Book Notification

Halloween LaVeau Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Halloween LaVeau Books

Forever Charmed (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Charmed Again (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Third Time's a Charm (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Charmed, I'm Sure (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Charmed and Dangerous (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Charmed Life (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Charmed Ever After (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
One Charmed Evening (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Once Upon a Charmed Time (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Forever Valentine (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Charmed Cauldron (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Charmed to Death (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Almost Charmed (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Charmed No More (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

The American novelist Rose Pressey has been writing for a long time now, with many readers continuing to discover her work every day. Focusing on genre fiction that largely revolves around fantasy, mystery, romance and thriller, she always manages to provide her own unique take on the genre. Knowing her audience well, she always ensures that her work is highly engaging and entertaining with strong characters that resonate with her audience. A great example of this is her highly popular franchise, the Halloween LaVeau series of novels, following the eponymous character of the title. Coming from a long line of witches she has all the elements that make the perfect witch, along with a black cat and a spooky old house. Taking a look at her every day life the books see her have all sorts of adventures, as she deals with the supernatural world in a witty and fun manner.

Running for over eight books so far and counting, this series continues to run at a regular pace, bringing out titles at a consistent rate. Fun and witty, each title manages to provide a fun and inventive story for any reader looking to be entertained. There are also short-stories outside of the series involving Halloween LaVeau, along with omnibus editions of the franchise as well.

Forever Charmed

Published in 2013 by Rose Pressey herself, this was first brought out on the 25th of March to already loyal audience of followers. Setting up the Halloween LaVeau series, this was to be the first title in the franchise, thus introducing the character for the first time. Creating the style and the tone of the franchise overall, it manages to perfectly convey as a sense of what is to follow in the books to come.

With some fun and entertaining ideas, this flows along easily and simply, providing a casual read for her audience. Moving along at an easy-going pace as well, it manages to take the readers subtly in, bringing in some imaginative concepts, whilst not being too taxing at the same time. Whilst it may have magic and supernatural elements involved, it’s a traditional story at heart, with a lot of universal themes underpinning it. With a Gothic atmosphere surrounding it as well, the liveliness of the characters really plays of well against the backdrop. This elaborates on the intrinsic humor of the series, making it more defined, as it pushes Pressey’s jokes to the forefront. Not only that, but the mansion itself that Halloween inherits also starts to become a character in its own right after a while. The character of Halloween LaVeau herself is also one that’s easy to relate to with her many readers, as whilst she may be a witch, she’s also very grounded. With the same wants and desires as everyone else in life, she is extremely realistic and three-dimensional as a leading protagonist. This provides her audience with an anchor and a hook with which to get themselves invested in the story as a whole.

Descending from a long line of witches, Halloween LaVeau finds that she has a powerful legacy to continue. Inheriting her great-aunt’s large estate, she finds herself setting up a bed-and-breakfast there, which paves the way for the ever handsome Nicolas Marco to enter her life. He’s not just there as a guest, though, as he’s actually looking for an ancient book that is believed to be in her attic. What power does this book hold? Can Halloween come to terms with her powers, whilst also running the estate? Will she find herself forever charmed?

Charmed Again

Brought out through the ‘Amazon Digital Services’ outlet this time, this particular installment follows on directly from the first as a sequel adventure for the witch Halloween LaVeau. Initially released on the 21st of May in 2013, not long after the first, this follows in much the same vein as before. That’s not to say that it doesn’t contain any twists and turns, though, as there’s definitely some surprises there to keep the reader guessing right until the very end.

With many of the same ideas and themes as before, it sees Halloween LaVeau in a similar situation to how she was before. This time, though, it’s already introduced her as a character, so it immediately jumps into the main action not wasting anytime. That’s not to say that it doesn’t welcome the newcomer, though, as it does provide a recap, allowing anybody to catch up with the main premise of the series. Using the same Gothic style as before as well, it keeps the same tone and ambiance as before as well, something which gives the series a great sense of character. With many of the locations reflecting this, many returning readers will already be well aware with this, as it starts to feel familiar for them. Clearly having it well mapped out in her mind, Pressey manages to bring it all to life once again, allowing the reader into her own almost private world for a second time.

Being made leader of the Underworld now following her retrieval of the ‘Book of Mystics’, Halloween is a long way from being declared worst witch of the year as she once was. Looking to move on from her past mistakes, she now finds herself caught between two handsome men this time. Nicolas Marco, the ever handsome vampire, now stands accused of trying to steal the powers of another witch, and it is up to her and his also handsome brother Liam Rankin the warlock, to try and find out the truth. What really happened to that witch? Can Halloween keep herself from getting into trouble again? Will she find herself charmed again?

The Halloween LaVeau Series

A fun and imaginative series that is both witty and creative, Rose Pressey really manages to get the most out of her characters. Despite the character of Halloween LaVeau being a witch, readers can really start feeling like they can relate to her. This is a gift of Pressey as an author, as she takes the genre and really does something new and interesting with it, providing readers with something that will be around for years to come.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Halloween LaVeau

Leave a Reply