Book Notification

Gunnar Barbarotti Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Gunnar Barbarotti Books

The Darkest Day (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Root of Evil (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Secret Life of Mr Roos (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lonely Ones (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Axe Woman (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Hakan Nesser is a Swedish author.

He was born on February 21, 1950 at Elvesta farm located outside Kumla, Narke. His father Sven worked as a farmer, while his mother Maria worked as a clerk. The family decided to move to the city in 1953. They moved to Nyhemsgatan and his father sold off their family farm. He then leased farmland to farm which he did until he retired in 1967.

The author was the only child in his family. He attended school locally, graduating high school in 1968. He wrote about youth environments in the sixties in various books. He went to Uppsala in 1969 and started studying the humanities, which included history of literature, English, history, Nordic languages, and philosophy. He went to teacher training college, graduating as lecturer in English and Swedish in 1974. He worked for a teacher for a few years, before eventually getting a job in 1979 at Tunabergsskolan. He worked there up until 1998, which is when he made the decision to become an author full-time.

He got married to his wife Anne. The pair have two children together. Johannes was born in 1973 and Sanna was born in 1980. The two sadly got divorced in 1984. After being separated for a few years, Hakan began writing. The start was the existential love story The Choreographer, which was released in 1984. It got good reviews but did not have commercial success. Then The Rough Meshed Net crime novel was published in 1993, which won the prize for the best debut work for the year in the genre from the Swedish Crime Academy. It would be the first book in the Maardam Decalogy, which were ten novels featuring the character of Inspector Van Veeteren in Maardam, a fictional town in the northern region of Europe.

His books have done well since they have come out and have sold millions of copies. Their popularity has resulted in them being translated into over thirty languages. He has also had his books translated into adaptations. The Maardam Suite was adapted for movies and television. His Kim Novak book came out as a movie in 2005, followed by his Piccadilly Circus novel movie in 2014.

After his books featuring Van Veeteran, the author came out with another series revolving around Inspector Gunnar Barbarotti. He got married to another partner Elke in 2000 and they have two children together, Johannes and Elina. The two lived in New York as well as the United Kingdom from 2006 to 2013. They returned to Sweden, where they like to spend time in Stockholm and Gotland.

The author has won several awards for his writing. He received a prize three times for best Swedish crime novel from the Swedish Academy of Crime Fiction. He received the Glass Key from the Scandinavian Crime Society for the best crime novel. He won the novel prize from Lundeq, a bookstore. He received the Nerikes Allehandas Culture Prize in 1999. Nesser also got the author of the year prize from SKTF, the short story prize from Swedish Radio in 2006 for a short story, the Palle Rosenkrantz Prize in 2007 for best crime novel, best French crime novel SNCF Award, Germany’s The Ripper Award in 2010, and the Palle Rosenkrantz Prize again in 2014.

Man Without Dog is the first book in the Gunnar Barbarotti series by Hakan Nesser. If you are looking for something new and out of the ordinary to read, check this book out! Just be sure to make sure that you have the ideal language choice for your reading pleasure chosen as there are multiple translated editions available of this author’s work.

The place is Kymlinge, the time is December. The Hermansson family’s various members have all gotten together to celebrate two birthdays. Karl-Erik is the father and is turning sixty-five years old, while the oldest daughter Ebba is turning forty.

Before the anniversary happens, it is the night previous. Robert is one of the family’s sons and is also a celebrity because of his appearance in a reality show. Robert goes to take a walk and simply never returns. The next night, Henrik (Ebba’s son) goes missing without a single clue as to where he went.

It is such a strange case that it draws Inspector Gunnar Barbarotti to it. The Italian-born detective wonders whether it might be a coincidence that the family has two of its members go missing at the same address with just one day separating them. There must be some type of clue, pattern, or connection that shows up that explains why this has happened. He simply has to look for it.

Barbarotti wants to figure out what occurred on those nights in December. To do so, he must find out more about this family, discover why they are so dysfunctional, find out their secrets and bring things that are submerged to the surface. He sometimes wishes that he had a higher power there to turn to, but it appears for now that he is on his own. Can the inspector detective crack this case and find out what happened to the two missing family members? Read this mystery thriller to find out!

A Completely Different Story is the second book in the Gunnar Barbarotti series by Hakan Nesser. If you liked the first book featuring this character, you might enjoy the second installment! Great for crime novel fans.

Swedish tourists end up spending some weeks during the summer in Finistere in Brittany. This includes two couples, a pair of horses, and six friends total. They eat together, bathe, go out to do things and flirt slightly, crossing those boundaries of marriage a little at first. What ends up left over from their experience are some photos, a watercolor, and a diary talking about what they’ve been up to.

It’s been five years, and they’re all getting killed off by someone one at a time. This all happens after Gunnar was warned they would happen by letter. It is an unsolved mystery and gets featured in the tabloids, blaming the police officer.

Once again Gunnar Barbarotti must get to the bottom of a case and find out who the killer is. Can he catch the murderer before it’s too late? Read this crime novel to find out!

Book Series In Order » Characters » Gunnar Barbarotti

Leave a Reply