Book Notification

Gus and Grandpa Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Gus and Grandpa Books

Gus and Grandpa (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gus and Grandpa and the Christmas Cookies (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gus and Grandpa Ride the Train (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gus and Grandpa at the Hospital (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gus and Grandpa and the Two-Wheeled Bike (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gus and Grandpa and Show-and-Tell (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gus and Grandpa at Basketball (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gus and Grandpa and the Halloween Costume (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gus and Grandpa Go Fishing (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gus and Grandpa and the Piano Lesson (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Gus and Grandpa series is a series of highly popular children’s books written by one of the most noteworthy authors named Claudia Mills. This series is comprised of a total of 10 books, which were published between the years 1996 and 2004. In all the books of the series, author Mills has depicted the adventures of Gus and his beloved Grandpa. The books appear to very much heartwarming as they describe the stories of the 2 relatable characters with an intergenerational and beautiful relationship. A number of readers all over the world enjoyed reading the books in the series. Many of them reviewed positively, saying that they found the stories to be warm and simple and speak a lot about the intergenerational relationships. Author Mills has used soft watercolors to illustrate the various situations throughout the series, which make them look timeless. The main theme that author Mills has tried to depict through the stories of this series is the relationship between a grandchild and his only grandparent. They are shown as living a simple life and choose to spend their moments together in a fun way. As all the books wonderfully describe the adventures of the young boy named Gus with his grandfather, the last book shows a small call back to the initial couple of stories described in the series by author Mills. The various stories that feature in the series appear to be quite cute and show the family togetherness and bonding by sharing the blessings. One such moment that comes into the lives of the two lively characters is on the eve of Christmas.

Throughout the children’s book series, the character of Grandpa has looked quite adorable and it resembles the character of Matthew from the popular book called Anne of Green Gables. Numerous other audiences have stated that they enjoyed reading the cute beginners in the series and seeing the deep bonding and relationship that a grandfather has with his grandson. The books specifically reminded them to share their talents and blessings that achieve throughout the year with the ones who are less fortunate. As for this quality is concerned, author Mills has described Gus as setting an example for his grandfather. The fact that author Mills has supplemented the stories with cool watercolor illustrations made the readers feel as if it was really the winter time, as they read through the books. Various readers have reviewed warning the ones who are planning to read the series that they might start craving for Christmas cookies by the time they reach the ends of the wonderful books written in the series. Gus and his Grandpa are shown by author Mills as making cookies. But on the occasion of Christmas, they face a big problem when they start getting a lot of cookies from others. Now, they seem to be confused as to what they should do with the excess cookies that they have. Eventually, they come up with a great idea that serves as an important lesson to all the children.

The stories teach the children to inculcate the habit of giving and experience the joy that comes after making someone else happy. One of the interesting stories of the series is centered around Christmas and preaches to give instead of only looking to get from others. Illustrated by Catherine Stock, the stories appear very much lovable to read. The character of the Grandpa has been given the characteristics of a loving and kind old man. This gives the feel to all the stories described in the series. What makes the stories in more interesting to read is the fact that author Mills and illustrator Stock have used pictures of varying sizes on all the pages of the books. Also, they have made repetitive use of certain words throughout the series to make it appear familiar to read on the whole. Intentionally, author Mills has kept the sentences short so as to make the younger reader find it easy to read the stories. The series on the whole, is filled with numerous affectionate times that are spent Gus and his lovely Grandpa. Most of the younger readers tend to feel that they have someone in their lives that resembles Grandpa’s character. This makes them feel warm and loved from the inside.

One of the most successful books published in the series by Claudia Mills is titled as ‘Gus and Grandpa at the Hospital’. The Farrar Straus publishers released this book in the year 1998. In the opening scene of the book, Grandpa and Gus are depicted as finding it extremely pleasurable to answer their mail. On one occasion, they decide to try out lottery and shortly after they start it, Grandpa suffers a heart attack. He gets admitted to a hospital, but Gus feels afraid to go to see him in the hospital. However, as soon as he reaches there, Grandpa tries to make him feel as if he is at home. Gus is taught how to lower and raise the bed by Grandpa. He is also given some quarters for the Soda machine by Grandpa. In spite of making him feel comfortable in the hospital, Gus wants Grandpa back to his house. Finally, the time comes when Grandpa is discharged and sent home. When they arrive at home, they find numerous mails, but no lottery ticket. To this, Grandpa says that it doesn’t matter that they didn’t win the lottery prize and getting united with his family is worth more than millions for him. Gus also agrees to this wholeheartedly. They go on to celebrate and cherish their invaluable relationship.

Another interesting book written by author Mills in the series is titled as ‘Gus and Grandpa at Basketball’. This book too was published by the Farrar, Straus, and Giroux publication. In this book, author Mills has shown that Gus is interested in playing basketball. He enjoys practicing basketball with his coach named Pete. At his Grandpa’s house, he indulges himself in shooting baskets in the presence of Grandpa’s dog named Skipper. Later, Gus begins to wonder if he misses all the baskets and everyone laughs at him during the real match. He hopes that his parents do not come to watch him in such an embarrassing situation because he feels unnerved by the shouting of his father. But, Grandpa comes to see his last game and also teaches him an important and secret lesson for success. He tells him to discard the voices of others and try to listen to only his inner voice. Once again, Catherine Stock and Claudia Mills delivered an interesting story for the readers. The numerous positive responses received by the book helped it to become a grand success all across the world.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Gus and Grandpa

Leave a Reply