Book Notification

Guardians of the Flame Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Guardians of the Flame Books

The Sleeping Dragon (1983)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sword and the Chain (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Silver Crown (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Heir Apparent (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Warrior Lives (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Road to Ehvenor (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Road Home (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Not Exactly the Three Musketeers (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Not Quite Scaramouche (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Not Really The Prisoner of Zenda (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Guardians of the Flame” by Joel Rosenberg is a fantasy series. The series is the biggest piece of work that Rosenberg ever wrote in his life, most of his readers believe. It features some college students that get pulled into the world of the fantasy role playing game by their game master. These seven college students are around for the first seven books, and then other characters take over. Some of the seven have cameos or supporting roles in the final three books.

There are seven students that are transported to this world. Six stick around for quite a while. One of which is Karl Cullinane. He is the leader of this group that came from the Other Side (which is planet Earth). Through his transition, he gets many new fighting powers that make him quite strong.

Another of the students is Walter Slovotsky. Through the transition, he became an expert in thieving, including his ability to sneak. He becomes Karl’s right hand man, and is a benefit due to his knowledge of agriculture.

Louis Riccetti is the third student. When he reached This Side, he was a strong wizard named Aristobulous. He vowed to advance This Side more technologically speaking; using his engineering knowledge to pull this off.

The fourth student is James Michael Finnegan (also called Ahira). On Earth, he had muscular dystrophy, but becomes a dwarf berserker with much power on This Side. For this reason, he is one of the few that prefers life on This Side.

Andrea Andropolous is another student. In the transition, she became an amateur wizard, and later becomes pretty powerful in the art of wizardry. Throughout the books, she becomes more important, and her role is bigger and bigger to reflect this. At first, she is only seen when Karl is Home or the Imperial Castle.

Doria Perlstein is the sixth student. She gets cleric abilities when they all change over. She later takes up residence with the Cullinanes.

Jason Parker (or Einar Lightfingers) an Other Side student, and is a one handed thief on This Side.

“The Sleeping Dragon” is the first novel in the “Guardians of the Flame” series and was released in the year 1983. It started as just another evening of gaming for James, Karl, Andrea, and others. They were about to get the game underway and get into their roles as thief, wizard, warrior, and cleric. Professor Deighton (their game master with a sorcerer’s abilities) has other plans for them. They find themselves actually transported into the alternate world, and in a real fight for their lives. They are also in the bodies of the people that for many games, they had pretended to be. Only the quickest survive in the world with fire breathing dragons, magic that works very well; it takes those who have strong wits and are great with a sword. They will have to find the Gate Between Worlds if they want to get back to planet Earth. It will not be easy once they get there though, because an extremely deadly enemy waits for them there.

Fans of the novel found that they were surprised when this book became more than it first appeared. Some found the read to be a great start to a awesome series. Some have shared the series with their many friends that they have. Finding that they were pulled in to the story from the very first chapter, it has characters that are lovable, and a believable world. Some found that this here is not a simple clone of something that Tolkien wrote, but something totally original. It is a pleasing read to table top gamers all over the world.

“The Sword and the Chain” is the second novel in the “Guardians of the Flame” series and was released in the year 1984. All seven of the warriors Lou, Walter, Karl, Ahira, and Andrea knew that they could not get out of the land they found themselves in. healing spells and strong wits ensure that they do not wind up slaves in this terrible land. They would not go back, even there was a way for them to return, because now their mission has changed. Now they want to bring this land something that it has never seen before. Freedom. Wizards and Slavers guilds are both in league against them in their fight. A wrong step or a spell that does not come right could change their friend into a foe, so how are they supposed to fix things for this place?

Fans of the novel found that this sequel built on things that the first book did well, and they liked that this book counters high fantasy. Readers liked the characters found in the book, including the dragon. Some found that it was even better than the first book, and had better characterization this time around. This author does a fine job describing the battle scenes. It was well paced, highly enjoyable, and the pages will fly by while the reader continues to read to find out what happens next.

“The Silver Crown” is the third novel in the “Guardians of the Flame” series and was released in the year 1985. Home is prospering. Home is the stronghold that are heroes have built. Karl’s dream of freedom for all of these people (who are wizards, lords, dragons, elves, slaves, and warriors) is slowly but surely coming true. They are making enemies left and right when they attack the caravans of slavers, offer sanctuary to any one who wants to throw their chains off. Ahrmin, the evil leader of the Slave Guild is stirring the pot to get the different kingdoms into the war that Karl and his friends will have to pick sides. Therranj’s elfin kingdom claimed Home as part of its turf and demand loyalty and tribute from all who live there. With all that is going on, this will prove to be a big test for Karl and everyone else. Are they going to keep Home’s walls standing for long?

Fans of the novel found that this is a serious series that has an entertaining and amusing side. Some like the idea that some American college students go and mess with the world that is found in the Other Side.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Guardians of the Flame

Leave a Reply