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Pumpkin Piper (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Prince of Puppets (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sleeping Swan (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Friday the 13th (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fisherman's Son (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lady Bluebeard (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Thirteen Years of Snow (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sun, Moon & Sorrow (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Spindle Spindle Little Star (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Grimm Diaries Books

Snow White Sorrow (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cinderella Dressed in Ashes (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood, Milk & Chocolate - Part 1 (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood, Milk & Chocolate - Part 2 (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Grimm Diaries Prequel series is a popular series based on the young adult and paranormal romance genres. It is written by one of the noteworthy authors from The United States named Cameron Jace. This series is comprised of a total of 24 books and 2 novellas, which were released between the years 2012 and 2016. Author Jace wrote this series as a prequel to the original Grimm Diaries series, which consisted of only 4 books. The series continues to depict the fact that fairy tales exist in the present times in a world filled with the Dreamhunters. As the series progresses, the fairy tales keep getting exposed and the Dreamhunters are shown as being able to access the dreams of immortal people. They belong to a kind of human race who hunt the demons in fairy tales such as the Evil Queen and help to awaken the protagonists like Snow White from their sleep to unravel the truth of the fairy stories and the origins that are kept hidden from the civilization. In the introductory sequence of the prequel series, author Jace has mentioned that several scattered and random pages are found from the Grimm Diaries that were not included in the main diaries consisting of 7 volumes. Each of the entries in the diaries is written by a new character, different from the previous one. Author Jace says that the purpose of these diaries is to give the readers an idea about what they should expect from the characters and the series. Jace has opened the series by asking the tricking question to the readers what if all they knew about the fairy tales was incorrect. The prequel books are described in the form of snapshots of a land full of magic. The stories are mainly written as short books describing epistolary entries in a diary. The first 6 diary entries are told by Peter Pan, Prince Charming, Evil Queen, Alice Grimm, the Devil, and Little Riding Hood.

The debut book of the Grimm Diaries Prequel series written by author Cameron Jace was released under the title of ‘Snow White Blood Red’. It was self published by author Jace in the year 2012. The plot of this book is narrated by Snow White Queen herself. At the start of the book, the Evil Queen is described asking the readers why they never asked about her name. This always made her wonder. She kept thinking what could be the reason behind looking so superficial to the readers. Also, why so mundane and superficial. Evil Queen asks all those who know the fairy tale story that why they treat her as a monster who cause atrocities on the weaker ones. And then she goes on to say that no one really had the time to actually hate her. They started hating her even before they actually met her. She is shown having the feeling that everyone wanted to scrape her existence as well as avenge their childhood princess by putting all the blame of her. After laying all the accuses the Queen goes on to say that what if she was not called the Evil Queen at all. And what will the readers do when they learned the real story from her viewpoint and not from the point of view of Snow White. She asks whether she will ever be considered like an angel if her true nature was revealed in front of everyone. The Evil Queen also says that she is adored by the readers deep inside their hearts, but they just seemed afraid to accept the fact about how much they love her. This story narrated by the Evil Queen serves as a teaser to for the original series written by author Jace. It allows the readers to have a glimpse of what the series is actually going to be.

The next book published in the series is titled as ‘Ashes to Ashes & Cinder to Cinder’. Author Jace once again self published it as a Kindle edition in 2012. The main character depicted in this book is Alice Grimm, who is also the narrator of the interesting story from his viewpoint. In the opening sequence of the book, author Jace has introduced Alice Grimm as a 17 year old girl living a dangerous and enchanted life. In addition to getting distracted by one of the dreamhunters named Loki Blackstar, she has a number of other jobs to do in her life. Loki Blackstar is described as having a golden, but tends to act like a loser. Alice Grimm learns that she belongs to the Brothers Grimm descendents and so she is one among the few from the whole world who are able to locate the characters of the fairy stories and remind them about who they actually are. During one such search mission of the fairy tale characters, she goes to Venice. There, she comes to know about the old skeleton of more than 800 year old witch. When the archaeologists came across the skeleton, it was surrounded by 17 glass slippers. The presence of glass slippers was not a shocking thing as the skeleton was found in a city that is known to have invented the glassblowing art. Alice Grimm is joined by Loki Blackstar in her search.

The two follow the important lead and come across one of the fairy-story characters that Alice had been looking for since very long. This character is discovered to be a famous girl who was known by her character’s name, Cinderella, in the stories, but no one actually knew what happened to this girl. But, with her discovery Alice Grimm is expected to reveal everything and let the readers know about the true story that they never really got the chance to know about. Author Jace has depicted the relationship between Loki and Alice as that of love and hate. A number of readers liked the references given to the pop culture. And the fact that author Jace has weaved the plot by included several Disney classics made it even more enjoyable to read. The critics believed that it was quite clever of author Jace to link the events in Cinderella’s story showed by Disney to the actual storyline of this book. The notes given by Cameron Jace at the end of the book show that he has done a lot of research work on the fairy tales as well as some major historical events. And the way he has connected all the events in the book seems very interesting.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Grimm Diaries Prequel

Leave a Reply