Book Notification

Haley Randolph Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Haley Randolph Books

Handbags and Homicide (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Purses and Poison (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shoulder Bags and Shootings (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Clutches and Curses (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Slay Bells and Satchels (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tote Bags and Toe Tags (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Evening Bags and Executions (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Beach Bags and Burglaries (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Duffel Bags and Drownings (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fanny Packs and Foul Play (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Swag Bags and Swindlers (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Backpacks and Betrayals (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pocketbooks and Pistols (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Messenger Bags and Murder (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Man Bags and Malice (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

A very well regarded member of the Crime-Writers of America, the American novelist Dorothy Howell is one of the foremost figures working within her industry to date. With over forty novels currently under her belt and counting, she is one of the most consistent and prolific within her field, bringing out titles on a regular basis. Sold around the world from the United States to the United Kingdom and all across Europe and Asia, she is seen as a master of the craft, writing cozy novels that are appreciated universally. Following this rule is that of her much loved ‘Haley Randolph’ series of mystery novels, which chart the investigations of the eponymous sleuth. Somewhat of a chic ‘it girl’, Haley Randolph always has a clear eye for fashion and style, and an even clearer one for solving all the clues. Always getting to the bottom of the case, she is well known for being able to put the missing pieces together and look both stylish, fashionable and chic whilst doing it.

Running for over nine novels so far and counting, this is a series that has been running since 2008 right up until 2016. Following the eponymous character it really delves into who she is and what drives her as a person, making her more than just a two-dimensional caricature. Not only that, but there have also been a collection of spin-off novels too, allowing the series to be picked up at any time.

Handbags and Homicide

Originally released in 2008, this was first brought out on the 1st of July to much acclaim, as it marked the first in the series of ‘Haley Randolph’ mystery novels. Coming out through the ‘Kensington’ publishing outlet, this really helped establish and set the template for the many books to follow. Not only does it work at introducing the leading protagonist for the first time, it also provides a perfect stand-alone mystery to dive into.

The character of Haley Randolph is an ever pragmatic one, as she always manages to defy people’s expectations of her. Overcoming obstacles, she uses her keen sense of deduction, and extreme eye for detail when getting to the bottom of a case. This allows her to always find out what it is that she’s looking for, dealing with the mystery in hand and solving all the clues. Set firmly within the conventions of the cozy mystery format, it really excels at making the main character a more that two-dimensional caricature. Allowing the audience to really feel for her, it draws them in with its fun and colorful nature, as it takes a light-hearted look at the world of fashion. Using wit and warmth too, it allows the reader to feel right at home, as they build a sense of familiarity the character and material. With much of the action taking place within the world of fashion, it manages to create an in-depth look at an otherwise unforeseen lifestyle. Diving into its underbelly whilst remaining light-hearted, it’s a book, and series, that definitely has a cosmopolitan feel to it. As many of the characters are immersed in this world so are the readers by proxy, something which really feeds into and helps the narrative.

Haley Randolph is a woman who wants it, from Chanel to Gucci to Prada, there isn’t a bag she doesn’t want. That’s when she sets her sights on the new Luis Vuitton designer bag, but it seems someone else has as well, and they’d even be willing to kill for it. Now looking to clear her name Haley must find the real killer before it’s too late and she’s convicted of a crime she didn’t commit. Can she find them in time? Will they strike again? What will become of handbags and homicide?

Purses and Poison

This was all set to mark the second installment in the much loved ‘Haley Randolph’ ongoing series of novels. Brought out on the 1st of July in 2009, it was initially released through ‘Kensington’ publishing house once again to an already eager audience. With the main character already introduced it dives straight into the action, getting the next investigation immediately underway.

Stepping up to prove herself once again, this shows the now much loved Haley Randolph doing what she does best and getting to the bottom of the mystery. An empathetic individual who is singularly minded, she always manages to find a way to ensure that justice prevails. Always willing to take on new ideas too, she works at finding out the truth beneath the lies, and dusting away the cobwebs of secrecy. This is a story that’s set firmly within the world of fashion once again, allowing it to act as the stage for much of the action. With many of the themes and ideas reflecting this too, it is clear that this is a lifestyle Howell knows well, as it is highly accurate in its portrayal. Having fun with it again too, it is confident in how it approaches it, following the characters closely throughout. The locations are also well realized once more, as they compliment the narrative and the plight of the protagonist too.

Arriving at a fashion show at Holt’s Department Store, Haley Randolph the ever adept fashion sleuth spots a sick server there. Always willing to help as he hides sick in the backroom, she dons a uniform and sets about serving herself and everything seems to be going well. That is until murder strikes once more, as Claudia Gray, the top fashion model there, is discovered dead having been poisoned. Will Haley clear her name once more? Can she find the killer before they strike again? What will become of purses and poison?

The Haley Randolph Series

This is perhaps one of Dorothy Howell’s best known series to date, as it really shows of her skills as a mystery novel writer. It also manages to capture the essence of the form, as it puts the mysteries together, whilst all the components are kept perfectly aligned. As a series there’s plenty of room to continue expanding and building upon it, something that will carry on into the foreseeable future.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Haley Randolph

2 Responses to “Haley Randolph”

  1. Joyce: 9 months ago

    I love Haley Randolph!! Will she ever get together with Jack??

    When will the next novel be available??

    Anxiously waiting.

  2. Ginger Adams: 2 years ago

    Love Haley, Ty and Jack! My stress relief stories. Please keep them coming!


Leave a Reply