Book Notification

H. M. Long Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Hall of Smoke Books

Hall of Smoke (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Temple of No God (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Barrow of Winter (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pillar of Ash (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Winter Sea Books

Dark Water Daughter (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Black Tide Son (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

H.M. Long full name Hannah M. Long is a Canadian author of fantasy fiction novels that is best known for the “Hall of Smoke” series of novels.

She chose her initials for privacy so that she could feel that there is a little space between her work life and personal life given that she happens to be a very introverted person.
Besides, she thinks that Hannah is such a soft name and she did not want her name to color the opinions of the people reading her novels.

Long published “Hall of Smoke” as her debut work of fiction in 2021 and has since published at least half a dozen works of fiction across at least three series.
She has become known for publishing novels in the science fiction and fantasy genres set in the Edwardian and 18th centuries.

H.M. Long currently makes her home in an Ontario ramshackle cabin where she lives with her husband and Wolf her dog.

Given her love for exploring the world, hiking, and history, she can often be found wandering the Alps and snooping around European museums.

For fans and readers who want to keep up with her latest news, she usually provides updates on her social media profiles on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, and TikTok.

As for how she got started writing, H.M. Long decided to become a writer when she was just eight years old. But from that time until the time she published her debut work of fiction, it would take two decades.
It was not until 2015 that she seriously began working to become a published author and from that time it took about half a dozen years.

Before she published “Hall of Smoke,” she passively queried about 10 manuscripts before she realized that she was not ready. Her debut is the seventh manuscript she ever wrote and once she began querying it, things started moving along pretty fast.
Within three months, she secured an agent and within the following six weeks, she was offered a book deal. But it was never easy as she had by that time accumulated about 10 total queries with “Hall of Smoke” making up about 30 of those.

H.M. Long is a discovery writer and hence the inspiration for her debut was very vague. The original idea was one she had in her mind of a disgraced warrior princess kneeling in a poppy meadow.
But once she started writing things just unfolded and the characters, plots, and settings expanded and grew into the Hall of Smoke and its subsequent titles.

As for her general influences for her novels, she cites the “Old Kingdom” books by Garth Nix, which she loved reading as a child.

Other literary influences include Samantha Shannon, Madeline Miller, Adrienne Young, and Pierce Brown. As for non-literary influences, she got a lot from watching “The Last Kingdom” and “Vikings.”

“Hall of Smoke” by H.M. Long is an intriguing work of fiction that introduces an Eangi named Hessa. She is a warrior priestess working for the Goddess of War who with just a scream can turn an enemy’s bones into dust.
At the opening of the novel, she is praying for forgiveness since she had been banished for disobedience against an order to kill a traveler. While she is away, her village is raided and the Eangi priesthood is obliterated.
Alone and grieving, Hessa needs to find the traveler so that she can make things right and regain her place with her loved ones back home.

As legionaries from the south and clans from the north tear through her homeland killing anyone they can find, she is working hard to get back in the good graces of her goddess.

Beset by newly awakened demons, deceitful gods, and zealot soldiers at every turn, she tears a path toward revenge and redemption. However, her journey brings to light a horrifying truth – the High Halls of the afterlife are fading and the gods are dying.
Her faith in her goddess is weakening with every unanswered prayer and as she finds herself in a battle between the gods of the New and Old World, she realizes there is more on the line than securing her own life.

H.M. Long’s novel “Temple of No God” is a fascinating work of fiction that continues to follow the life and times of the High Priestess of the Eangen-Hessa, who has managed to broker a fragile peace.
By great sacrifices, she brought the warring tribes to the table which resulted in an alliance and introduced her goddess to people.

On the southern border, there is a new threat developing while on the ashes of the Arpa Empire, three factions fight for the imperial throne, which would provide access to magical powers only the Arpa Emperor has access to.
Since she is already dealing with Arpa legionaries threatening her kingdom, Hessa thinks she has the opportunity to intervene and bring much-needed order.

Hessa had sacrificed a lot and now it was all at stake if she did not head out to Arpa, where she would have to face all manner of dangers.

In the face of all this, there is a bizarre new cult rising that could just suck the life out of everything it comes into contact with. With the fragile alliance wavering and enemies on every side, she needs to decide on who she can trust.

“Barrow of Winter” by H.M. Long is a work set in the same world as the debut of “The Four Pillars” series of novels.

The lead is the Last Daughter of Winter Thray who is haunted by the legacy of her blood given that she is half immortal.

When she has a chance to visit Duamel in the northern lands which was once the dominion of her father she cannot refuse even if it means she has to lie to the man she loves and the priesthood she is under.
In Duamel, her siblings who are demi-gods rule beneath the northern lights and receive the worship of mysterious cults.

The land has been under an endless winter night for years and this has resulted in gnawing and desperate hunger, terrible storms, and strange beasts. The citizens of Duamel are teetering on the brink alongside Thray’s immortal and powerful siblings.
To find the answers she needs and earn the trust of her siblings she may have to weather icy wastelands, conspiracies, and assassinations.

As her brothers and sisters turn their attention toward the brighter and warmer lands she calls home, she will have to decide where her loyalties lie and harness her animal powers to keep her people safe.

Book Series In Order » Authors » H. M. Long

Leave a Reply