Book Notification

Grisha Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Grisha Books

Shadow and Bone / The Gathering Dark (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Witch of Duva (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Too-Clever Fox (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Siege and Storm (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Little Knife (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ruin and Rising (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Demon in the Wood (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Chronological Order of Grisha Books

The Demon in the Wood(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Witch of Duva(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shadow and Bone / The Gathering Dark(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Siege and Storm(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Too-Clever Fox(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Little Knife(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ruin and Rising(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Grishaverse Books

By: Leigh Bardugo, Dani Pendergast
The Language of Thorns: Midnight Tales and Dangerous Magic (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lives of Saints (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Demon in the Wood (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Grisha series is a trilogy set mainly in the fictional country of Ravka. It’s an entirely lavish world of its own where science and superstition merge impeccably. A form of magic known as The Small Science exists in Ravka. The powerful practitioners of this magic with the ability to wield it are known as Grisha and are considered an exclusive class in society. The Grisha, also known as Soldiers of the Second Army, are the magical elite with an imposing power to manipulate matter at levels of its highest standard. The rest with no capability of possessing The Small Science are known by the term Otkazat’sya. They function in their conventional way of life as shopkeepers, soldiers and laborers of Ravka.

The first book in Leigh Bardugo’s fantasy-adventure Grisha trilogy is Shadow and Bone. Shadow and bone introduces us to the great magical country of Ravka which has been torn apart by the Shadow Fold. This fold is a large void clammed with darkness. It was brought into existence by the Black Heretic in the process of sating his greed for power. Ravka is surrounded by a sea of enemies and the Shadow Fold crawls with man-eating monsters in the impenetrable darkness. The future of the war-ravaged Ravka now depends solely on the impact of one lonely refugee; Alina Starkov.

Alina doesn’t look forward to much in her life. She was orphaned by the border wars and the only person she could rely on was Mal, her best friend and fellow refugee. Alina and Mal grew up at a kind duke’s estate as orphans. After neither of them revealed any aptitude as a Grisha, they were both drafted into the First Army and sent on a risky mission in the Fold. Mal was a proficient tracker while Alina studied the cartographer’s maps.

Alina Starkov is a character to admire, although not entirely, but she is someone you will always root for; she’s prickly, insecure and ordinary. She has never shined at anything but the attack of her regiment and injure of her best friend Mal at the Shadow Fold is what ignites the spark in her. She discovers a dormant power in her that saves their lives, a power she had never known she was in possession of. Could this power possibly be the key to setting the war-ravaged Ravka free of its woes?

Following this amazing discovery, Alina is taken away from all she had ever known and forwarded to the Royal Court. She is trained as a member of the magical elite Grisha that’s led by the mystifying Darkling. Darkling is an almost deity; an omnipotent Grisha with ability to call and manipulate the dark. He believes that Alina holds the answer to what everyone in Ravka has been hoping for; the chosen person to destroy the Shadow Fold.

Alina comes to realize that their world of luxury is only an illusion and not what it seems. She is envied by many as the Darkling’s favorite and now without Mal by her side, her struggle to fit into her new life doesn’t at all prove easy. The darkness looms further yet the whole kingdom depends on her feral power. But as the existing threat to the kingdom builds up, she unearths a secret that sets her against the mightiest powers of the kingdom. She has to confront the secrets of her own heart to save all dear to her. Only her own past can save her… and only she holds the answer to the future.

Shadow and Bone is simply compelling. Leigh Bardugo’s Russian inspired setting, deep description and warmth added to the characters bring the book to dramatic life. It reflects everything you would look for in a fantasy book. The story flows in beauty at a moderate pace. The romance is also holds strongly. Alina’s relationship with Mal is wonderfully realistic and raises tension in the reader’s mind. Mal is breathtaking and an interest worth Alina’s affection. In September 2012, DreamWorks secured the production rights to Shadow and Bone. David Heyman will produce the Shadow and Bone film.

Siege and Storm is the second and middle novel in the Grisha Sequel. It introduces a new setting; the True Sea. Alina and Mal have been on the run in an unfamiliar land but it hits them that they can’t hide from Darkling for long. Darkling has surfaced from the Shadow Fold with a horrifying new power and startling plans to shake the natural world beyond control. He makes his appearance early in the book but he does not play a huge part this time round.

A new mysterious character called Sturmhond is introduced as captain of his ship. He is exceptionally cunning and absolutely devious to make up for the reduced appearances of Darkling. The hype attached to Sturmhond by many fantasy readers is because of the twist that engulfs him. It’s something no one misses. We also learn more about the location of Ravka and its politics.

The book starts off at a rather fast pace. The middle encompasses a large battle and romantic drama. The romance is engaging at first but trails of as a bit overdramatic and almost unrealistic. For instance, Alina is torn between three romantic potentials. This sounds a too much even for a romance enthusiast. She keeps leaning towards Mal but their relationships can’t handle Alina’s destiny. The couple comes out as quite insecure.

Alina is haunted by the lives she took on the Fold as she makes her way across the True Sea. Will she succeed in making a new life with Mal? She gets the assistant of a disreputable privateer and returns to Ravka, determined to battle the forces molding on Ravka. As her power swells, Alina gets more embedded in Darkling’s game of magic but loosens the bond with Mal. In her own way, she has to choose between her patriotism to her country, the thrill in her magical power or the love she always sought.

The Grisha series is a remarkable and spellbinding artwork. Leigh Bardugo beautifully creates a unique world full of twists and which is very distinctive. The perfect blend of action, fantasy and romance leaves you with no choice but to plead for more. The series draws every fantasy reader into a richly imagined world and refuses to let go until the last page is turned. The Grisha trilogy is definitely a creation to keep emotions of a fantasy enthusiast heightened through the luxurious magical adventure.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Grisha

Leave a Reply