Book Notification

Hagan Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Hagan Books

The Fall of Lucas Kendrick (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
In Serena's Web (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rafferty's Wife (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
Raven on the Wing (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
Zach's Law (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
Captain's Paradise (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
Outlaw Derek (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shades of Gray (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
Unmasking Kelsey (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
Aces High (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
It Takes a Thief (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon

“Hagen” is a series of romance suspense novels by popular contemporary suspense and romance writer Kay Hooper, who also writes under the pseudonym Kay Robbins. The debut novel in the series was “In Serena’s Web” that was first published in 1987. With the novel receiving much popularity, Hooper went on to write ten more titles in the series. Hooper was born to a military officer in an air force base hospital in California where her father had been stationed at the time. The family moved to North Carolina a few years after her birth, and that is where she went to school and spent most of her childhood. She was born the eldest of three siblings with her brother and sister seven and two years younger respectively. After leaving the military, her father built a very successful; construction company while her mother was a high ranking personnel manager at one of the leading HR firms in North Carolina. She would become Kay’s personal assistant after she achieved success with her writing, a job she did until her death in 2002. Kay has employed her sister Linda as events coordinator and business manager and one of the creatives and administrators of The Kay Hooper Foundation.

Kay Hooper went to East Rutherford High School before she proceeded to Isothermal Community College to study business. However, it was not long before she realized that she just was not made for business, and hence switched courses to study literature and history. Kay Writes in many genres though she now likes to write a combination of romantic suspense with some aspects of the paranormal and mystery. She had always been a voracious reader from childhood and would read anything she could get her hands on. Some authors she loved reading growing up include the likes of Isaac Asimov, Mary Stewart, Anne McCaffrey, Elizabeth Peters, Terry Pratchett, Dean Koontz, Stephen King, and Agatha Christie among others. Soon after quitting the business courses, she started to pursue her lifelong dream of becoming a writer as she practiced her writing. She was addicted within a few weeks of writing bits and bobs and asked her mother to give her the old Christmas typewriter so that she could write her debut romance. Her debut novel was titled “Lady Thief” a Regency romance that she would sell to Dell Publishing launching her writing career. She now has more than sixty novels and four novellas to her name. She currently lives with her flock of cats and band of dogs she got from a shelter in small town North Carolina, a short distance from her siblings and father.

The “Hagen” series is a series of novels about Hagen, a Director of a powerful but secretive American Intelligence agency. The series of novels has a lot in common with Bantam’s Loveswept line, a romance spy series that Kay Hooper spent a few years writing before she decided to branch out on her own. Just like the series, the Hagen series has the same humor and romance that made the Loveswept line so popular with readers. However, while the series is itself a mix of suspense mystery, romance and detective, the first novel does not have any of the detective elements and the lead character of the series, Director Hagen does not make it into the book. The first novel sets the stage for the introduction of Hagen by bringing in characters that will become an integral part of Hagen’s later schemes. The major premise of the series is one of Director Hagen as the man in charge of a secretive agency that has trained agents stationed in all corners of the globe. Even though most of the agents are beautiful women, there are a few men in his employ who are just as good in similar undercover work. The lead characters of the novels in addition to Hagen are Lucas the Chief investigative officer, Zach the security chief, Rafferty the lawyer, and Josh Long a dynamic and wealthy businessman. Hagen is a short rotund man at 5’4 in height, rotund, with small twinkling eyes, and fat rosy cheeks that give him the appearance of a cherub though he is a master manipulator. While he never seems like a man of great intellect, this is just a facade as it helps him pull of some of the most audacious of schemes while doing his job.

“In Serena’s Web” the first novel of the series is a classic romance tale of two men who find themselves caught in a deadly net of temptation alongside an ambitious and irresistible woman whose ambition may lead to her doom. Serena Jameson is passionate, manipulative, and brilliant twenty-six year old that will do anything to right the wrongs of the world. She is the daughter of a wealthy computer magnate who worried with her impulsive nature, gets Brian Ashford a colleague to escort her on a cross country trip. But as she is wont to do, Serena has a lot of her own ideas including asking Brian to give her a seduction crash course since she is a novice in matters romance. She needs to learn fast so that she can tame Joshua Long, the notorious womanizer she despises. But what started out as a teasing lesson in love soon becomes a complicated web of love as Serena uses her wiles to ensnare both men in an erotic dance they cannot untangle themselves from. Just who is Serena’s target? And will she successfully weave her snare before the shadowy cabal after her father succeeds in their evil plans?

“Raven on the Wing” is a suspenseful romance about a woman that needs to stay away from the man she loves. given that telling the truth may just be too dangerous. Josh Long heart had been taken hostage the moment he had set eyes on Raven Anderson. He will do anything in his power to ensure that the elusive beauty is his even as she fends of his advances and denies their electric connection. Using the resources available to his business, he resolves to investigate the mysterious woman’s identity and uncovers what he could never have imagined. It turns out that Raven is an international criminal with several warrants in several countries, wanted for connections to terrorist groups that had committed crimes across the globe. Raven has been beating off his advances but now she may just need him as she fights against an assailant threatening her life. The assailant is a man that has made a reputation of never losing and taking no prisoners.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Hagan

Leave a Reply