Book Notification

Guardians of Ga’Hoole Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Guardians Of Ga'Hoole Books

By: Kathryn Lasky
The Capture (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Journey (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Rescue (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Siege (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Shattering (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
The First Collier (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hatchling (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
To Be a King (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The River of Wind (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Golden Tree (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Exile (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The War of the Ember (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Burning (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Outcast (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Coming of Hoole (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Rise of a Legend (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Chronological Order of Guardian Of Ga'Hoole Books

The Rise of a Legend is a prequel in the Guardian of Ga'Hoole series.

Publication Order of Guardians Of Ga'Hoole Guide Books

By: Kathryn Lasky, Kathryn Huang
A Guide Book to the Great Tree (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lost Tales of Ga'Hoole (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon

Guardians of Ga’Hoole is a sixteen book fantasy series following the adventures of a young barn owl named Soren and his family. The stories in the series involve magic and talking animals and allegorically tell the tale of a child forced to head out on his own and find himself. Along the way Soren makes new friends, encounters mysterious dangers, and attempts to find his way back home, growing up and finding his place in the world along the way. The first six books of the series cover the adventures of Soren while the remaining books follow the adventures of Soren’s nephew Coryn who is also known as Nyroc. Director Zack Snyder adapted the first three books into the animated movie Legends of the Guardians: The Owls of Ga’Hoole which was also adapted into a video game.

A barn owl named Soren is the central character of the story and he hails from the Kingdom of Tyto where he was born as the son of Noctus and Marella. He is the middle child of the couple, with an older brother and older brother Kludd and a younger sister Eglantine. Soren is the subject of his older brother’s bullying but is clearly an owlet destined for bigger and better things. The young owl has a magical gift, that of starsight which allows him to see glimpses of the future in his dreams. The series Guardians of Ga’Hoole follows the life of Soren, from a young owlet to an adult owl with a mate and family of his own and shows the trials and tribulations facing any youngster as he or she develops through adolescence.

At the start of the first book of the series, The Capture, Soren is pushed out of his family’s nest by Kludd and helplessly left alone after his parents do not hear his cries for help. Before long he is taken captive by a group of owls from St. Aegolius Academy for Orphaned Owls, usually referred to as St. Aggie’s, and is forced to join the ranks of other enslaved owls who are forced to do menial tasks like sorting eggs. Soren discovers that the young owls at St. Aggie’s have been moon blinked, or brainwashed, and lost their own identities and free will. Fortunately, Soren is resistant to moon blinking and soon befriends another resistant owl, a female named Gylfie. The two become fast friends and begin a quest not only to escape but to discover the true purpose of the evil owls of St. Aggie’s and to stop them.

Along the way Soren and Gylfie befriend a variety of other owls including spotted owls and burrow owls, and also meet other birds like the mighty bald eagles and the terrifyingly evil vampire bats. The world outside of Soren’s parents’ nest proves to be populated by wondrous friends and enemies and an omnipresent danger that seems to pursue the birds at every step. Soon Soren and Gylfie find themselves teamed up with two other friends, Twilight and Digger, with whom they form The Band. The four owls have distinct characteristics which allow them to work together perfectly: Soren is the thinker and planner; Gylfie is the smart owl; Twilight is more knowledgeable of the world and street-smart; and Digger who possesses more strength than the others. The story of the four owls forming a bond, overcoming their differences, and working together is just as important and engaging as the story of their all-important quest. The Band as a whole encounter a variety of challenges that may or may not be faced by children and even adults, and reading about the four owlets and the way they comfort one another in times of sadness, lift each other up in times of joy, and aid each other when facing great challenges is engrossing and important to readers of all ages.

Eventually, the owls learn of the mythical Great Ga’Hoole Tree and set out to find it, where they are told they will find knight owls who are committed to performing good deeds. The knight owls, known as the Guardians of Ga’Hoole help train Soren and his friends and allow them to stay at the Great Ga’Hoole Tree. Members of The Band find new roles as they mix in with the Guardians of Ga’Hoole and readers have the opportunity to look in on the owlets as they grow and find their true purpose in the world. The series develops as it follows the confrontation between the good Guardians of Ga’Hoole and the evil Pure Ones, barn owls who are bent on taking over the universe.

Author Kathryn Lasky has won the Newberry Award and is the author of more than one hundred books. She took a life-long interest in owls and ornithology and used that knowledge to weave an intricate tale of good versus evil in a magical world populated by her favorite birds. She lives in Cambridge, Massachusetts, not far from Harvard University where she frequents the department of ornithology. Ms. Lasky writes a wide variety of books aside from the Guardians of Ga’Hoole series including books for adults.

The Guardians of Ga’Hoole series has not only been adapted into a popular animated movie and video game, but it has also produced other individual books and spin-off series set in the same universe as that of the original series. Children and adults who fall in love with the first book clearly have plenty more to delve into in the future, making Guardians of Ga’Hoole an amazing series to encourage youngsters to read. Additionally, the series has been praised for its themes of friendship, self-confidence, identifying and using one’s talents for good, and leadership. The values promoted in the story are always presented in an entertaining and symbolic way so as never to sound preachy and always manage to advance the story. Parents love reading the story with their children and the richness of the character development along with the fast-paced action keep readers of all ages coming back for more.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Guardians of Ga’Hoole

Leave a Reply