Book Notification

Halldór Laxness Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Great Weaver From Kashmir (1927)Description / Buy at Amazon
Salka Valka (1931)Description / Buy at Amazon
Independent People (1934)Description / Buy at Amazon
World Light (1937)Description / Buy at Amazon
Iceland's Bell (1943)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Atom Station (1948)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fish Can Sing (1957)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wayward Heroes / Happy Warriors (1958)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Honour of the House (1959)Description / Buy at Amazon
Paradise Reclaimed (1960)Description / Buy at Amazon
Under the Glacier (1968)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bread of Life (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

A Quire of Seven (1974)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Arctic: an anthology of the finest writing on the Arctic and the Antarctic(2007)Description / Buy at Amazon

Halldór Laxness was an Icelandic author of fiction, poetry, and short stories. He was the winner of the 1955 Nobel Prize in Literature. Laxness published his debut novel at the age of 17, which marked the start of a long literary career spanning more than 60 books, including short stories, novels, poetry, and plays. He was confirmed a catholic in 1923, but he would later deflect from Catholicism and for a long time became sympathetic to Communist politics, something which is evident in his books Independent People and World Light.
Laxness’s book, Independent People, is a compelling tale about a man’s unwavering determination to become a self-reliant smallholder in the years preceding World War I.

At its core, this story revolves around the pursuit of independence. However, the quest for independence is paradoxical. It relies on global markets, sheep farming, and fair trade, while the protagonist, Bjartur, sustains himself with imported coffee and wheat flour. The novel repeatedly underscores the abundance of fish in the nearby lake and fowl in the marsh. Despite these readily available sources of food, the characters favor dried stock fish over mouthwatering trout and plump geese. Bjartur’s version of independence denies the same autonomy to his wives, driven by his unyielding pride.

These small-scale crofters live in a perpetual state of conflict. Not against invading armies but against the relentless forces of nature, lungworms, foxes, and the entire world, both natural and supernatural, aligned against them.

The novel is characterized by stark contrasts. For example, peace signifies poverty, while war leads to prosperity. Bjartur’s perspective on independence means self-reliance and unwavering resilience, even in the face of sickness, poverty, hunger, and death. He doesn’t seek assistance from others and is determined to stand his ground, facing all adversities, whether natural or human-made.

However, it becomes evident that his struggle for independence is a tough one, with economic and political changes working against him. His fight, though seemingly unequal, raises the question of whether it’s worthwhile, just like an ant’s bite on an elephant’s foot. While the masses hold power, it takes an individual to ignite the spark of change. Bjartur may be defeated in the end, but it doesn’t signify the end of his quest for independence.

Human weakness lies in attachment and love. Our freedom diminishes when we become attached to something or fall deeply in love, making us dependent. Bjartur, despite owning his land, remains at risk of losing it due to economic interests. In comparison to our lives, we don’t even own a piece of land; our only possessions are our thoughts and ideas, which can be taken with us. However, our attachment to these thoughts and ideas keeps us fighting for our place in the world, even though we are essentially tenants, vulnerable to eviction at any time.
The book’s title is profoundly ironic, merely scratching the surface of the permeating irony within the story. The independence pursued by the sheep crofters in the remote Icelandic moorlands is largely illusory, leading to debt and struggle. Even poetry is employed to justify a form of virtual enslavement rather than to celebrate true freedom. The male protagonist, who also dabbles in poetry, is portrayed as an ignorant bully, highlighting the self-deceptive nature of the culture. This theme extends beyond the story and addresses the social illusions we unknowingly adopt.

Halldór Laxness paints a vivid and absorbing portrait of a self-satisfied yet self-destructive Icelandic culture. The lives of moorland crofters are harsh, monotonous, and isolated, particularly for the women who have fewer opportunities for social interaction and bear the burden of both labor and care. The narrative unfolds at a deliberate pace, revealing a society rife with dry, witty, and understated humor. The protagonist, Bjartur, becomes the canvas upon which Iceland’s identity is dissected and examined, revealing the core of the nation and its people, as well as the challenges and triumphs they face.

Independent People is more than a story; it is a vivid portrayal of Iceland, a mysterious and frigid North European country with a population of just 300,000, coming into its own at the turn of the 20th century.

The Fish Can Sing is narrated in the first-person voice of Alfgrimur. He is an orphan whose mother abandoned him in a small fishing village on the outskirts of Reykjavik. Raised by an elderly couple who become his surrogate grandparents, Alfgrimur’s life unfolds in this quaint setting.

Brekkukot, a humble cottage, serves as Alfgrimur’s home, and it also becomes a haven for a colorful cast of characters from diverse backgrounds. They visit his grandparents, seeking their hospitality and companionship. Some are passing through en route to other destinations, while others come to spend their final days. The author vividly describes these characters, portraying their quirks, clothing, habits, anecdotes, expressions, and philosophical musings. Each character is unique and treated with affection and respect.
One significant character in the novel is Garðar Holm, an enigmatic figure who ascended from a modest background in the village to achieve worldwide fame as a singer. He becomes Alfgrimur’s complex mentor. Alfgrimur’s grandfather is a man of few words but great generosity, compassion, and unwavering integrity. He embodies goodness and charity. Alfgrimur’s grandmother imparts lessons of respect for others and a generous spirit. Despite the absence of overt displays of affection or verbal expressions of love, Alfgrimur grows up in a nurturing and secure environment.

He aspires to lead a life within the boundaries of his beloved village, working as a fisherman like his grandfather. However, as modernity encroaches on the simple village life, Alfgrimur grapples with his place in a changing world. His grandparents foresee these impending changes and insist on providing him with an education and a brighter future.

Laxness skillfully paints a poignant portrait of a small rural village in early twentieth-century Iceland. In this village, a traditional way of life is gradually fading away due to the encroachment of modernity. The clash between old traditions and the emergence of a modern business class with different values weaves its way through the novel, evoking a sense of nostalgia and concern for the future.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Halldór Laxness

Leave a Reply